• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2008
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 63
  2. Negative: 13 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2010
    6
    Sonic Chronicles is perhaps the most disappointing sonic game I have played. Granted, as an RPG is not a bad game, but it doesn't offer a truly unique experience from the rest of the RPGs I have played. I like the fact that they included many characters of the franchise in the story, but I personally just see no reason to put Sonic the RPG realm. I still decided to check it out because itSonic Chronicles is perhaps the most disappointing sonic game I have played. Granted, as an RPG is not a bad game, but it doesn't offer a truly unique experience from the rest of the RPGs I have played. I like the fact that they included many characters of the franchise in the story, but I personally just see no reason to put Sonic the RPG realm. I still decided to check it out because it was made by Bioware, the creators of the great Knights of the Old Republic. But it looks like they are not so great working on portable games.Still, you should give it a rent and see if you can accept this new gameplay. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2010
    2
    As a major fan of RPG games and Sonic the Hedgehog I was expecting big things for this game, unfortunately, the game was a major disappointment to me. The RPG gameplay is very slow and rather repetitive, some enemies and playable characters are really unbalanced in comparison to others and can really break the game. Exploration is very limited and after you progress to certain points inAs a major fan of RPG games and Sonic the Hedgehog I was expecting big things for this game, unfortunately, the game was a major disappointment to me. The RPG gameplay is very slow and rather repetitive, some enemies and playable characters are really unbalanced in comparison to others and can really break the game. Exploration is very limited and after you progress to certain points in the game, you are unable to turn back and revisit those previous areas. The backgrounds and illustrations are nice to look at but the 3D character models are somewhat ugly. The story is decently written but it conflicts with many canon and non-canon Sonic storylines which can cause a large amount of confusion.The music is awful in my opinion because most of it is far below the DS's standards and sounds effects are somewhat poor quality at best. This game is filled with quite a few glitches such as getting into areas in the maps that you aren't supposed due to poor collision detection and some poorly programed fetch quest scripts than can duplicate your fetch quest items. The game to my knowledge can't be completed 100% to my knowledge due to certain Special Event Chaos being unobtainable. Overall, I was very disappointed with this game and due to its large number of flaws, I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone who is considering to buy it. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This sonic game is a rare jewel: combines adventure and RPG with the most loved characters of the franchise. It has nice graphics and a interesting plot. In the fights you will use the stylus to perform the character's moves, which add much fun. If you're a Sonic fan or a RPG fan, I recommend this game!
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    I've played 3 Sonic games before this one and I didn't like them, but I'm a huge RPG fan and Bioware is my favorite game developer so I decided to pick this up because I figured if anyone could make a good Sonic game it's Bioware, and they didn't let me down. The story is well written and features familiar faces from the series as well as some new faces. I do have some complaints with theI've played 3 Sonic games before this one and I didn't like them, but I'm a huge RPG fan and Bioware is my favorite game developer so I decided to pick this up because I figured if anyone could make a good Sonic game it's Bioware, and they didn't let me down. The story is well written and features familiar faces from the series as well as some new faces. I do have some complaints with the ending, it's a cliffhanger that sets it up for a sequel that probably isn't going to be made, which is sad because I would really love one. The combat system is a mix between your classic turn based RPG and a rhythm game, yeah I know it sounds weird and until you get used to it it's irritating, but once you get the hang of it it feels smooth for the most part. While I could spend the rest of the review telling you the good and the aspects of this game I think I'll just close by telling you that this is a great game and you should get it if your a fan of Sonic, Bioware, or RPG's. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2011
    1
    Normally, I'm not one for short reviews. I like being logical, creative and at least vaguely interesting. This game doesn't deserve a long review, because it's just plain awful. The controls are awful, owing completely to the fact that almost all of the DS's buttons weren't mapped at all. The battle system is one of the most monotonous and gimmicky I've ever had the displeasure of using,Normally, I'm not one for short reviews. I like being logical, creative and at least vaguely interesting. This game doesn't deserve a long review, because it's just plain awful. The controls are awful, owing completely to the fact that almost all of the DS's buttons weren't mapped at all. The battle system is one of the most monotonous and gimmicky I've ever had the displeasure of using, the worst of which lies in the chao things. They had to be made deliberately super-cute so that one wouldn't mind how annoying they are and yet an absolute necessity if you don't feel like grinding for an hour here and there. The pace seems completely off, fast where it should be slow and vice versa. The story popped in and out of canon so much I half expected to see Tails coming out as actually being female, or some other absurd plot twist that could serve as a reasonable starting point for some yiff comics. To me, only games that are legendary for being horrible such as "Dr Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" for NES or "E.T." for the Atari 2600 deserve a zero score. And if there's one thing nice I can say about this game, it is that it isn't quite that bad. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2013
    7
    A weird game that I am surprised I enjoyed as much as I did. It plays entirely with touch controls and this works pretty well. The battles are performed by doing rhythm game style timing challenges, which is fun if a little repetitive. The game isn't challenging when compared to RPGs like final fantasy but it is a great introductory game to the genre. The story is pretty forgettable but IA weird game that I am surprised I enjoyed as much as I did. It plays entirely with touch controls and this works pretty well. The battles are performed by doing rhythm game style timing challenges, which is fun if a little repetitive. The game isn't challenging when compared to RPGs like final fantasy but it is a great introductory game to the genre. The story is pretty forgettable but I did like that they managed to put all the annoying sonic characters like big the cat in the game without them being infuriating. The graphics are pretty decent with some nice hand drawn areas and decent character models. Overall though it's a game which I feel needs a sequel a this game has so much untouched potential, and there is a massive cliffhanger at the end. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    How this abomination managed to get even one good review is beyond me. This is literally one of the worst games I have ever had the misfortune of playing. Everything about this game is ridiculously crappy. The combat system sucks, the graphics suck and the music sucks. It's unbelievable how much you can screw up a game. If you ever, like me, were to think: "Hey, Mario could pull it offHow this abomination managed to get even one good review is beyond me. This is literally one of the worst games I have ever had the misfortune of playing. Everything about this game is ridiculously crappy. The combat system sucks, the graphics suck and the music sucks. It's unbelievable how much you can screw up a game. If you ever, like me, were to think: "Hey, Mario could pull it off with the RPG games so why not try Sonic Chronicles?" DO NOT TRY IT. It's absolutely horrible. There is literally not one good thing I have to say about this game. Expand
  8. Jul 5, 2013
    3
    I was hyped when I first heard about a Sonic RPG. I thought it would be pretty cool, especially since it was being made by Bioware. but I had NO IDEA it would come out in this form. the story is probably one of the worst in the Sonic series. it feels like Bioware wanted to take a really bad Sonic fan fiction and turn it into a game. Heck, I’ve read Sonic fan fictions that I thought wereI was hyped when I first heard about a Sonic RPG. I thought it would be pretty cool, especially since it was being made by Bioware. but I had NO IDEA it would come out in this form. the story is probably one of the worst in the Sonic series. it feels like Bioware wanted to take a really bad Sonic fan fiction and turn it into a game. Heck, I’ve read Sonic fan fictions that I thought were miles better than this plot. the gameplay is very bland in this title. you constantly have to use the stylus in the game and it feels unnatural for a Sonic game. the combat can be downright annoying at times. the way the combat In this game is handled is seriously terrible, as you can't really plan what to do. when an attack or defense command is hit, that character must do that for each remaining turn, where items and POW moves take up one slot at a time. this makes the game seriously unbalanced with gameplay. the graphics are terrible. the character models look really clustered up, and don't fit in well with a 2D environment. the soundtrack is the absolute worst in the series, and worst part about the game. each track sounds distorted and annoying, and sounds like a terrible collection of 16-bit music. Overall, what can I say about Sonic Chronicles- the story sounds like poorly written fan fiction, the gameplay is unbalanced and unnatural, and the soundtrack will want you to turn off the game. Expand
  9. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    The story was okay. I appreciate the option to choose responses and chao. I enjoy some of the humor including omega and meat bags. I probably laughed more than I should have. The idea of the making is pretty original. This game introduces Shade who I think should at least become a supporting character in future games or episodes of Sonic. Also, the cliffhanger got me pretty convinced thereThe story was okay. I appreciate the option to choose responses and chao. I enjoy some of the humor including omega and meat bags. I probably laughed more than I should have. The idea of the making is pretty original. This game introduces Shade who I think should at least become a supporting character in future games or episodes of Sonic. Also, the cliffhanger got me pretty convinced there was gonna be a sequel but sadly, there isn't, although if there was I would buy it. I've gotta admit, enemies can be really irritating. The games a bit too linear, resetting pow moves when replaying suck, and multiplayer options stink. Looking back, I don't know why I replayed the game so many times, but I guess I'll give them that. It was a decent rpg game. Though I wouldn't recommend it. There are better Sonic/rpg's out there. Expand
  10. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great!! I beat that game twice. Sonic and his friends must team up to defeat Ix. Ix steals Knuckles' Master Emerald. Ix also took away Angel Island. The team must search for Seven Chaos Emeralds so Sonic can defeat Ix. It has characters like Tails, Knuckles, Amy, Cream, Rogue, Shadow, Eggman, E-123 Omega, and Shade. I think this game is so much fun!!! They have POW moves which is so cool. Sonic defeats Ix with all Seven Chaos Emeralds. And Sonic has saved his world. And Tails was telling Sonic who made this game during the credits. And E-123 Omega did the rest and Sonic was fast asleep. I enjoyed this game very much!!! This Game Is Perfect!!! Expand
  11. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    I can't help but want to like this game. Note I said "want to like", but the truth is, this game really was a mixed bag for me. To keep it simple, I'll list the pros and cons that I believe hold the game back.
    Pros
    - Story and script. Whether canon or not, I don't care, but the story does have interesting moments and follows through with its narrative pretty fairly. Mind you, the premise
    I can't help but want to like this game. Note I said "want to like", but the truth is, this game really was a mixed bag for me. To keep it simple, I'll list the pros and cons that I believe hold the game back.
    Pros
    - Story and script. Whether canon or not, I don't care, but the story does have interesting moments and follows through with its narrative pretty fairly. Mind you, the premise is a bit hackneyed, but this is Sonic, tropes in the franchise have been to death, often by the desire of fans, so no big deal.
    - Art Style. At first, I wasn't too keen on the art style Sonic Chronicles had, but as I played, and eventually got into the later game acts, the design choices began to make more aesthetic sense to me. The character designs and backdrops were nicely rendered, and meshed well with the cartoony feel the game was going for.
    - Conversational Freedom. The fact that you could make Sonic reply to people's statements in either a passive, aggressive, sarcastic, or crass manner made me smile. And with BioWare aware of this trend in RPGs, I was glad it was implemented as it adds to the story, not to mention the interaction between the characters.
    - Characters. This includes enemies and NPCs. I enjoyed the fact there were a multitude of people to talk to, including other Sonic characters, such as GUN Commander and Vector.

    Cons
    - Sprite Textures. OMG were these things ugly. I mean, it'd be one thing to have used the models from Sonic R, which were simple polygons and well done for the hardware, or even to go full-on 2D sprites. First off, the models had this annoying charcoal grey outline that was, I guess, to look like a hard inked line seen in 2D artwork. Not to mention, the models were clunky and jarring. Simpler models or even 2D sprites would have sufficed.
    - Music. Central City theme and the battle music. Central City's theme, a detuned, broken down remix of Diamond Dust Zone for 3D Blast, was terrible in the sense it wasn't calming, it wasn't very town sounding, and seemed to be more fitting for an abandoned amusement park. The battle themes leave something to be desired, as much of them start to sound more and more similar as time goes on. Though the sound is very electronic and gritty, it almost feels as if there's no structure, no beat to get pumped for a fight. Now, not to try and compare it to Final Fantasy, but I will, which had the same intro for the first six games, all varied their own battle themes in some way or another so that they could be easily discernible from one another. It's not that I don't like that kind of music, as it seemed to have worked in the Adventure series, but it just doesn't feel right in the setting. Now in the chase scenes, it seemed more appropriate, but not in the battles, where so many are used to a driving bass riff to start off.
    - Platforming and QTEs. I'm sorry, but having to stop, tap the icon, and then perform the action just to reach a platform is ridiculous to me. But this wasn't just a flaw with Sonic Chronicles, many RPGs on the DS suffered this dilemma of relying on the touch screen for motion and platforming. Now if it were implemented well, then yeah, maybe, but no. It's jarring, it's ugly, and it just kills any pace any level of player has. Also, on a similar note, the quick-time events for battle, a nice idea, trying hard to utilize the concept Mario RPG started in 1995, but just falls short into aiding in delivering a enjoyable playing experience. How come? Because the actions become too complicated too quickly, and the fact it requires the utmost precision to perform, on a system damned for its imprecision. One pixel off, or two frames late, too bad, the action has failed. And thankfully, QTEs were only special attacks and chase scenes, because though I'd have liked to see Normal Attacks utilize QTEs for damage boosts, the way they were implemented here in Chronicles makes me glad they weren't.
    - Experience curve. Experience curve so sharp, even Castlevania Harmony of Dissonance is like, "Ouch." Instead of steadily diminishing with each level gained or just an increase in required EXP, what happens? After a level or two, an enemy that dropped 100 XP will then drop only 10 XP after the next level up. Understandably, there is a limited amount of levels to aspire to, but that doesn't mean there should be a sheer cliff or roller coaster ride with XP. Not to mention, most of the time you actually have to grind for a long while to just to increase a level, like an hour at some points.
    - Status Allocation. Not as loathed as some of the other cons, but still a negative feature overall, mostly just because it's poorly utilized. Even though the points are defined as to what they improve, the flexibility to improve a character in a general direction and terms are not accurate as to what they actually are. Your attack, defense, and special are improved automatically, and what you improve is your accuracy, evasion, and luck. RPGs are should be flexible. Period.
    Expand
  12. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    This was a very good game. It was worth every cent. That being said, it was a good move on SEGA and BIOWARE for a lot of people such as myself who are in love with both Sonic as a character and RPGs in general such as Skyrim. Putting the mix into a small cheap handheld gaming console that has very poor graphics and gameplay and adding more story rather than gameplay to it. The fact thatThis was a very good game. It was worth every cent. That being said, it was a good move on SEGA and BIOWARE for a lot of people such as myself who are in love with both Sonic as a character and RPGs in general such as Skyrim. Putting the mix into a small cheap handheld gaming console that has very poor graphics and gameplay and adding more story rather than gameplay to it. The fact that you can now choose what Sonic says to his fellow friends or foes in the game just makes it joyous. I would love SEGA to look back on this and think about a Sonic RPG should they release games out to Next Gen consoles. Of course that and platforming. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. At last, Sonic discovers the RPG games world in a title which disguises the blue hedgehog's universe with some of the best BioWare features. The result is probably one of the best Sonic videogames of the last years and an inevitable purchase for the fans.
  2. Sonic Chronicles is undeniably a nice-looking game, and its slick presentation makes for an enticing experience to begin with. The longer you play, however, the more the cracks start to show, and what seemed like a potential minor classic is soon reduced to just "pretty good".
  3. Sonic Chronicles may annoy you at times, but it certainly won't ever bore you. [Nov 2008, p.96]