Puzzle Quest 2 DS

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Puzzle Quest 2 is a worthy sequel in every measure. It improves the look and feel of the original, successfully builds on its mechanics, and still feels different enough to provide a sense of novelty and newness.
  2. Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords was one of the most addictive games of all time. Its blend of genres and stunning gameplay left lines scored in touch screens and tiles burnt into televisions. Now, the sequel has managed to improve upon the original in every way, even fixing the AI, which many believed "cheated" before.
  3. Puzzle Quest 2 doesn't have the fresh, "gotta-try-it" feeling of the original title, but for those who enjoyed the ideas behind Puzzle Quest but weren't thrilled with the execution, this sequel is a no-brainer purchase. It feels like a breath of fresh air…relentlessly addictive fresh air.
  4. 85
    Like the first game, Puzzle Quest 2 takes a simple casual affair and adds layers of depth you won't be able to resist. Even though the quest is long and your customization options seem to be limitless, it still works as a game you can pick up and play for short sessions.
  5. The game is just as addictive as the original Puzzle Quest, and it's easy to get caught up in the action when there's always another puzzle or fight ahead.
  6. Jan 17, 2011
    80
    Puzzle Quest 2 is better than the original chapter. Addictive and challenging it's highly recommended to fans of the genre and even those who have already enjoyed the predecessor.
  7. Simple, addictive and fun, with just enough complexity to keep things interesting, Puzzle Quest 2 is a "casual game" winner.
  8. I'd lean toward recommending the Xbox version because, well, I like achievements, and because it's half the price of the DS cart. But whether you want to play on the couch or on the go, Puzzle Quest 2 is a great way to wile away a few minutes, or a few hours.
  9. 80
    Ultimately, Puzzle Quest 2 manages to add some new strengths while still clinging onto some old weaknesses, resulting in a game that's addictive and engaging in short bursts, but slightly repetitive in extended sessions.
  10. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    79
    Great while it lasts, but gives you an immense feeling of guilt afterwards. [Aug 2010, p.93]
  11. Despite some parts of the game being more simplistic overall, the exploration of the catacombs is far more enthralling than the over world from Challenge of the Warlords.
  12. This sequel goes light on the role playing but still presents a compelling puzzle experience that's as enjoyable and addictive as the original.
  13. Nintendo Power
    75
    If you can see past its ho-hum looks and you don't mind that this isn't significantly different from the original, the formula still works for puzzle and RPG aficionados alike. [Aug 2010, p.89]
  14. The repetitive nature can wear on you if you play Puzzle Quest 2 for more than a few hours, but it's still one of the best pick-up-and-play, zone-out-for-a-while titles the Nintendo DS has to offer.
  15. After two years of nothing but rocky seas, Puzzle Quest 2 manages to right the ship and correct the course.
  16. Nintendo Gamer
    74
    They've made Puzzle Quest feel a bit laborious. [Aug 2010, p.70]
  17. Feb 23, 2011
    72
    Puzzle Quest 2 has its problems, that much is for sure. Look past the problems, and you'll find a game that's still pretty darn addicting.
  18. 70
    All in all, I really feel like Puzzle Quest 2 on the DS is very limited by the hardware. While it's unrealistic for this port to look anywhere as good as the Xbox Live and PC versions, I at least would've liked some form of online multiplayer to give the port a little more replay value.
  19. After a few mixed spin-offs such as Puzzle Chronicles, the unexpected success of 2008 in the reflexion gender is now back in favor.
  20. It's probably more economic to buy Puzzle Quest 2 for Xbox 360 rather than Nintendo DS. But still, regardless of the size of the screen you're playing on, Puzzle Quest 2 doesn't live up to the first one but is still plenty of fun.
  21. Puzzle Quest 2 improves the Puzzle Quest formula in almost every way and makes us forget the mediocre Puzzle Quest: Galactrix.
  22. With the addition of weapons and improved A.I., the puzzle-based combat has more potential than ever, but Puzzle Quest 2 lacks the challenge and depth that made the original so memorable.
  23. Puzzle Quest 2 changes a lot of things from the original. Sadly, despite some brilliant ideas introducing variety in the gameplay, and a basic gameplay mechanic that's as addictive as ever, the overall lack of narration and story consistency make it, albeit more intimate, harder to dive in for prolonged sessions. The new, closer-to-the-hero perspective may be more RPG-like, but the conquest aspect of the original was a motivation that's a truly a regrettable loss with this new formula. Still, as a game to be played in short sessions, it remains very efficient.
  24. Edge Magazine
    60
    The gems that this sequel is connecting - the RPG and match-three puzzler - still need one more to complete the chain: character. [Oct 2010, p.94]
  25. Jan 5, 2011
    58
    D3 struck gold once, which is fantastic. Aside from the titans of the gaming industry, many developers have trouble creating a truly innovative title that's also good, old-fashioned fun. That was Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords. However, after two major mistakes with what's essentially the same design, one has to wonder if they should throw in the towel on this franchise.
  26. Ultimately Puzzle Quest 2 isn't a bad game, it's just a disappointing one. There are other games in this genre that should get your greenbacks before you invest in this one, including the stellar Might and Magic: Clash of Heroes and the original Puzzle Quest. Measure your expectations accordingly.
  27. 40
    Most RPGs are meant to be played steadily, but Puzzle Quest 2 is most assuredly not the sort of game to be played at length. In short bursts separated from each other by lengthy periods spent doing something else, the mechanics remain entertaining.

Awards & Rankings

#32 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
#40 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    4
    A bit easier to play than the first (or, at least, it's harder to be bad at this one than the first). But by the time I was done, I was soA bit easier to play than the first (or, at least, it's harder to be bad at this one than the first). But by the time I was done, I was so unbelievable sick and tired of the game, of the combat, of the side quests, of everything. (I have since played through the first one again and enjoyed it more than this one.) Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2010
    6
    s I do love puzzle and and it appealed to me having a story to follow as well however I didn't like how it capped out at level 50. You coulds I do love puzzle and and it appealed to me having a story to follow as well however I didn't like how it capped out at level 50. You could still keep earning xp, yet there was nothing to use it on. Full Review »
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    I'm giving this a big thumbs up. It's a definite improvement over the first. Taking emphasis off regeneration abilities (though cool inI'm giving this a big thumbs up. It's a definite improvement over the first. Taking emphasis off regeneration abilities (though cool in traditional RPG-sense) makes this particular game better.

    The perspective change takes a bit getting used to. It's more immersive than the first with it's more big-overhead-map view, but even with the map I don't have as good a sense of my position in the "world" relative to everything else. In short, the "scale" of the game seems a bit reduced. Not necessarily bad, just different.

    So far, I'm about level 15 on the Assassin (or Rogue, whatever can't remember) class.

    Similar to the first game, it can get monotonous doing battle after battle with a long lead-up until you have enough gems to make some interesting moves/combo's. That said, once you do get stocked up, things are more interesting/strategic than the previous game.

    Other additions such as the treasure loot mini-game are pure genius and great additions/innovations. Vegas Casino's should adopt this game!

    If they can innovate at this pace, PQ3 will be a beast. The good news is they are improving on the formula and I see a day when this type of game can command a full $50-60 price tag.
    Full Review »