• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkK.
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    An improvment over Sonic's previous DS outing, and just the type of gameplay that fans demand of rather then the trash offered by Shadow's guns. It makes more use of the touch screen and sailing across the ocean world certainly works well. It's still as fast and frantic as ever, but my only complaint is that you still only play as Sonic and Blaze. Prehaps if you got to play An improvment over Sonic's previous DS outing, and just the type of gameplay that fans demand of rather then the trash offered by Shadow's guns. It makes more use of the touch screen and sailing across the ocean world certainly works well. It's still as fast and frantic as ever, but my only complaint is that you still only play as Sonic and Blaze. Prehaps if you got to play as Tails, Knuckels or even the new Marine it would offer a bit more. Expand
  2. JoshR.
    Sep 23, 2007
    8
    While not phenomeonal, it is a large improvement over the last few years of Sonic games and will please anyone who wants that retro feel.
  3. DackC.
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    The hype and spree of critical praise that briefly enshrouded Sonic Rush seemed not so much to do with its gameplay than with its breaking the chain of stale mediocrity that had bogged down the series for about the past half-decade. This feat, in retrospect, was far more impressive (Let's face facts; Shadow had a gun, for Christ's sake), but the truth is the game was simply The hype and spree of critical praise that briefly enshrouded Sonic Rush seemed not so much to do with its gameplay than with its breaking the chain of stale mediocrity that had bogged down the series for about the past half-decade. This feat, in retrospect, was far more impressive (Let's face facts; Shadow had a gun, for Christ's sake), but the truth is the game was simply decent to the Advance series' tepid. Its flaws were still there; in its buzzkill enemy placement, lackluster bosses, and of course, the abundance of bottomless pits. But some more-inspired level design, Hideki Naganuma-penned music, and higher bracket of half-baked plot helped the game feel a whole lot fresher than the shallow GBA trilogy. Well, Sonic Rush Adventure capitalizes on that freshness. In fact, it smacks the nail so square on the head that it really feels like the kind of game that should be made on the DS, instead of a lazy Genesis-glory-day-chase. Someone at either Sega or Dimps did their homework on those 90's titles and came out merely with enough inspiration to patch up the leaky spots of Rush. The result is an honest-to-God sequel. Anything and everything you liked about Rush's gameplay is in here, only difference is whatever rubbed you the wrong way is probably gone as well. Each and every one of the bosses (barring the first) is a delicious challenge because of the strategy required, (instead of the maddening necessity to avoid cheap auto-kill hits); the badniks are in the right spots (and much more interesting-looking than all that Egg Pawn inanity); and somehow surviving the plothole nexus of Sonic 360, Blaze reprises her role as the lone playable alternative, but save for some Sol Emerald boss-replay challenges, she's purely optional this time out. Meaning you only have to play the same game once this time. Sure, it's probably beginning to sound like a showcase of improvement, but if Rush Adventure has one fault, it's a refusal to say when. To pad out the skimpy seven-zone playtime, you have to access these levels by setting sail and steering some kind of vessel to each one. You'll start with a fun (but short-range) jet-ski and expand to a set of larger-range ships that seem to exist only to make you miss the jet-ski enough to not mind it's also the meat and potatoes of the special stages. It can be tedious Expand
  4. nam1018
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Better than the first.
  5. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    After Sonic Adventure I kind of fell in love with modern sonic and the whole 3d + great graphics + even more speed as well. Not to say I dont like the classical sonic, im a fan. So I bought this game not expecting much before a long train trip in Japan. It did impress me... the trip went by quickly cause it is indeed fun! I like the modern feeling they give to 2D portable sonic gamesAfter Sonic Adventure I kind of fell in love with modern sonic and the whole 3d + great graphics + even more speed as well. Not to say I dont like the classical sonic, im a fan. So I bought this game not expecting much before a long train trip in Japan. It did impress me... the trip went by quickly cause it is indeed fun! I like the modern feeling they give to 2D portable sonic games nowadays and this is one of the best examples. Simply put: If you like sonic, you will like this game. If you are one of the gamers that USED to like Sonic, you will like this game as well. If you hate sonic... well.. I wouldnt bother. For me, though....Best surprise Ive ever had because I always think and search for info regarding games before I buy and this one I just picked up and had a lot of fun! Made me play sonic games again! Expand
  6. May 2, 2012
    10
    Way better than sonic rush that explains it all.
  7. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    It meddles with the fast pace of the first by forcing you on a ship with some rhythm games. It's got a lot of filler, and it's still short.

    However, it has some improvements to Sonic Rush, and provides a great sense of speed. However, I couldn't fall in love with it, like the first one. Perhaps it was Marine that really did this game in, along with the useless locals.
  8. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    This is the second time I have played through the game, and I can say really good things about it!

    Story: The story is a continuation of the original Sonic rush albeit tropical island themed this time around. Sonic and Tails meet up with this racoon named Marine and a whole new venture starts from there! You will see a few familiar faces along the way, but the game does boast quite a
    This is the second time I have played through the game, and I can say really good things about it!

    Story: The story is a continuation of the original Sonic rush albeit tropical island themed this time around. Sonic and Tails meet up with this racoon named Marine and a whole new venture starts from there! You will see a few familiar faces along the way, but the game does boast quite a few new characters!

    Graphics: This game looks very good for a DS game. Sonic and Blaze are full 3D models while everything else is 2D sprites. Just like the first game, this setup works very well; the colorfulness of some areas are baffling! Some cut scenes are full rendered while some are static character portraits. They both look very good, and keep the story moving along at a nice pace.

    Sound: Probably the best part of the game. Everything sounds WONDERFUL from the level themes, to the main hub world theme. Sound effects sound great; like Sonic destroying an enemy or his boost, and all these sounds keep you immersed in the game, and really makes you WANT to keep playing. I would highly recommend looking up the soundtrack for this game!

    Gameplay: This game plays GREAT! It plays like an old Sonic game from the genesis days, albeit the physics are a little off in comparison. This was probably due to the fact that they wanted to keep speed in the game in emphasis (It is called Sonic Rush lol). The boost mechanic returns from Sonic Rush, and it works just as well as it did in that game. The level design is built around using it strategically, so if anyone says "Boost to win" That is not a proper argument here. The only thing that is a complaint is that they have added vehicles sections to the game. They really are not bad at all, but they do cut into the actually meat of the game towards the end. The saving grace of the vehicles sections is that they control good, and are fun to play.

    Replay Value: This game is very repayable. With the ranking system, missions, and material gathering; there is PLENTY to do in this game! After finishing the main story, there is plenty more content to get your hands on! See if you can get all S ranks! That will prove that you mastered the game!

    As you can see, the game is very good, the only thing that keeps it from a perfect score would be vehicle sections popping up a bit too much, and material gathering during the story can be a little bit of a downer (Though playing through levels again is good way to practice for the S rank). So, I would give this game a very strong recommendation!
    Expand
  9. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    This game is spectacular ‼️ the music is good for a Ds game, not to serious or to dum, fun missions , good story, etc. Sonic rush adventure is a game worth money
  10. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    Sonic Rush Adventure follows Sonic after Sonic Rush, in which Tails and Sonic are pulled into a tornado, and into the Soul dimension, an alternate version of Sonics world, consisting of 12 hidden islands, and 8 level areas. In order from Plant Island, Machine labyrinth, Coral Cave, Haunted ship, Blizzard peeks, Sky Babylon, Pirates island, and Big swell. The plot of the game is that anSonic Rush Adventure follows Sonic after Sonic Rush, in which Tails and Sonic are pulled into a tornado, and into the Soul dimension, an alternate version of Sonics world, consisting of 12 hidden islands, and 8 level areas. In order from Plant Island, Machine labyrinth, Coral Cave, Haunted ship, Blizzard peeks, Sky Babylon, Pirates island, and Big swell. The plot of the game is that an eggman robot look alike named whisker and his companions mini, mum, and Jhonny have risen Coral Cave to steal the jeweled scepter to obtain the power of the stars, immense power that ensures the existence of parallel worlds. Its up to Blaze and Sonic to find the chaos, and sol emeralds to stop Whiskers plan. Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2015
    9
    Although the plot is a bit too detailed for my liking, this game counters that with fun gameplay, good graphics, and decent music (although not as catchy as Colors's). There are a lot of missions, and the boss battles are creative and not too easy. The boost formula is neat, and tricks are very satisfying. But this game has some problems. The first is the sea element. The 4 minigames youAlthough the plot is a bit too detailed for my liking, this game counters that with fun gameplay, good graphics, and decent music (although not as catchy as Colors's). There are a lot of missions, and the boss battles are creative and not too easy. The boost formula is neat, and tricks are very satisfying. But this game has some problems. The first is the sea element. The 4 minigames you play to travel to different islands/zones felt kind of unnecessary, and it gets repetitive if you plan to find all of the islands. Another issue is the R button, which is needed to get to some pathways. Why not map this to the X button? The game never uses X in-game. Rolling into a ball, even on slopes, normally slows me down if I've been boosting, and the level design usually only contains one or two pathways. You have to be good if you plan to 100% complete this game, and sometimes that requires me to be persistent and patient, two qualities a kid likely won't want to use in a video game. But that doesn't stop me from reccomending this game, and it honestly is entertaining. As a Sonic fan? Try it out. As a casual gamer? Start with another Sonic game. As a Sonic hater? No. As a Sonic fan who despises every game other than the classics? Try it out. This is a game that will be best enjoyed if you are familiar with the franchise, but it is good fun overall. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Like these guys say, the standard Sonic action is easily the main draw, especially when it gets more challenging--and satisfying--toward the end. [Oct 2007, p.102]
  2. A reminder why Sonic has lasted 16 years. Fast, frantic and, most importantly, fun. [Oct 2007, p.71]
  3. A consummate Sonic experience, reminding us exactly why the blue blur was great in the first place - plus, it's got tons of replay value tucked inside. [Oct 2007, p.84]