• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors worth the play and only adds to the great library of DS.
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colours is truly a highlight of this year's DS releases, and a much-demanded return to form for Sonic. The quick-fire nature means it's perfect for its hand-held platform, and if you're only going to pick up one Sonic title this year, Sonic Colours DS is definitely your best bet.
  3. Feb 2, 2011
    86
    If you have enjoyed previous Sonic games but were hesitant to pick this one up because of the most recent Sonic outings, worry no more. Sonic Colors is worth the price of admission.
  4. Jan 9, 2011
    85
    A great leap forward for the Sonic experience on DS, funny and long lasting.
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    Sorry to the purists, but this is the kind of Sonic we would like to see ever. Challenging, clever and amazingly fast, where the levels always hide new routes to discover, and every boss is original and never dull. The Wisps allow you to replay every stage in a different way, while two friends can compete face-to-face in the Versus mode, both local and through Wi-Fi Connection. The single-player campaign is pretty short , but you will never have the chance to get bored. In short, if you have been disappointed by Sonic 4 Episode 1, and you are not skeptical about a less platform experience, you really can't miss what is the true return of Sonic.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    85
    Sonic Colours on Nintendo DS is as good as its big brother on Wii. It's a fun, speedy and charming adventure, with many things to do and great boss fights. The Wisps are the greatest adition to the franchise to date, as the powers they grant Sonic make all the gameplay even more addictive and unforgettable.
  7. Nov 15, 2010
    85
    Sonic Colors DS is the best Sonic game released this year. Easily.
  8. If not a return to form for Sonic on DS, then it maintains the series' high handheld form.
  9. Nov 9, 2010
    85
    If you're craving more after Sonic 4, looking for a great DS game, or just want to experience an awesome platformer, don't let Sonic Colors pass you by.
  10. Nov 8, 2010
    85
    Sonic Colors is undoubtedly the best portable Sonic game I've ever played, and may even be my favorite entry in the franchise.
  11. Nov 23, 2010
    84
    Colors is for sure the best Sonic game released for DS.
  12. Jan 17, 2011
    80
    Sonic Colors for DS enjoy as the Wii's version. Inheriting many of the mechanical from Sonic Rush and enriched it with the super powers received by the Wisps, this chapter respects the tradition and updates it painlessly.
  13. Dec 22, 2010
    80
    Colours is fast, frenetic fun with enough challenge to satisfy the hardcore crowd baying for a decent new Sonic game.
  14. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    The quality of the platforming is hard to fault, however.
  15. Nov 22, 2010
    80
    A great portable Sonic game, with classic side-scrolling action, nifty new abilities, and a fun Versus mode.
  16. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    It's fast, loud, bright and bold, and a recommended slice of high speed action.
  17. Nov 9, 2010
    79
    Overall, the DS version of Sonic Colors is certainly better executed than its counterpart on the Wii. If you're looking for a portable platformer, you could certainly do a lot worse.
  18. Jan 10, 2011
    78
    It's true that Sonic Colors is an imperfect game, plagued by dull boss battles and uneven difficulty, but it's still an enjoyable DS title with enough similarities to 16-bit Sonic games to keep both old and new fans of the franchise entertained.
  19. Jan 1, 2011
    77
    Sonic Color's is a short game, but it is a fun one, and it feels close enough to classic Sonic to merit a recommendation for those looking to relive the Genesis classic.
  20. Nintendo Power
    Oct 22, 2010
    75
    Offers sharply diminishing returns after the first day or two of play. At least you'll enjoy the heck out of it while it lasts. [Dec 2010, p.81]

Awards & Rankings

15
6
#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
22
#22 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 72
  2. Negative: 8 out of 72
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    6
    I wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed byI wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed by the Wii version. So I played it for a bit, and all I can say is, "Sonic is back". The game play is so fast and fluid, yet I did not experience any lag while playing, unlike Sonic Rush. The music is also great, it brings back feelings of the old Genesis games, while still staying fresh and new. Speaking of Fresh and new, the levels are much more varied this time. I won't spoil anything, but let's just say, it's awesome. The one thing that kills it though, are the boss battles. The boss battles for me are disappointingly generic and bland. Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    FORGET E CRITICS AND LISTEN CAREFULLY. The dark age of Sonic The Hedgehog has been very long sadly. With Shadow The Hedgehog, 06, Labyrinth,FORGET E CRITICS AND LISTEN CAREFULLY. The dark age of Sonic The Hedgehog has been very long sadly. With Shadow The Hedgehog, 06, Labyrinth, Chronicles which at best was half decent, but then they released unleashed which kind of brought the series, but critics nitpicked at the "Boring" wolf sections. That game KIND OF saved the series, but in 2010, I saw the trailer, and since I don't have a Wii, which got very positive ratings, I got the DS version, and I loved every Sonic-Second of it. EVERYTHING from the beautiful intro, the gameplay, story, speed, humor, audio, it's AMAZING! This game is so good that it brought the Sonic series back! And Sonic hasn't had a bad game since! Except for the 3ds version of lost world, which at WORST, was pretty, mixed. I just didn't like frozen factory, and Sonic 4 I actually liked. Don't listen to the bad reviews on here and buy the game. And if there's ever a day when your feeling bored, depressed, or just overall down in the dumps, get your Wii or DS, plug in this game, and reach for the stars. :) Full Review »
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    4
    Sonic Colors is an enjoyable game until that first gameover screen pops up. You get to go ludicrously fast until you realize that having funSonic Colors is an enjoyable game until that first gameover screen pops up. You get to go ludicrously fast until you realize that having fun is incompatible with the game's difficulty , mostly boosted by the never-ending memorization and cheap death scenarios. Ugh. Full Review »