• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 66
  2. Negative: 1 out of 66

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    "If Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy Tactics had a baby, Radiant Historia would be it."

    I can't remember what critic wrote that, but It's pretty spot-on. Radiant Historia is a fantastic game.
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Radiant Historia is a brilliant game that uses time travel to progress the game. I have put 20 plus hours into the game, and I'm only on chapter 4. I love the game so much it doesn't even feel like I have spent that much time playing it. If you can find yourself a copy(since by my knowledge atlas is done manufacturing any more copies of the game) please grab it, and enjoy one of theRadiant Historia is a brilliant game that uses time travel to progress the game. I have put 20 plus hours into the game, and I'm only on chapter 4. I love the game so much it doesn't even feel like I have spent that much time playing it. If you can find yourself a copy(since by my knowledge atlas is done manufacturing any more copies of the game) please grab it, and enjoy one of the best DS games I have played. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    This game is unique and fun!

    Reminds me of Chrono Trigger in terms of polished quality RPG

    I am still in the middle of it atm but for sure, the gameplay is far better than Dragon Age 2

    This is a beautiful game, and the developers took care in the characters, and it shows
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    When I first noticed Radiant Historia I was already a fan because of its time traveling theme, something that I never fail to enjoy even if it has been abused in countless novels and games. Having Atlus as the developer of course helped, since I have always loved their great SMT series.

    The actual game, however, was even better than I hoped: not only was the plot extremely well crafted
    When I first noticed Radiant Historia I was already a fan because of its time traveling theme, something that I never fail to enjoy even if it has been abused in countless novels and games. Having Atlus as the developer of course helped, since I have always loved their great SMT series.

    The actual game, however, was even better than I hoped: not only was the plot extremely well crafted and mature (as its main characters), but the time traveling was the best I have ever seen in any game, easily stripping the master of the genre, Chrono Trigger, of its crown. The two timelines system with multiple sub events and countless optional scenes really made me play like I never did on Ds, and at the end the great closure didn't erase my need for a sequel with similar gameplay. The soundtrack was another great selling point, even if I would have liked a bit more variety.

    Handhelds really are providing the best jrpgs of this generation, with games such as this, Legend of Heroes Trails in the Sky and Infinite Space to show gamers that the genre is still alive and kicking,
    Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    When i first saw this game on the shelf, i thought, "why not give it a shot, it looks like my kind of game." After i got home, I WAS HOOKED! The storyline grabbed me, the combat was genius, and even though there is one flaw in the "time-line crossing", just ignore it and you continue to love it. P.S.: the flaw is that if you save a man in one timeline, that would mean in order to be safeWhen i first saw this game on the shelf, i thought, "why not give it a shot, it looks like my kind of game." After i got home, I WAS HOOKED! The storyline grabbed me, the combat was genius, and even though there is one flaw in the "time-line crossing", just ignore it and you continue to love it. P.S.: the flaw is that if you save a man in one timeline, that would mean in order to be safe in the other timeline, he would have to cross timelines. He does however say "haven't i seen you before?" That kind of makes up for it, but in reality, it doesn't matter. Hope you love it!!!! Collapse
  6. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    The game has beautiful character art, good music, and writing that makes me feel like I'm playing a classic SNES/PS1 era JRPG. Combat can be approached like a puzzle game and greatly rewards damage output for creative thinking. The down side is that even the easy battles require a significant time and MP investment, which left me constantly feeling starved of power and frequentlyThe game has beautiful character art, good music, and writing that makes me feel like I'm playing a classic SNES/PS1 era JRPG. Combat can be approached like a puzzle game and greatly rewards damage output for creative thinking. The down side is that even the easy battles require a significant time and MP investment, which left me constantly feeling starved of power and frequently desperate feeling. The time travel aspect is well used in the story, as there is constant tension and mystery. Overall the game has a lot of strong points and they work well together resulting in what I feel is one of the best Japanese RPG games to come out in quite some time. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    I regret not paying attention to this game when it was released earlier this year, Radiant Historia is a gem among gaming. It is also a sure sign that the DS has more "great" releases this year than the 3ds. The story is amazing and nothing like I've ever played before. It reminds me of Chrono Trigger, but is more tactical in my opinion. The style and characters are jaw dropping, evenI regret not paying attention to this game when it was released earlier this year, Radiant Historia is a gem among gaming. It is also a sure sign that the DS has more "great" releases this year than the 3ds. The story is amazing and nothing like I've ever played before. It reminds me of Chrono Trigger, but is more tactical in my opinion. The style and characters are jaw dropping, even though the graphics are only decent. The graphics work though for the system's abilities. The story is like a choose your own story, but ultimately you do have to end it the same way. The music is top notch, actually I recommend playing it with head phones. I was a little disappointed by the lack of voice acting, but the cut scenes were amazing nonetheless. The game is fairly lengthy, clocking in around 35 hours, and there are plenty of side quests. This is by far one of the best JRPG's I've played in years, and it is a must play for any DS, DS lite, or even 3ds owners. Expand
  8. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This game is fun and easy to pick up. It doesn't fall into the trap that other RPGs have done where they made either the story pretentiously over-the-top nonsense or made the battle mechanics ridiculously complex that half of the elements and characters are pointless. Radiant Historia however has a well-rounded story that's willing to make fun of itself at times. The battle mechanics isThis game is fun and easy to pick up. It doesn't fall into the trap that other RPGs have done where they made either the story pretentiously over-the-top nonsense or made the battle mechanics ridiculously complex that half of the elements and characters are pointless. Radiant Historia however has a well-rounded story that's willing to make fun of itself at times. The battle mechanics is set up so that strategy DO make a difference in how successful you are and all the characters have a purpose so you're willing to put the time in leveling EVERYONE up. This is a breath of fresh air in RPGs. I recommend it. Expand
  9. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    Radiant Historia is one of those rare breeds of jRPGs that manages to have both addictive gameplay AND compelling story. It's a great compromise between games like Final Fantasy, which has a good story, but poor gameplay, and Pokemon, which has a great gameplay, but no story to speak of. The battle system is very refreshing and easy to pick up. The battles are conducted on 6x6 grid, andRadiant Historia is one of those rare breeds of jRPGs that manages to have both addictive gameplay AND compelling story. It's a great compromise between games like Final Fantasy, which has a good story, but poor gameplay, and Pokemon, which has a great gameplay, but no story to speak of. The battle system is very refreshing and easy to pick up. The battles are conducted on 6x6 grid, and involve tactics such as area spells, traps, pushing assaults, air assaults and more. In other words, get ready to have your strategic taste buds tickled. As for the story... while one might say it is a pretty standard fantasy fare (be the hero - save the world, hurrdurr), I rank it higher purely by the virtue that it nimbly avoids kitschy pathos that is present in most heroic fantasy books and games. That's not to say that the game's plot is irrational or immature - things like politics, environmental disasters and messianism are hardly child's matter after all. My only complaint, and the point were the developers really dropped the ball, are the graphics. It is really disappointing to see a 2011 DS game look on par with some early GBA titles. Other than that, the game is a treat, a really beautiful treat to us, jRPG maniacs of the world, and I really couldn't recommend it enough. Sleeper hit right there! Expand
  10. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Radiant Historia is the best RPG I've played in ages. Being a huge fan of PS1 and SNES RPGs, this game is a true embodiment of what an RPG should have: engrossing story, complex characters, fun battle system and a gripping ambiance. The story involves some familiar elements, such as time traveling to save the world, but it does a lot to stand on its own. You not only have to travel time toRadiant Historia is the best RPG I've played in ages. Being a huge fan of PS1 and SNES RPGs, this game is a true embodiment of what an RPG should have: engrossing story, complex characters, fun battle system and a gripping ambiance. The story involves some familiar elements, such as time traveling to save the world, but it does a lot to stand on its own. You not only have to travel time to prevent the end of the world, you have to balance two alternate timelines (due to the meddling of an evil third party) because events in one impact the other. Each choice you make could lead to a sudden end, in which case you have to go back to a key point and figure out the correct path. Don't worry, it's not at all confusing or tedious because you're given a detailed record of events and you can skip nearly any event or cut-scene to avoid repetition. To bring it all together, a varied and complex cast provides unique personalities and nuances to the story. The grid based combat, which allows you to move enemies around and combine them into slots to build combos and damage multiple enemies at once, provides a simple, fast, deep and incredibly fun battle system. The visuals are very vibrant and artistically marvelous, though the character animations are a bit limited. The music is simply amazing. It's probably one of the most beautiful soundtracks ever (listen to "Memories of the World", "Blue Radiance", and "And Earnest Desire of Grey" on YouTube). I've played all the great RPGs of the past decade... the Final Fantasies, Mass Effects, Fallout 3, Oblivion, Kingdom Hearts. But sometimes I don't care about the latest technological advancements facial animations, complex decision making systems that can change the whole universe, finding dirty water in demolished buildings, exploring huge lands or Disney/Square-Enix fan service. Sometimes, I just want a simple, absorbing RPG and that is what Radiant Historia is. Atlus deserves a standing ovation for not only taking a risk, but also for creating one of the best RPGs of all time. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. The time travel aspect was well done and the gameplay is great. Easily one of my favorite JRPGs. If you can find it, buy this game.
  12. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    It's sad that this game is a NDS release. You clearly need a better sound system for this awesome music. The graphics on the other side are fine as they are, even with the DS limitations the style looks pretty good and unique.

    The game itself is one the best RPG's of all times. It gets better the longer you in it. Everyone who decides to invest some time in this game will get something
    It's sad that this game is a NDS release. You clearly need a better sound system for this awesome music. The graphics on the other side are fine as they are, even with the DS limitations the style looks pretty good and unique.

    The game itself is one the best RPG's of all times. It gets better the longer you in it. Everyone who decides to invest some time in this game will get something precious in return.
    Expand
  13. May 5, 2015
    10
    Awesome characters, gameplay, history and musics, this is one of my favorite RPG ever, if you like the genre, you have to play it.

    It could have a more difficult campaign, but it is still awesome.
  14. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    When i first saw this game on the shelf, i thought, "why not give it a shot, it looks like my kind of game." After i got home, I WAS HOOKED! The storyline grabbed me, the combat was genius, and even though there is one flaw in the "time-line crossing", just ignore it and you continue to love it. P.S.: the flaw is that if you save a man in one timeline, that would mean in order to be safeWhen i first saw this game on the shelf, i thought, "why not give it a shot, it looks like my kind of game." After i got home, I WAS HOOKED! The storyline grabbed me, the combat was genius, and even though there is one flaw in the "time-line crossing", just ignore it and you continue to love it. P.S.: the flaw is that if you save a man in one timeline, that would mean in order to be safe in the other timeline, he would have to cross timelines. He does however say "haven't i seen you before?" That kind of makes up for it, but in reality, it doesn't matter. Hope you love it!!!! Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    84
    Radiant Historia's take on time traveling is a bit of a letdown, but it's nevertheless a strong and addicting JRPG. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    85
    Radiant History is a great game, mainly due to the serious plot and the mature characters.
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    Nintendo DS, without a doubt the queen of the RPG genre in recent years, gains another incredibly good addition to its library in Radiant Historia.