Sonic Colors DS

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    Fans will still find a few surprises this time around, including a form of multiplayer support available from a single DS card, but it's in the colour-based wisp abilities that the game tries to stand out from the crowd.
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    70
    With such a gameplay on DS, Sonic Colours could have used some more content.
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    60
    Its entertainment is short-lived, but only because the game itself is short. Although there is replay value in exploring the levels to their entirety, and completing the missions and multiplayer offer a few more hours entertainment, Sonic Colours is ultimately unsatisfying.
  4. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    Sonic Colours offers some good times and the Wisps are an interesting alternative to simply running, but it's over in a second and feels like there's a lot that could've been expanded on.
  5. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 25, 2010
    71
    Fast paced but maybe too much so. Mastery will require psychic powers or a great memory. [Issue#56, p.61]
  6. 60
    Despite the good presentation and fun aspects of the game, the underlying poor design dirties up the game.

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
#12 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    6
    I wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed byI wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed by the Wii version. So I played it for a bit, and all I can say is, "Sonic is back". The game play is so fast and fluid, yet I did not experience any lag while playing, unlike Sonic Rush. The music is also great, it brings back feelings of the old Genesis games, while still staying fresh and new. Speaking of Fresh and new, the levels are much more varied this time. I won't spoil anything, but let's just say, it's awesome. The one thing that kills it though, are the boss battles. The boss battles for me are disappointingly generic and bland. Full Review »
  2. Dec 27, 2010
    4
    Sonic Colors is an enjoyable game until that first gameover screen pops up. You get to go ludicrously fast until you realize that having funSonic Colors is an enjoyable game until that first gameover screen pops up. You get to go ludicrously fast until you realize that having fun is incompatible with the game's difficulty , mostly boosted by the never-ending memorization and cheap death scenarios. Ugh. Full Review »
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    It's a very good Sonic game. Better than Sonic Rush, but it appears five years later. It's only a little step forward.

    HARDCORE FANS
    It's a very good Sonic game. Better than Sonic Rush, but it appears five years later. It's only a little step forward.

    HARDCORE FANS ADVISORY: IT'S NOT A CLASSIC SONIC.
    Full Review »