• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. New and old interwoven, Sonic Rush Adventure is a shining example of what a sequel can and should be.
  2. A consummate Sonic experience, reminding us exactly why the blue blur was great in the first place - plus, it's got tons of replay value tucked inside. [Oct 2007, p.84]
  3. Like a gift that never stops giving, Sonic Rush Adventure is chock-full of content that never gets dull.
  4. Sonic's become somthing of a message-board whipping boy these days, but Sonic Rush Adventure proves that the ol' hedgehog can still deliver a top-notch platformer. [Nov 2007, p.100]
  5. 90
    It's great to see Dimps and Sonic Team really hit the bull's-eye. The classic Sonic games stand among the best 2D platformers ever, and it's been difficult to see the franchise lose much of its former glory.
  6. It's far from a perfect package, but whether you're a veteran who remembers the series' heyday back on the Sega Genesis or a newbie looking to dip your feet into the series, you won't be disappointed with Sonic Rush Adventure.
  7. A reminder why Sonic has lasted 16 years. Fast, frantic and, most importantly, fun. [Oct 2007, p.71]
  8. Overall, I thought this game was an excellent representation of a series that has a sacred place in the heart of many a gamer.
  9. True to form Sonic Team gets the action just right on the DS. [Oct 2007, p.98]
  10. The main mode of the game is a little short, and some poor game structure choices dampen the playability a bit, but that doesn’t erase the fact that the game includes some of the best platforming experiences available.
  11. A great platformer and one of the best Sonic games in side scrolling. Along with Wii’s The Secret Rings it’s probably enough to dislodge Sonic the Hedgehog for the 360 and PS3 from our memory. [Nov 2007]
  12. 85
    Another great aspect of the game was its length: while there are only seven islands in total, there is a surprising amount of content that is unlocked. The graphics are also excellent as are the designs and layouts of the various levels.
  13. Once you’ve got to grips with your stylus as Sonic manfully sends plumes of salty white foam splashing over the hot pussy pressed against you, you’ll forget the MegaDrive even existed [naughty, naughty – Ed]. For a while, at least.
  14. While Sonic Rush Adventure has some tedious rough edges to it, it's definitely a true blue Sonic experience to be had on the Nintendo DS.
  15. All in all, a bit of a must-have.
  16. While the game is not a massive departure from Sonic Adventure, and at £30 it's a tad expensive for the play-time you get, if you're new to the series on DS or love all things Sonic, we heartily recommend it. One of the best games on the system.
  17. Fun and furious, whether in terms of 2D platforming or 3D mini-gaming, Sonic Rush Adventure proves you can teach an old hedgehog new tricks.
  18. The music disappoints and the new characters lack that certain Sonic Team charm, but they don't slow down an otherwise very fulfilling adventure.
  19. 80
    Sonic Rush Adventure is an improved and worthy sequel to Sonic Rush, definitely the game to get if you haven't already made the leap with the original title.
  20. The extra bells and whistles that Sonic Rush Adventure add to the formula might not equate to much of an overall improvement, and the game might not have as much impact as its predecessor, but this is still a mighty-fine platformer that is guaranteed to satisfy Sonic fans.
  21. 80
    Another solid DS game starring the little blue hedgehog, and will likely count as one of the only reasons series fans won’t write off Sonic and his friends anytime soon.
  22. 80
    Overall, though, it's still a step in the right direction for the 'hog, especially considering where he's been lulling over the past couple of years.
  23. 75
    The most obvious addition was the addition of dual screens and polygonal graphical elements. But the "tension meter," which built as players performed one-button aerial tricks and allowed bursts of even greater speed, is what really made the game so exhilarating.
  24. 75
    Sonic Rush Adventure is in many ways an improvement over its predecessor, but an ill-conceived plot, annoying new characters and an awful lot of repetition hold it back from being truly great.
  25. Multiplayer now includes online play, but most people will probably focus on bettering their online time trial rankings.
  26. Sonic Rush Adventure more or less hits all the notes we’ve come to expect in a good Sonic game. It stays largely in safe, familiar territory, which is not necessarily a bad thing.
  27. Like these guys say, the standard Sonic action is easily the main draw, especially when it gets more challenging--and satisfying--toward the end. [Oct 2007, p.102]
  28. This isn't as mind-spinningly enjoyable as we hoped. [Nov 2007, p.54]
  29. While the standard levels are classic fast-paced Sonic action, some of the standard adventure mode elements are a mixed bag. The game is over too soon and the game is to fragmented.
  30. Often dwarfing the key action, these minigames are a manifestation of a series that’s been unrecognisably perverted from its original purpose, flashes of brilliance or speed only serving as a reminder of what has been lost. [Nov 2007, p.99]
  31. A Sonic game struggling for its own identity. [Nov 2007, p.108]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. nam1018
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Better than the first.
  2. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    It's a geniunely good game. Good, not great, like every Sonic game. The controls are a little sloppy, the level design is also. The story isIt's a geniunely good game. Good, not great, like every Sonic game. The controls are a little sloppy, the level design is also. The story is confusing, and unnessesary. Full Review »
  3. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    After Sonic Adventure I kind of fell in love with modern sonic and the whole 3d + great graphics + even more speed as well. Not to say I dontAfter Sonic Adventure I kind of fell in love with modern sonic and the whole 3d + great graphics + even more speed as well. Not to say I dont like the classical sonic, im a fan. So I bought this game not expecting much before a long train trip in Japan. It did impress me... the trip went by quickly cause it is indeed fun! I like the modern feeling they give to 2D portable sonic games nowadays and this is one of the best examples. Simply put: If you like sonic, you will like this game. If you are one of the gamers that USED to like Sonic, you will like this game as well. If you hate sonic... well.. I wouldnt bother. For me, though....Best surprise Ive ever had because I always think and search for info regarding games before I buy and this one I just picked up and had a lot of fun! Made me play sonic games again! Full Review »