• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 2, 2010
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    Sonic Classic Collection is an excellent collection for the Nintendo DS featuring some of the best sonic games out there, all in one collection. While some of the games features some really strange glitches where your character may suddenly disappear from the screen, they don't happen too often. But the best addition to this collection is the ability to save your progress for the first time in sonic the hedgehog 1 and 2, which makes this version superior to the iphone version of the game. Plus it also includes knuckles playable on both sonic the hedgehog 2 and 3. And a couple of extra illustrations in the game for you to see. If you already own this collection in perhaps Sonic Mega Collection, but you still want to play this game on the go, then this is definitely the title for you. And for only 20 dollars, you get an excellent deal! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2010
    5
    A decent compilation of Sonic the Hedgehog's retro adventures but be aware of audio, graphical, lag and collision detection problems that will show up rather frequently during game play. Some new features have been added such as the ability to save and load files in Sonic the Hedgehog games that originally did not support saving along with a story summary page and a How to Play page for each game. Some features have also been removed such at the ability to use certain cheats or access the options menus for some games. The ability to play multiplayer modes, the competition mini game in Sonic the Hedgehog 3 and Sonic the Hedgehog 3 & Knuckles, and Tails alone in Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is also lost.

    Some issues this game suffers from include some slowdowns and lag, minor graphical and audio issues, some problems with collision detection and a annoying camera when the screen locks.

    Bonus content in this collection is very limited, this consists of a feature to navigate the main menus in English, French and Spanish, a very small collection of bonus art and a credits screen.

    It is overall a decent collection but it feels rather rushed as some problems still look like they need to be ironed out.
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    3
    Sega made a grown man cry with this one. I was a fanboy back during the bit-wars and these were my favorite games for a long time. I don't care that there isn't any new content, and frankly, it doesn't need it. What I care about is that an effort to actually convert the games is absent. A script here, touch screen controls there, a menu or two, a copy of the rom files for each and an emulator. You can't even really call it a port because they didn't actually bother to convert the game data to the new system at all. They just slapped an interface over an emulator. An emulator simply unequipped to do these great old games any justice whatsoever. An emulator that could not be configured to actually let the start button be the pause button. An emulator that can't keep up with Sonic to the point of killing him in some of the fastest parts. An emulator that somehow lost all the nuances of control that the games had in their original form, turning them from slick and fun to clunky and awkward. They didn't even bother to go through the game data and attempt to convert it to the NDS's different vertical resolution, giving the game-play a squashed, distorted look that is always. If they'd just set the emulator to crop things a bit from the top and bottom, that might have been excused. It's painfully clear Sega just shoved them into a box that doesn't quite fit them, so there's little wonder why they came out wrinkled, though mangled feels closer to being the right word for me. I love the games, but they're not what I'm rating here. Do it right, Sega, or just don't do it. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    I love this game! It may just be an emulation running on the DS, but man alive... I enjoyed playing classic Sonic on the train and at work. I played and finished all four of the main games. I loved every moment. I could mention certain small blemishes like the occasional frame-rate dips, the odd graphical glitch here and there or the fact that the Sonic 3 mini-boss music is absent... But all that is is rendered absolutely redundant in the face of how much fun I have had playing the thing. Who would have thought back in the day that all those old Mega Drive games could fit on something the size of a coin? Wonderful stuff! Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    If your a fan of the classic Sonic games 1-3 & Knuckles then you'll love this.It's a nice port of these games to the DS that you are able to take with you with the very welcome edition of a save feature for the first 2 games that you can't get on the originals. There's some slow down and graphical glitches on this one but overall nothing really game breaking as far as i can tell. For Sonic fans with a DS or 3DS it's a must buy or if you've never played these games before and have a DS or 3DS it's a great way to do so Collapse
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    6
    Sonic Classic collection has been critisized by many just due to the lack of extras but really, if you're a fan then all you really care about is the games included and the quality of the ports. In that aspect my score has nothing to do with the lack of bonus content; Rather my complaint is in the quality of the ports. While none of the ports are horrible or broken some of them, mainly sonic 1 and 2 do suffer from some framerate issues that can be quite bothersome as well as sound inconsistant audio quality only when playing the first two titles. However the games are still fun and are by no means ruined by these issues, there have been far worse ports (see Sonic The Hedgehog Genesis for GBA). All in all the games are still playable but you always get the feeling that they should be better if you were playing on a console. Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles came through better, the same issues are present, but not as frequent as the other two. All in all. There are plenty of better ways to experience these games whether it be on a Genesis/Megadrive system or even in a plethora of console ports accross the last two gens of systems. However, if you really want to play these games on the go, you may just want to look into this fun yet flawed package. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    theres NO TENS NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    it NEEEEEEEEEDDDDDDDSSS A TENNNN SOMEWHERE....
    ITS ****** PERFECT EXCEPT FOR THE FACT ITS A PORT...


    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO


    97%!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    If your a fan of the classic Sonic games 1-3 & Knuckles then you'll love this.It's a nice port of these games to the DS that you are able to take with you with the very welcome edition of a save feature for the first 2 games that you can't get on the originals. There's some slow down and graphical glitches on this one but overall nothing really game breaking as far as i can tell. For Sonic fans with a DS or 3DS it's a must buy or if you've never played these games before and have a DS or 3DS it's a great way to do so Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 27, 2010
    75
    Worth for those that want to remember the classics or for those that don't know them.
  2. 70
    Sonic Classic Collection is a good, but flawed compilation for the Nintendo DS that just screams "small budget, short development cycle!" It is what it is: four great Sonic games accurately ported to a half-assed compilation.
  3. It's not a great port and we'd have liked more content, but the quality gameplay shines through.