Sonic Colors DS

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 68
  2. Negative: 7 out of 68
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    The problem with Sonic Rush and Sonic games is that it's too fast for its own good. The reason that Mario was better than Sonic was there was finesse with Mario over Sonic's hyperspeed.
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    It lacks the real "Sonic Feel" from his days of glory, but is nevertheless a solid platformer.

    If you like Sonic games, this one is fun and atleast lets you play with our favorite blue hedgehog. But the flaws are simply the feel of the game, and its more of a "speed runner" rather than platformer, which was the biggest strength of the original Sonic games for the SEGA Genesis. 6
    It lacks the real "Sonic Feel" from his days of glory, but is nevertheless a solid platformer.

    If you like Sonic games, this one is fun and atleast lets you play with our favorite blue hedgehog.

    But the flaws are simply the feel of the game, and its more of a "speed runner" rather than platformer, which was the biggest strength of the original Sonic games for the SEGA Genesis.

    6 out of 10 however.
    Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    7
    I got Sonic Colors as a gift, and the game is nothing short of a dissappiontment. Sadly, all of the other critics out there are totally wrong about this game. Its not the best Sonic game to come out in years, but it DOES manage to be a better game then Sonic 06. First of, lets talk about speed people. This game is, indeed, a fast Sonic game, as a sonic game should be. But unlike theI got Sonic Colors as a gift, and the game is nothing short of a dissappiontment. Sadly, all of the other critics out there are totally wrong about this game. Its not the best Sonic game to come out in years, but it DOES manage to be a better game then Sonic 06. First of, lets talk about speed people. This game is, indeed, a fast Sonic game, as a sonic game should be. But unlike the daytime stages of Sonic Unleashed, nothing feels spectacular or special about this speed. I just didn't get that feeling of adreniline. The only direction you'll be going in this game is right. You'll be holding down right the whole way through. The game just holds your hand frokm point A to point B. Regular stages are as simple as simple can be. As you progress through the game, you'll receive more wisps and powers to use whenever you find one. But going back to another level just to see what else it offers has little reward. You will get to find some sort of red star, but you need to find all of them through the whole game if you want to get a cheat for unlimited boost. By that time, you've probably already beat the game, and there is no purpose in going back. If you do get a wisp power to explore another area in the game, it will lead you on the same destinated path if you never found the wisp in mere seconds. This completely eliminates the joy of exploration in Sonic Colors. But however, what IS good about this game are the missions that appear throughout the game, 3 in each world. All of these are excelently designed. Instead of having a simple goal as just point A-to-B traveling, It will give you an objective, like get a certain amount of rings, clear the stage in a certain amount of time while collecting boxes the give you more time, defeating enemies, etc. Now I know what you're thinking: "Wait, if you don't like the levels to begin with, then why do you like them if they just give you an objective?" Remeber, adrenaline rush is absent in the regular levels. But these actually have challenge. You need to do the mission orderly well to pass. Its not terribly difficult, and you can pass it with effort. Its a terrific difficulty curve that this game needs. The missions are the only spots in the game that feature any real challenge, all the rest are just boost boost boost and win win win. The boss battles are great, but are still pretty easy. I felt like I had to challenge myself just to make it fun, which IU shouldn't have to do. The boss fights in which you are chasing after a ship are the best boss fights ever in a sonic game that I never thought I would be playing. The length of the game is fairly short. The level design is actually pretty good and fun, but you zoom by it so fast, its hard to recognize it. Sweet Mountain is tremendoulsy boring and irritating. The fireball wisp is incredinly hard to control, and the music in the stage is just plain horrible, and the boss fight is completely cliche'. But the missions with Blaze and Silver are fun. After you beat the game for the first time, theres no reason to pick it up again, unless you decide to try and get all S rank, but guess what? There's no expert mode this time around. Usually, whenever you get all S rank, there is an expert mode to pplay, but you don't get it this time. The two final boss fights aren't anything special. Sure, they might have SOME fun, like Sonic in Super Sonic form charging at Mother Wisp while avoiding red balls of fire. But The Terminal boss fight is nothing special. It goes by way to fast for a final battle and it is simple. Too simple. The special stages aren't anything special either. They are simple as well. Collect the orbs...sigh... Other Sonic games have you runnig through loops and have you having so much fun doing the platforming in the middle of the game while getting to the end. But in Sonic Colors, getting to the end is the entire point!!!! It goes by way too fast, and it is just a hold-down-right-and-hold-down-the-boost-button fest that lacks anything truly rewarding. You will have some fun times running around SOMETIMES, like when a dinasaur head is after you, but you can't survive without the boost. I can describe Sonic Colors 3 words: Right, Boost, Repeat. The missions and bosses are fun, and the music is impressive (ecept for Sweet Montain), and Sonic is fast for once, but in this case, that isn't very good. This game took me about 8 hours to beat. If you take your time and not boost a lot, you'll have more fun, but this will usually lead to sections when SEGA thought you were going to boost, and you just run into enemies going down that ramp. It's not comp[letely awful, in fact, the speed somtimes works, but this is only in the begginning. When you've gotten used to it, extra wisps will only worsen the experience. If you just want a game that will kill 6-8 hours, then you should give this a try. It's not pain ful, it's just too simple. Everyone else should pick up a Genesis game. Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2015
    5
    It really doesn't deserve the Colors name, or even the praise it's received. I understand why many people were naturally biased against a 3D Sonic game, but ranking THIS short lived and almost midless "platformer" is just... wrong.
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    6
    I wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed by the Wii version. So I played it for a bit, and all I can say is, "Sonic is back". The game play is so fast and fluid, yet I did not experience any lag while playing, unlike Sonic Rush. The music is also great, it brings back feelings of the old GenesisI wasn't eager to play this game, since I was disappointed with Sonic Rush and its sequel, but I picked it up anyway, since I was amazed by the Wii version. So I played it for a bit, and all I can say is, "Sonic is back". The game play is so fast and fluid, yet I did not experience any lag while playing, unlike Sonic Rush. The music is also great, it brings back feelings of the old Genesis games, while still staying fresh and new. Speaking of Fresh and new, the levels are much more varied this time. I won't spoil anything, but let's just say, it's awesome. The one thing that kills it though, are the boss battles. The boss battles for me are disappointingly generic and bland. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
#18 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Feb 2, 2011
    86
    If you have enjoyed previous Sonic games but were hesitant to pick this one up because of the most recent Sonic outings, worry no more. Sonic Colors is worth the price of admission.
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    80
    Sonic Colors for DS enjoy as the Wii's version. Inheriting many of the mechanical from Sonic Rush and enriched it with the super powers received by the Wisps, this chapter respects the tradition and updates it painlessly.
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    78
    It's true that Sonic Colors is an imperfect game, plagued by dull boss battles and uneven difficulty, but it's still an enjoyable DS title with enough similarities to 16-bit Sonic games to keep both old and new fans of the franchise entertained.