Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Professor Layton and Pandora's Box) Professor Layton needs your help! Get your wits working with over 150 puzzles, and help unravel the mystery of the Elysian Box. [Nintendo]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. 100
    Diabolical Box shows that the game's developers aren't content to just sit on their laurels -- they take a wonderful game, and make it even better.
  2. Layton's latest adventure is his best for the time being. Same graphics, different sounds and a completely new storyline is very much what players are going to find in The Diabolical Box, a game that has nothing but fun to offer every player that have the guts to get over with more than a hundred puzzles and a compelling story. One of the best games of this year without any doubt at all.
  3. Even though the puzzles can be challenging, the game’s addictive nature and sense of satisfaction is rarely seen at this level on the DS.
  4. Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box is a game suited for everyone. With more than 150 among riddles and conundrums, it places you into a nicely drawn world full of extraordinary characters, with an involving story worth unraveling one puzzle at a time.
  5. If you liked Mysterious Village and need more, or if you just want something genuinely fresh and original for your DS, Pandora's Box is the answer you're looking for.
  6. Professor Layton certainly has soul, but the puzzles themselves just aren't imaginative enough to save the adventure from feeling frequently out of breath. [Nov 2009, p.123]

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. ChrisD
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    All Professor Layton and the Diabolical box had to do to satisfy fans was give more story and more puzzles and it succeeded. It took a great All Professor Layton and the Diabolical box had to do to satisfy fans was give more story and more puzzles and it succeeded. It took a great game and made modest improvements (more mini-games, a memo pad for your puzzle solving, more areas to explore instead of just one town) that make this one of the best series for the DS. The drawback for this series is replay value but between the weekly puzzle downloads and the unlockable content between titles help stave off the staleness from setting in. Collapse
  2. DanF
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    I'm honestly surprised this game didn't hit 90 on the Metacritic scale. I absolutely love this game. I can't put it down when I'm honestly surprised this game didn't hit 90 on the Metacritic scale. I absolutely love this game. I can't put it down when I start playing. It is without a doubt the best DS game I have ever played. Expand
  3. [ANONYMOUS]
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    I was counting down the days until this game came out and finished it under 10 hours when it did. Amazing gameplay, storyline, puzzles, I was counting down the days until this game came out and finished it under 10 hours when it did. Amazing gameplay, storyline, puzzles, soundtrack, everything! Level-5 definitely need to bring out more epic games. Should be apart of every DS player's collection. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    I will start by saying every layton game is a treat. This one is no exception. Compared to other layton games i would say the plot is average,I will start by saying every layton game is a treat. This one is no exception. Compared to other layton games i would say the plot is average, with a beautiful ending that is worth waiting for. The puzzles are great as always and the scenery is amazing. Very well worth your time. I would say this game improves on the original on every aspect possible. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    If I could give this a 7.5 I would. I love Curious Village and Unwound Future, but this was a slight disappointment. While there are someIf I could give this a 7.5 I would. I love Curious Village and Unwound Future, but this was a slight disappointment. While there are some great mini-games and puzzles, the story's final twist is too silly and requires to big a suspension of disbelief. It was a real let down. It's almost made up for by the oddly charming gimmick of the final puzzle, but not quite. But worst of all are the endlessly repeated "Disappearing Act" puzzles, which I cannot forgive. Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    Having greatly enjoyed the Curious Village I was expecting something at least as good, but I was disappointed. The story is good and theHaving greatly enjoyed the Curious Village I was expecting something at least as good, but I was disappointed. The story is good and the mystery fascinating, with graphics, music and videos always of top-notch quality. The puzzles instead are rather unbalanced. Too many 25 picarats puzzles, with the difficulty (in picarat terms) being assigned seemingly at random, and too many unclear or ambiguous puzzles. Compared to the first game, I felt much less challenged and much less surprised of the puzzles and of the events in the game. What I really enjoyed was the overwhelming dark mood (which could be a deterrent to people looking for joyful and sunny settings), the characters and the mini-games. There are at least 4 mini-games to be had this time and all of them are simple and relaxing. Overall, I was disappointed by this title, but I'm definitely looking for more in the next episode. Expand
  7. rbee
    Sep 7, 2009
    7
    A mid-game review, as I am currently about 90 puzzles into the 150 promised. By saying I intend to finish the game I don't mean to say A mid-game review, as I am currently about 90 puzzles into the 150 promised. By saying I intend to finish the game I don't mean to say that it's fantastic or gripping -- I played the Japanese version in fact, about a year ago, up to about the same point and remember being both disappointed and excited about my ability to "figure out" puzzles without quite understanding them. It turns out there was not much to get. Layton 2 provides puzzles that can be guessed through with minimum effort without slowing down gameplay. Of the 90 puzzles I've solved, less than 10 of them have been story-related. It's a charming little game, but no Curious Village. The best blurb on Metacritic comes from GameTrailers, in that "subtle refinements" to this sequel have made it easier for less dedicated players to finish it. I don't wish the game were harder, but I feel like I'm only killing time, not solving puzzles, and that's not what I wanted when I came back to this game for the English version. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews