• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Rune Factory 3: A Fantasy Harvest Moon Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's an adventure that will transform you! The people of Sharance and their horned Univir neighbors are embroiled in a bitter conflict. An age-old hatred between humans and monsters divides them. You are an adventurer with an unusual secret: you're half human and half monster.

    Are you the
    one who can unite the humans and the Univir? And will you be in time to stop the growing evil force that threatens to destroy them both? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    89
    It's impossible to deny that Rune Factory 3 is the best entry in the series. It has improved in just about every area it possibly could: the battles are more dynamic, the farming isn't monotonous, the characters are deeper and more intriguing, and the dialogue is full of variety.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    85
    As much as there is to do in Rune Factory 3, none of it ever gets too complex or stressful.
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    85
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  4. Dec 22, 2010
    80
    Rune Factory 3 does little to change the franchise formula, and for me, someone new to it, that's good enough.
  5. Feb 6, 2011
    80
    Excellent character portraits. [Christmas 2010, p.61]
  6. Dec 22, 2010
    80
    This sweet experience is one that can be enjoyed by newcomers and veterans of the Harvest Moon series, as Rune Factory 3's positives definitely outweigh the negatives.
  7. Dec 22, 2010
    60
    It's simply frustrating that, even after several previous installments, the series has yet to improve significantly – even moreso since a lot of the issues holding it back seem easily fixable. As it stands, Rune Factory 3 is a solid game – just not a great one.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    It's an underrated addictive game. Even compared to the other Rune Factories, this one is perfect in all it does. Expedited travelling, a quest system that adds story depth and more opportunities for exciting new items. Easier forging with instant access to storage, better dungeon design and bosses. A story that you actually kinda care about, more convenient farming. Deeper, more interesting characters, more strategy to battles, the list of improvements to this gem go on and on. Probably one of the best DS games I've had the joy to play and I've played a lot of good DS games. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Sensational game. I don't know why I skipped it when it first came out, but I'm so glad I discovered it. It's like playing Harvest Moon, Pokemon, and Zelda at once. I don't think I have seen an RPG this involved in a long time: you can do everything from item crafting to cooking, have countless weapons and spells, have multiple relationships, take any character into your dungeon party--and it has a good story with multiple endings. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a great JPRG or Action RPG. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    this is the first rune factory game i have finished the rest are hard.its a really fun game.im sure its worth a 10/10.the game may be a little short but its worth the time. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I bought this game at GameStop thirty dollars almost two weeks ago. Since then, I have been up til 3 in the morning playing through this game. Quick Review? This game is ADDICTING. [Gameplay] The game starts off like any other RF game. You start off as a hero who loses their memory and you make money by farming, gathering, forging, cooking completing tasks, ect. You are a boy who has a secret. He is half human and half monster (a golden wooly). Throughout the game you are trying to unite an old Univor tribe with the town of Sharance (if spelling errors, I am sorry). The games customization features hit the mark, giving you customization over clothes, names and even little quirks in relationships. You will be playing for hours and talking to people over and over again just so you can see their reactions or even what would happen next. [Graphics] Despite hardware limitations, the games bright and vibrant overworld and character sprites really give the game it's initial appeal. With a beautiful and entertaining cast, the sprites really sell it. [Sound] Pretty adequate. Repetitive, but whatever. [Overall] A fun time. You will be up late at night farming your crops or trying to get your girl. It's best not to miss this title, for such a reasonable price, and you will definitely get your money out of it. Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    I find this game even better than the ones on the Wii. It's much more responsible than the older games and I also find the characters much more interesting. I was never attracted to Harvest Moon styled games nor Rune Factory 1 or 2, but this one is so good I actually had fun playing it. Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    This game, might be the best one of the series of Rune Factory for Nintendo DS, comparing it to the other games, it is outstanding, but, if you are new in this games, you would say "I do not like it", ¿Why? Because the improvement from Rune Factory 1 and 2 is the thing that make this game outstanding, but, into a new gamer like me, I would say some things that look´s horrible, this game has recycled soundtrack from the other games, and if you look good into the enemies, they are the same, a very good improvement might be the number of the women that you can marry, or the storyline of the quests that will give you hours of entertainment.
    It would be a devastating I compare it to Rune factory Tides of Destiny, but there is no case to talk about it.
    I remember the day i bought it, waiting for something that would reach my emotions and heart. The money worth it, if you want something simple, entertaining and cute RPG games
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    The best Run Factory to date but that does not mean that close to be THE GAME, there are things that need improvement for become a best game. With high replay value and bright is the right game for those for those who want an alternative of mainstream. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews