Scribblenauts DS

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 110
  2. Negative: 11 out of 110
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    Though i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansive the vocabulary was in this game. You can literally put in almost anything that is not inappropriate or overly religious. Again, the puzzles are very creative but i spent most of my time messing around in the main menu just messing with the variety ofThough i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansive the vocabulary was in this game. You can literally put in almost anything that is not inappropriate or overly religious. Again, the puzzles are very creative but i spent most of my time messing around in the main menu just messing with the variety of things that i can create. This is a truly expansive game that i could spend so much time playing. Expand
  2. SamJ
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Hours of fun throughout the entire game, I've seriously spent hours on just the title screen, its that good and the puzzles and action stages are awesome, and the thousands of objects in the game shall keep you amused, God wearing shades equipped with a machine gun doing battle with the devil ftw! plus level builder awesome game.
  3. JackV
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    Scribblenauts is a new, original idea, that is sure to keep you hooked for hours. Some of the controls may not be brilliant, but why should this game be marked down just because of that?
  4. RussellC
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    The most innovative game this year, and for the creative-minded person, one of the most enjoyable games ever. There are minor control annoyances, but saying that keeps it from being great is akin to saying that the original Star Wars movies weren't great b/c of the acting. Wonderful game, the kind every gamer who ever said they wished there was more innovation should be buying for The most innovative game this year, and for the creative-minded person, one of the most enjoyable games ever. There are minor control annoyances, but saying that keeps it from being great is akin to saying that the original Star Wars movies weren't great b/c of the acting. Wonderful game, the kind every gamer who ever said they wished there was more innovation should be buying for both themselves and all their friends. Expand
  5. AdamB.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Scribblenauts is one of the most innovative and bizarrely entertaining experiments in computer gaming since Eliza the virtual therapist, and the electronic 20 Questions game. The whole point of the Scribblenauts is to outwit the computer using your creativity. You can cheat in humorous ways through some puzzles, leaving you feeling good about yourself. Other puzzles are maddening even Scribblenauts is one of the most innovative and bizarrely entertaining experiments in computer gaming since Eliza the virtual therapist, and the electronic 20 Questions game. The whole point of the Scribblenauts is to outwit the computer using your creativity. You can cheat in humorous ways through some puzzles, leaving you feeling good about yourself. Other puzzles are maddening even though they're presented so simply. Either way, the whole experience is filled with joy and feels more like a blank canvas than a game. Expand
  6. JamesR.
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    The reviews are correct. The controls definitely do leave something to be desired. They can be quite frustrating in more complex situations. However, the incredible originality of this title greatly outweighs its shortcomings. The puzzles are creative and get quite difficult. The fact that there are several possible solutions to each adds to the already great replay value. The online The reviews are correct. The controls definitely do leave something to be desired. They can be quite frustrating in more complex situations. However, the incredible originality of this title greatly outweighs its shortcomings. The puzzles are creative and get quite difficult. The fact that there are several possible solutions to each adds to the already great replay value. The online could use beefing up in future sequels, but being able to trade puzzles with others is another great way to extend the experience. If you like inventive puzzles, pick this title up and don't look back. Expand
  7. JordanHill
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your imagination beyond what you thought was possible. Controls are a tad annoying at first but you get used to it. The game starts out too easy and some of the final levels are so incredibly difficult that it takes hours to complete them. Overall, this This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your imagination beyond what you thought was possible. Controls are a tad annoying at first but you get used to it. The game starts out too easy and some of the final levels are so incredibly difficult that it takes hours to complete them. Overall, this is an amazingly solid and creative game. My favorite to date for the DS. Expand
  8. PB
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    Great concept, let down by a horrible control system. Using the touch-screen to control both Maxwell and created items is often infuriating- an accidental mispress when rearranging items will often lead your character to jump off a cliff or into some exploding barrels or something.
  9. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    Sloppy controls, and easily cheated levels. the 2 points off my review. Everything else? Flawless. The entertainment value of watching a panda riding another panda wearing a top hat, is simply ingenious.
  10. MireL
    Oct 14, 2009
    2
    The controls in this game are actually broken. If it didn't have the creative concept it does it would be ignored and reviled. I would love to like this game, but it is practically unplayable. I've seen him move almost all the way across the screen with one movement. All the creativity in the world couldn't save this mess.
  11. GarethG
    Sep 16, 2009
    0
    The entire game requires the usage of the touch screen to be played, with the D-Pad not being used for much, except to select menu screens. Which brings us to the negatives of the game. You have to control a character, and aid him using the objects you create. Standard stuff, except you have to manage him using the stylus as well. Tap a spot on the screen to move him there, tap an object The entire game requires the usage of the touch screen to be played, with the D-Pad not being used for much, except to select menu screens. Which brings us to the negatives of the game. You have to control a character, and aid him using the objects you create. Standard stuff, except you have to manage him using the stylus as well. Tap a spot on the screen to move him there, tap an object to make him interact with it. Sounds cool? It is, but the Expand
  12. DME
    Sep 24, 2010
    3
    The idea behind it was good, but execution wasn't. Graphics were "blah". Sound was decent. Controls were just awful. Puzzles were fun at first but then got real boring. There are certainly worse games on the DS, but even so, I don't recommend this one.
  13. JamesC
    Nov 29, 2009
    6
    This is a brilliantly original concept, but a concept doesn't make a game. Several words are given the same sprite, the controls are annoyingly fundamental and the physics are just abhorrent (it *is* Warner Bros, so it isn't a surprise). The only forgiving feature is the massive range of (barely) interactive scenes you can create. Warner Bros blew it big time.
  14. Feb 10, 2011
    5
    A great idea that ended up being more frustrating than fun. your character often will knock over elaborate set ups because you cant control him yourself. and half of the games puzzles are solved by simply creating death or a helicopter with a magnet on it. The best part of the game is on the main menu staging fights between various mythical creatures ridding skateboards...
  15. JoeS
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    I'm giving this game a little bonus, since I feel it's more of a 7.5. It is indeed very original and just the thing that people with big imaginations and big vocabularies have been wishing for, but, as many others have said, the controls are simply an abomination. The start screen is the most enjoyable part of the game, but it alone makes it worth trying at least once. If you I'm giving this game a little bonus, since I feel it's more of a 7.5. It is indeed very original and just the thing that people with big imaginations and big vocabularies have been wishing for, but, as many others have said, the controls are simply an abomination. The start screen is the most enjoyable part of the game, but it alone makes it worth trying at least once. If you don't buy this one, at least borrow it from a friend. Expand
  16. DaveP
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    Fun and original. It gives a new breath to the idea of open ended play. Just when you think you are ready to put the game down and get on with life, the right lobe of the brain begs for one more level with something like, "What if I attach a rocket pack to the penguin and throw him on a trampoline?"
  17. RomanT
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Definitely one of the most original games to come out for DS in a while. It has a cute and simple art style that I personally like. Most importantly, this game is very fun. Having literally thousands of objects to choose from to solve various puzzle is very innovative. Naturally, that also leads to some flaws. Moving Maxwell and all those objects can be very clunky. Fighting the physics Definitely one of the most original games to come out for DS in a while. It has a cute and simple art style that I personally like. Most importantly, this game is very fun. Having literally thousands of objects to choose from to solve various puzzle is very innovative. Naturally, that also leads to some flaws. Moving Maxwell and all those objects can be very clunky. Fighting the physics engine can be quite frustrating at times. Not all puzzles are enjoyable or even make sense. Many objects that should logically get the job done do not work in practice. The game certainly does not give enough puzzle hints and expects you to use your creativity and imagination. Aside from those fundamental flaws, it is still a great title overall. It is truly an amazing accomplishment by the developers to cram that many interesting objects and interaction into a single game. Expand
  18. RedX
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    This game has virtually no flaws. The gameplay is large and nearly infinite. The only flaw I have to say is the control system. I would have no problem if you could control Maxwell with the D-Pad and X,Y,A, and B buttons while controling the objects using the touch-screen and LR buttons. Even with the control flaws, this game is one of the top DS games of 2009.
  19. KyleK.
    Sep 16, 2009
    7
    The concept behind this is indeed pure genius, but let down quite a bit by the very clunky controls and the inability to pause while adjusting objects. Still, I can see myself playing around with the start menu alone for months, and that's quite a feat.
  20. AaronB
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    Although I would have liked to control the hero with the D-pad. The controls are not that bad. The game is very enjoyable once you do get used to the controls. Just have an open mind and you'll have a good time.
  21. AnonymousMC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    You know what I hate most? I hate that when I go on Metacritic, I see all these turds only vote to what they hear, read, or think about games they don't even have. If you don't have the game, you shouldn't vote on it just because other people say it's bad or good. I myself have this game and I think that half of you people who voted have never even seen the game beingYou know what I hate most? I hate that when I go on Metacritic, I see all these turds only vote to what they hear, read, or think about games they don't even have. If you don't have the game, you shouldn't vote on it just because other people say it's bad or good. I myself have this game and I think that half of you people who voted have never even seen the game being played. So next time you're about to ruin a game when you don't know if it's good or not, just think, "Do I really give a crap?" Expand
  22. KenW
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    This is not innovation. This is just a silly gimmick which gets dull extremely quickly. Yes, you can create Satan and God, dress them up and make them fight. You can also create bricks and watch them do nothing. They're pretty much the same thing.
  23. RobertB
    Oct 7, 2009
    6
    I really wanted to like Scribblenauts. Although I found the art direction charming, the core mechanic fascinating, and the premise engaging, ultimately the games challenges left me... wanting something with a bit more substance. Scribblenauts is half a game, or rather a game without a real end goal . Certainly the puzzles force the mind to wrap around problems in interesting ways, but the I really wanted to like Scribblenauts. Although I found the art direction charming, the core mechanic fascinating, and the premise engaging, ultimately the games challenges left me... wanting something with a bit more substance. Scribblenauts is half a game, or rather a game without a real end goal . Certainly the puzzles force the mind to wrap around problems in interesting ways, but the lack of guidance, the clumsy camera controls, and the funky physics made playing this game difficult. Add in the frustration of the user interface, the difficulty in simply playing the game combines with the games unusual challenges to create more of a sense of frustration rather than wonder. Expand
  24. KazukoY
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent fun, the controls take getting used to, but don't kill the experience! Games like this need to be touted and rewarded so that others may come down the line.
  25. joshP
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    The controls are a bit off but its definately a game where replay value is higher than most ds games. to completely go into every last item of the game, you would only need to type in a few thousand plus nouns. it is definitely a game where if you lack imagination (and maybe a decent vocabulary), then the gameplay can get worn out extraordinarily easily. Regardless, it is a title that any The controls are a bit off but its definately a game where replay value is higher than most ds games. to completely go into every last item of the game, you would only need to type in a few thousand plus nouns. it is definitely a game where if you lack imagination (and maybe a decent vocabulary), then the gameplay can get worn out extraordinarily easily. Regardless, it is a title that any ds owner should take a look at. Expand
  26. Lagann
    Sep 24, 2009
    5
    The game offers an incredible database that's impressive at first, but very quickly becomes obvious that most of the items are completely useless. It is rare that they work in any way that you would expect. At best it's worth a rental to play around with the summoning, it gets very old very quick though, and quickly forgotten about.
  27. rbee
    Sep 28, 2009
    7
    For gamers buying it for themselves: excellent. For parents: Good but not great. The puzzles can be exceptionally easy or exceptionally challenging, and hinge on, yes, creativity, but also the kind of lateral thinking that does not come easily to all, and even when it does, the game function does not always work the same way the player wants it to. My son is excellent with maths and For gamers buying it for themselves: excellent. For parents: Good but not great. The puzzles can be exceptionally easy or exceptionally challenging, and hinge on, yes, creativity, but also the kind of lateral thinking that does not come easily to all, and even when it does, the game function does not always work the same way the player wants it to. My son is excellent with maths and science, but this game could not compete with his Pokemon obsession, particularly after he stumbled and could not "get the starite" within ten minutes. I played through and enjoyed it myself, but I also enjoy Picross and brain training, neither of which are "games" my son cares for. Educationally the game is also very limited, as it can be beat through same-object repetition. If you're a parent who puts a daily minute/hour limit on game time, the frustration your child feels about Scribblenauts will more often drive him or her to quick-finish levels than to really enjoy the game. My experience only. Also: I love the game, but have already gone back to older titles with stories and character development. We might find more life in Scribblenauts if we created and exchanged levels on WiFi, but cannot. Expand
  28. DanD
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    It's pretty much all that you're hoping it will be. If you're attracted to the game because of the freakish amount of items that it can generate and how they all interact with one another, you will not be disappointed. However, as a "game", it has some serious crutches. The controls are incredibly bad, though you may only notice on the really challenging levels. Odd It's pretty much all that you're hoping it will be. If you're attracted to the game because of the freakish amount of items that it can generate and how they all interact with one another, you will not be disappointed. However, as a "game", it has some serious crutches. The controls are incredibly bad, though you may only notice on the really challenging levels. Odd glitches abound -- items disappearing from the environment, random avator death for no reason, etc. -- but due to the game's bite-sized premise you don't mind these as much as Maxwell's baffling inability to go anywhere reliably. If the game weren't experienced in two or three minute chunks, the glitches would kill it. As it is, you just restart the level and hope the same thing doesn't happen again. All in all, this is a great all around time-sink, so you should absolutely buy it. If nothing else, it works as a proof of concept and lays the groundwork for some truly awesome sequels. Expand
  29. NealM
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Sometimes it can be annoying if you want something more specific and you end up writing a synonym for something slightly different, but I don't feel it detracts from the game any.
  30. NickH
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    Scribblenauts is probably one of the most original and creative games in history. Some objects don't behave as they should, and the controls could use some work, but its a definite pick up and probably one of the best puzzle games I've ever played.
  31. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Niggling flaws and borked controls keep this from being truly outstanding, but as a 8/10 game, it's one of the better 8/10 games. It's premise is brilliant, write anything, solve everything. Though this pretty much is true, summoning anything is an awesome prospect, a better line would be 'write anything, solve almost everything if it wasn't for several flaws'. Still one of the best DSNiggling flaws and borked controls keep this from being truly outstanding, but as a 8/10 game, it's one of the better 8/10 games. It's premise is brilliant, write anything, solve everything. Though this pretty much is true, summoning anything is an awesome prospect, a better line would be 'write anything, solve almost everything if it wasn't for several flaws'. Still one of the best DS games, if you can put up with dodgy control schemes. Expand
  32. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Most original game I've played since Tetris. A true breath of fresh air. If you want to buy anyone a game that'll will really get their brain thinking, this is the game.

    A stroke of genius.
  33. Nov 20, 2010
    7
    It is a brilliantly innovative game. This really had the potential to be an excellent game. However, it fell flat completely. One of the major problems was the controls. I don't know why it even used the touch screen to begin, but Maxwell is hell to control. The touch screen was bad enough but they are really floaty and irresponsible. However, you'll spend hours using your imaginations onIt is a brilliantly innovative game. This really had the potential to be an excellent game. However, it fell flat completely. One of the major problems was the controls. I don't know why it even used the touch screen to begin, but Maxwell is hell to control. The touch screen was bad enough but they are really floaty and irresponsible. However, you'll spend hours using your imaginations on the title screen, doing whatever, pitting God against Satan, or a tiger against a lion, or whatever your imagination takes you to. The vocabulary on offer is amazing too. Collapse
  34. cfh
    Mar 24, 2013
    8
    SO MUCH FUN!!!!!!!!!!! The first levels are awesome. Then I got stuck, but if you get stuck you can still go to different worlds and play levels there (my mistake). I would deffinitely suggest this to anyone who has a device that supports this game. Examples: DS Scribblenauts and Scribblenauts Remix for iOS ($0.99 TOTALLY worth it).
  35. Jan 8, 2011
    5
    The first problem with this game is that the title is a lie. Saying write anything solve everything is a complete lie. Many times when you say you want a spanner you will end up with a drill, because any type of tool you type in has the same result. Many of the items you can't use anyway, and movement is extremely annoying. I got to world 3 before puttingthis down, avoid.
  36. May 12, 2011
    8
    This is one of the best DS games I've ever played. The puzzles are enjoyable and creative yet also challenging but never to the point of deep frustration. Plus, every puzzle has great variety and if you take your time to solve each puzzle the game can last you a good 20+ hours. On the negative side, however, the Level Creator is limited, the controls are stiff and annoying, many puzzlesThis is one of the best DS games I've ever played. The puzzles are enjoyable and creative yet also challenging but never to the point of deep frustration. Plus, every puzzle has great variety and if you take your time to solve each puzzle the game can last you a good 20+ hours. On the negative side, however, the Level Creator is limited, the controls are stiff and annoying, many puzzles can be solved with a simple 'blow it up' attitude and the AI is, frankly, poor. But all of this is made up for with a cast of fantastic puzzles and some pretty cool unlocks. This is also a belly-achingly funny game, and an essential purchase for any and every DS owner. Period. Expand
  37. May 23, 2011
    8
    It's not great but it's a good fun game I don't love it I don't hate it but it's still fun and the puzzles for most of them you have to be creative so you should buy it it's pretty dang good!
  38. Jan 22, 2012
    6
    The game features an excellent and very original idea, that there is over 20 000 items you can spawn into the level just by typing them. However, poor controls, uninteresting levels and the fact that most objects don't function the way they should, or atleast could, prevents this game from reaching a higher score.
  39. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    With Scribblenauts the possibilities are endless.
  40. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    This game is based on a brilliant idea. Some of the stages are a little frustrating, but overall it's awesome and really fun. This really has a future.
  41. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    This is the perfect example of a premise that gets anyone wide-eyed in astonishment. I mean, you write up any object and it's in the game. How the hell did they manage that?

    The game itself is beautifully colored, with just the right amount of silliness, and a LOT of extremely cool easter eggs (if you write up "time machine", for example, you get an actual time machine that gets you out
    This is the perfect example of a premise that gets anyone wide-eyed in astonishment. I mean, you write up any object and it's in the game. How the hell did they manage that?

    The game itself is beautifully colored, with just the right amount of silliness, and a LOT of extremely cool easter eggs (if you write up "time machine", for example, you get an actual time machine that gets you out of the current puzzle's ambient and into one of many different pasts or futures).

    Where things start to fall apart is the actual gameplay. As puzzles get garder, it gets increasingly annoying to try to control the main character. A lot of the times, he just refuses to obey the obvious commands, which results in a whole lot of wasted time. As a result, I never really found it in me to play this game all the way through.

    Final verdict: one of the most fun premises ever to grace a video game, significantly doused by half-assed controls.
    Expand
  42. Aug 4, 2013
    7
    A really fun game that lets you create anything you can scribble pretty much.

    They fixed the controls in the newer version as they are what slows this one down a lot.

    Otherwise it has a lot of clever puzzles and is worth checking out.

    7 out of 10.
  43. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (0/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (0/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  44. Jun 20, 2014
    7
    I heard a lot of recommendations for this game, so I decided to give it a try and overall, I have been having a pretty good time with this game just solving puzzles and things like that.

    Pros: -Creative Puzzles -Extensive amount of Words -Cool and fun Easter eggs (One of the levels parodied Back to the Future which I thought was very funny!) -Definitely a game I kept coming back to,
    I heard a lot of recommendations for this game, so I decided to give it a try and overall, I have been having a pretty good time with this game just solving puzzles and things like that.

    Pros:
    -Creative Puzzles
    -Extensive amount of Words
    -Cool and fun Easter eggs (One of the levels parodied Back to the Future which I thought was very funny!)
    -Definitely a game I kept coming back to, I remember being very addicted to this game when I first bought it.

    Cons:
    -Puzzles can get really repetitive.
    -Level Editor could be better.
    -Replay value may be there, but what it has to offer is not very fun, but just more repetitive puzzles.

    Overall, Scribblenauts is very innovative, but it's not one of the best. I'd still think it's worth picking up if you can find it for cheap.
    Expand
  45. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    This game is really great for car rides, or personally for me, when laying in bed if you can't sleep or don't feel well. It has some easy levels, some creative levels, and some impossible levels. It will keep you entertained for much longer than you need to be. Also, even though it looks like it's for young kids, it's fun for all ages, I'm 19 and have an absolute blast playing with my boyfriend.
  46. Nov 20, 2010
    0
    It is a brilliantly innovative game. This really had the potential to be an excellent game. However, it fell flat completely. One of the major problems was the controls. I don't know why it even used the touch screen to begin, but Maxwell is hell to control. The touch screen was bad enough but they are really floaty and irresponsible. However, you'll spend hours using your imaginations onIt is a brilliantly innovative game. This really had the potential to be an excellent game. However, it fell flat completely. One of the major problems was the controls. I don't know why it even used the touch screen to begin, but Maxwell is hell to control. The touch screen was bad enough but they are really floaty and irresponsible. However, you'll spend hours using your imaginations on the title screen, doing whatever, pitting God against Satan, or a tiger against a lion, or whatever your imagination takes you to. The vocabulary on offer is amazing too. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#26 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Scribblenauts is hugely ambitious, and the odd bit of buckling under its inventory has to be forgiven.
  2. 90
    Even with the flaws in Scribblenauts' controls and the level editor -- which only allows you to make levels for use on your own card, and not share them with others -- it holds a special place in my heart for being the most fun I've ever had improving my vocabulary. It is, dare I say, the best piece of edutainment since Math Blaster.
  3. 83
    You get a wholesome puzzle game in Scribblenauts, with challenges that may well last you longer than you think, but it's not perfect.