Scribblenauts Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The goal is simple - help our Maxwell reach the Starite by solving each challenge - but the mission before you can range from straightforward to downright tricky! To catch the Starite, write any object you can think of and watch as it comes to life. [Warner]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. 100
    Scribblenauts is the video game equivalent of your first kiss: it's awkward, it's sweet and it's utterly memorable.
  2. Nintendo Power
    90
    Amazing...This might be the most creative game I've ever played. [Nov 2009, p.81]
  3. The only thing holding back Scribblenauts is the DS. The reliance on the touchscreen hampers what would otherwise be the best new games franchise this year.
  4. games(TM)
    80
    5th Cell has managed something very difficult: creating a game that's at once simple and also incredibly complex, and doing so with such composure and charm that you'd be doing yourself a great disservice not to give it a go. [Nov 2009, p.104]
  5. It's so unique, revolutionary, and positively delightful that it more than makes up for all its shortcomings. And with a built-in level editor and the ability to share levels with others, the challenges are nearly endless.
  6. 70
    So if you can put up with the weak control scheme, there are some truly inspiring moments that can occur. Scribblenauts had such a huge vision I can't help but love it, and although sometimes it makes me want to throw my DS across the room, I'm still glad I spent the time playing it.
  7. Scribblenauts succeeds in being an incredibly creative game. It just isn’t enjoyable after the effect of its initial charm wears off.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    Though i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansiveThough i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansive the vocabulary was in this game. You can literally put in almost anything that is not inappropriate or overly religious. Again, the puzzles are very creative but i spent most of my time messing around in the main menu just messing with the variety of things that i can create. This is a truly expansive game that i could spend so much time playing. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Most original game I've played since Tetris. A true breath of fresh air. If you want to buy anyone a game that'll will really get theirMost original game I've played since Tetris. A true breath of fresh air. If you want to buy anyone a game that'll will really get their brain thinking, this is the game.

    A stroke of genius.
    Expand
  3. JordanHill
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your imagination beyond what you thought was possible. Controls are a tad annoying at first but you get used to it. The game starts out too easy and some of the final levels are so incredibly difficult that it takes hours to complete them. Overall, this is an amazingly solid and creative game. My favorite to date for the DS. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Niggling flaws and borked controls keep this from being truly outstanding, but as a 8/10 game, it's one of the better 8/10 games. It's premiseNiggling flaws and borked controls keep this from being truly outstanding, but as a 8/10 game, it's one of the better 8/10 games. It's premise is brilliant, write anything, solve everything. Though this pretty much is true, summoning anything is an awesome prospect, a better line would be 'write anything, solve almost everything if it wasn't for several flaws'. Still one of the best DS games, if you can put up with dodgy control schemes. Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    7
    A really fun game that lets you create anything you can scribble pretty much.

    They fixed the controls in the newer version as they are what
    A really fun game that lets you create anything you can scribble pretty much.

    They fixed the controls in the newer version as they are what slows this one down a lot.

    Otherwise it has a lot of clever puzzles and is worth checking out.

    7 out of 10.
    Expand
  6. KyleK.
    Sep 16, 2009
    7
    The concept behind this is indeed pure genius, but let down quite a bit by the very clunky controls and the inability to pause while The concept behind this is indeed pure genius, but let down quite a bit by the very clunky controls and the inability to pause while adjusting objects. Still, I can see myself playing around with the start menu alone for months, and that's quite a feat. Expand
  7. GarethG
    Sep 16, 2009
    0
    The entire game requires the usage of the touch screen to be played, with the D-Pad not being used for much, except to select menu screens. The entire game requires the usage of the touch screen to be played, with the D-Pad not being used for much, except to select menu screens. Which brings us to the negatives of the game. You have to control a character, and aid him using the objects you create. Standard stuff, except you have to manage him using the stylus as well. Tap a spot on the screen to move him there, tap an object to make him interact with it. Sounds cool? It is, but the Collapse

See all 46 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

21
5
#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
18
#18 Most Shared DS Game of 2009