User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Amazing Story, brilliant puzzles. This is indeed the greatest Layton game thus far, the music is amazing, the visuals are amazing (If you like the style), and the ending had me in tears. No questions asked, 10/10.
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Easily the best of the Layton bunch. The puzzles are as strong as ever, but it is the epic, yet very touching story that elevates this game above its immensely charming peers.
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    the best layton game to date. the storyline has tons of shocking twists, great villains that you will both hate and feel sorry for, and some of the most emotional moments in video game history. great puzzles, excellently animated cutscenes, a well done orchestral score, unwound future is another great layton game.
  4. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    I have played all 3 Professor Layton games so far and this is by far my favorite. The formula is almost exactly the same as before (but that's not a bad thing) and the art is as good as ever. The cut scenes are clear, crisp and quite entertaining but the main point of this game is its puzzles. The puzzles are ingenious, clever and surprisingly fresh, some require hard thinking, some are visual puzzles and there are those which utterly bamboozle you until you realise the answer has been under your nose the whole time. these puzzles truly make the game great, but what makes it brilliant is the story. It is far more character based this time round and gives a brilliant insight into the characters - Luke, Layton and Flora - and really shows who they really are. It shows the player the emotions of the characters for really the first time, and we get to see Layton with his hat off for the first time!! This game is well worthy of a ten and I believe the Professor Layton is one of the best series of all time and this is a brilliant way to cap off the first trilogy. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    I have all three Layton games and this one is my favourite. The story is brilliantly told, you feel like you're solving a mystery, the cutscenes are as brilliant as ever, the characters are great and the game rewards you brilliantly as you solve puzzles and brain teasers which suprisingly, are really fun. Why a 9? Well, the problems the past two have have not been fixed. You still have to go through a million menus and searching around for hint coins with dialogue boxes popping up everywhere is really frustrating. Also, the game is set in Great Britain, but this game feels... French. Other than that, listen to my advice. If you want a puzzle game with an intriguing storyline, this won't let you down. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    If you've liked the previous two Professor Layton games, then this one will not disappoint. Another large collection of different types of puzzles set to another mysterious story line. Although I found the main story a bit weaker then the previous two games, it's still wonderful and makes up for it by giving a heartfelt look into our protagonist's past. Add in the great music and animations, this is another fantastic puzzle story game for the DS. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    amazing. get for the story and my score of 93%, cause its flawless, but isnt perfect, so buy with the next money you recieve, or if youve got some, what r u waiting for? stop reading and go get...
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    this has got to be my single favorite DS game ever, the story line is amazing, the puzzles are great, i can not think of one negative about this game, i would highly recommend it to others
  9. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    My favourite in the Layton series so far, and a relief after the disappointing Diabolical Box. The puzzles are of course good, as is the game design and visual style (as we've come to expect), but what makes this my favourite is the story. It may require a huge suspension of disbelief compared to the first game, but the ending is so striking and emotional. It more than makes up for minor story flaws. Collapse
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I have played all of the Layton games available in the US. I enjoy the presentation of the games, presenting a story Puzzles and wonderful creative writing. Unwound future has the most puzzles, and can overwhelm you with them at times, but the ending is the best in the series, especially if you have played the other games and enjoyed them. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys puzzles, as this game presents many of them with alot of variety Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this game is perfect, which is something I would never normally say. The story in this game is the best aspect as it will keep you wrapped up in the magic of it right up until the amazingly crafted ending which will make you cry. Despite some people complaining that the game is too easy, the puzzles hit the right balance of being welcoming to new players at the beginning and challenging to veterans of the series at the end. Yes the graphics aren't amazing but that isn't something I am willing to mark this game down on due to the limitations of the ds. There is something about this game that makes it so much fun to play again and again as I must have completed the game 6 or 7 times since I got it when it was first released. This is truly my favourite game of all time and is the only game I would ever call perfect which is a huge award to give as I own well over 100 games across multiple platforms. I would recommend this game to anyone who owns a ds or a 3ds as it is by far the best in the series. Go out and buy it now. Expand
  12. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game lives up to and exceeds the expectations of the previous games, it combines the joy of the ah ha! Moment and a great story. The voice acting in it is incredible, I felt the sorrow of Herschel, and knew the anger of Clive and understood the acceptance of Claire. I was left saddened and happy for everyone once the story was over. Expand
  13. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    Hands down my favourite title in the entire Professor Layton series.
    The quality of the music and the visuals are slightly improved compared to the preceding two games, and the puzzles as usual manage to achieve the perfect balance between challenging and mind-boggling. This game sees with it the improvement of the invaluable Memo function, now with the ability to change ink colour. Also,
    the Super-Hint Coin makes its debut, meaning it's less likely you'll be needing to side-glance the walkthrough after all...
    What sets this game apart from the pack for me, however, is its story. It was so compelling I couldn't put my DS down. The Professor's other outings have had fantastic story lines, but the Unwound Future's personal twist on Layton's part was very touching, and the ending? Heartbreaking. Also, the vengeful villain is very enjoyable - even old rivals have to lend a hand!
    So, after all my gushing, why a 9? Well, one thing that is a continual let down within the first few games of the Layton series is the voice acting. Layton and Luke are always consistent, it's just the ensemble of characters who join them that always really let the games down. It's a real shame, I wasn't really impressed with a Layton game's voice acting until Miracle Mask, which perhaps sacrificed its story-line in the process...
    If you've never played this game but have played other Layton games, then you're really missing out - a fantastic puzzle game with a lovely story!
    Expand
  14. Apr 30, 2012
    0
    My favourite in the Layton series so far, and a relief after the disappointing Diabolical Box. The puzzles are of course good, as is the game design and visual style (as we've come to expect), but what makes this my favourite is the story. It may require a huge suspension of disbelief compared to the first game, but the ending is so striking and emotional. It more than makes up for minor story flaws. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Jan 20, 2011
    60
    As a standalone adventure, The Lost Future can't help but disappoint once its bite-sized, unimaginative nature begins to show through. [Issue#102, p.120]
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    88
    If you haven't picked up Unwound Future yet, do it. If you haven't played any of these games yet, what are you waiting for?
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    A more-than-worthy sequel in this inherently awesome franchise. Once you start playing, you won't put it down. That's a guarantee.