Professor Layton and the Unwound Future Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Professor Layton and his apprentice, Luke, receive a confounding letter - from Luke 10 years in the future. But the message inside is even more troubling: London of the future is in disarray, and the only person
    who can help set things right is Professor Layton.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Oct 29, 2010
    100
    While these lackluster mini-games are no hidden-object puzzle or "make your own tea" chemistry set (as seen in Laytons 1 and 2), Unwound Future still has a solid set of puzzles for its main adventure, and the story itself is very engaging.
  2. As well-made and puzzle-crammed as the previous Layton games, and it's also the best one yet.
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    90
    Professor Layton and The Lost Future manages to surprise again by its very strong cohesion.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    89
    Professor Layton and the Unwound Future offers the same great experience from the last two games. If you're in need of something different and want to exercise the brain, this is the correct answer.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    85
    Professor Layton and the Unwound Future is yet another winner from Level 5. It both entertains and challenges the mind through its clever puzzles, brilliant story, and convincing characters.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    83
    The disconnect between the mystery story and the puzzle gameplay is not a damning curse for the Professor Layton series, this game included.
  7. Jan 20, 2011
    60
    As a standalone adventure, The Lost Future can't help but disappoint once its bite-sized, unimaginative nature begins to show through. [Issue#102, p.120]

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    this has got to be my single favorite DS game ever, the story line is amazing, the puzzles are great, i can not think of one negative about this game, i would highly recommend it to others Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this game is perfect, which is something I would never normally say. The story in this game is the best aspect as it will keep you wrapped up in the magic of it right up until the amazingly crafted ending which will make you cry. Despite some people complaining that the game is too easy, the puzzles hit the right balance of being welcoming to new players at the beginning and challenging to veterans of the series at the end. Yes the graphics aren't amazing but that isn't something I am willing to mark this game down on due to the limitations of the ds. There is something about this game that makes it so much fun to play again and again as I must have completed the game 6 or 7 times since I got it when it was first released. This is truly my favourite game of all time and is the only game I would ever call perfect which is a huge award to give as I own well over 100 games across multiple platforms. I would recommend this game to anyone who owns a ds or a 3ds as it is by far the best in the series. Go out and buy it now. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Amazing Story, brilliant puzzles. This is indeed the greatest Layton game thus far, the music is amazing, the visuals are amazing (If you like the style), and the ending had me in tears. No questions asked, 10/10. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    amazing. get for the story and my score of 93%, cause its flawless, but isnt perfect, so buy with the next money you recieve, or if youve got some, what r u waiting for? stop reading and go get... Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    Definitely the strongest of the three Layton games released in the US so far, Unwound Future successfully blends casual puzzle solving along with a compelling storyline. The formula hasn't changed an awful lot since the first title, though many subtle improvements to game mechanics and general presentation have been made. Cut scenes and audio files are clearer than ever, with added improvements to the second titles 'memo' function (such as the ability to change ink colour) being of great aid during those more trickier of brain teasers. The pace of the game may be a little too slow for some, though it's not difficult to become captivated by Layton's gorgeous looking surroundings and intrigued by some of the more perplexing mysteries that pop up during the final half of the adventure. Voice acting, be it fitting, can seem incredibly cheesy and at some points fails to aid the experience as it irritates more than captivates.

    Hint Coins have almost tripled in numbers since the first title, with the new optional 'Super Hint' function allowing far more users to solve even the most complicated of math puzzles without feeling like you've cheated.

    If you enjoyed the first two Layton outings- I cannot recommended this third game enough, as it's certainly the best of the three. Puzzles remain fun and do not detract from the experience as much as they did with Curious Village, with most being optional if players wish to favour the narrative and push on with it instead.
    Collapse
  6. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    The first couple of Layton game somehow managed to pass me by but having played this non stop for the past week i can see why they've become so popular. This is incredibly polished with graphics, cut scenes and music among the best on the DS. Although the story didn't really grip me this is all about the puzzles and boy does it excel! Full of imagination, the puzzles vary from the logical, visual and mathematical. The harder puzzles will give most people a challenge yet the handy hints system makes this a game that should appeal to all ages and intellect.
    Layton is THE perfect game to unwind after a long days work. If you have even the slightest interest in puzzles then you will love this game, simple as that!
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    Most of the 5 points I've awarded this title are for the story, which is lovely, as in previous Layton games. Unfortunately the gameplay lets it down - many of the puzzles are rehashes of those from the previous games, and some really clutch at straws - some really convoluted questions and solutions.

    The graphics have improved from the previous title, and there are a lot more animated sections that add exposition to the tale. Layton himself shows a different side throughout the story, fleshing out the character beyond his desperate need to be a gentleman.

    Side missions this time around include the completion of 3 sticker books, where you need to place the correct stickers on the correct pages to tell the story; a radio controlled car game where you have a limited number of direction-changing arrows to guide the car to the end; and a parrot delivery game in which you draw perches to guide you parrot to it's goal. You get to name the parrot when you meet him - the potential for hilarity is great ;)

    These side missions add a lot of time and value to the game, and provide some of the most difficult puzzles on the cart.

    Fans of the series will surely enjoy this, but the challenge is slight compared to the previous two titles.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews