Sonic Rush Adventure DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Rush Adventure Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic returns to the DS with all the classic 2D dual screen action of "Sonic Rush," as well as a new high-seas adventure where he clashes with ruthless pirates. As Sonic, set off from Windmill Village to explore seven islands for action-packed adventures spread across a large map. As youSonic returns to the DS with all the classic 2D dual screen action of "Sonic Rush," as well as a new high-seas adventure where he clashes with ruthless pirates. As Sonic, set off from Windmill Village to explore seven islands for action-packed adventures spread across a large map. As you venture, you'll uncover valuable items and materials that will help Tails build new ships so that Sonic can track down the villainous pirates in a variety of ways. With a fleet of up to five ships, including a submarine, water bike, and hovercraft, you will use the touch screen technology in exciting new ways to control your ships as you race across the ocean gathering rings, busting tricks, and torching pirate ships in fierce ship-to-ship battles. At the end of each level, test your skills in epic 3D boss battles that span both screens, including the ultimate showdown with the evil pirate, Captain Whisker. A high-speed ocean adventure: Battle with wicked pirates both on land and at sea throughout 14 action stages on seven different islands. Navigate the oceans and perform aerial tricks to avoid treacherous water mines and aim your cannons during ship-to-ship battles by using the stylus and touch screen on the Nintendo DS. Compete with friends via Wireless DS Single-Card Download Play in two battle modes. Two players will face-off in intense dual screen races or collect the most items spread throughout the map in exciting mission battles. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. New and old interwoven, Sonic Rush Adventure is a shining example of what a sequel can and should be.
  2. 90
    It's great to see Dimps and Sonic Team really hit the bull's-eye. The classic Sonic games stand among the best 2D platformers ever, and it's been difficult to see the franchise lose much of its former glory.
  3. Play Magazine
    85
    True to form Sonic Team gets the action just right on the DS. [Oct 2007, p.98]
  4. While the game is not a massive departure from Sonic Adventure, and at £30 it's a tad expensive for the play-time you get, if you're new to the series on DS or love all things Sonic, we heartily recommend it. One of the best games on the system.
  5. The extra bells and whistles that Sonic Rush Adventure add to the formula might not equate to much of an overall improvement, and the game might not have as much impact as its predecessor, but this is still a mighty-fine platformer that is guaranteed to satisfy Sonic fans.
  6. Multiplayer now includes online play, but most people will probably focus on bettering their online time trial rankings.
  7. games(TM)
    40
    A Sonic game struggling for its own identity. [Nov 2007, p.108]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    Sonic Rush Adventure follows Sonic after Sonic Rush, in which Tails and Sonic are pulled into a tornado, and into the Soul dimension, anSonic Rush Adventure follows Sonic after Sonic Rush, in which Tails and Sonic are pulled into a tornado, and into the Soul dimension, an alternate version of Sonics world, consisting of 12 hidden islands, and 8 level areas. In order from Plant Island, Machine labyrinth, Coral Cave, Haunted ship, Blizzard peeks, Sky Babylon, Pirates island, and Big swell. The plot of the game is that an eggman robot look alike named whisker and his companions mini, mum, and Jhonny have risen Coral Cave to steal the jeweled scepter to obtain the power of the stars, immense power that ensures the existence of parallel worlds. Its up to Blaze and Sonic to find the chaos, and sol emeralds to stop Whiskers plan. Expand
  2. nam1018
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Better than the first.
  3. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    This is the second time I have played through the game, and I can say really good things about it!

    Story: The story is a continuation of
    This is the second time I have played through the game, and I can say really good things about it!

    Story: The story is a continuation of the original Sonic rush albeit tropical island themed this time around. Sonic and Tails meet up with this racoon named Marine and a whole new venture starts from there! You will see a few familiar faces along the way, but the game does boast quite a few new characters!

    Graphics: This game looks very good for a DS game. Sonic and Blaze are full 3D models while everything else is 2D sprites. Just like the first game, this setup works very well; the colorfulness of some areas are baffling! Some cut scenes are full rendered while some are static character portraits. They both look very good, and keep the story moving along at a nice pace.

    Sound: Probably the best part of the game. Everything sounds WONDERFUL from the level themes, to the main hub world theme. Sound effects sound great; like Sonic destroying an enemy or his boost, and all these sounds keep you immersed in the game, and really makes you WANT to keep playing. I would highly recommend looking up the soundtrack for this game!

    Gameplay: This game plays GREAT! It plays like an old Sonic game from the genesis days, albeit the physics are a little off in comparison. This was probably due to the fact that they wanted to keep speed in the game in emphasis (It is called Sonic Rush lol). The boost mechanic returns from Sonic Rush, and it works just as well as it did in that game. The level design is built around using it strategically, so if anyone says "Boost to win" That is not a proper argument here. The only thing that is a complaint is that they have added vehicles sections to the game. They really are not bad at all, but they do cut into the actually meat of the game towards the end. The saving grace of the vehicles sections is that they control good, and are fun to play.

    Replay Value: This game is very repayable. With the ranking system, missions, and material gathering; there is PLENTY to do in this game! After finishing the main story, there is plenty more content to get your hands on! See if you can get all S ranks! That will prove that you mastered the game!

    As you can see, the game is very good, the only thing that keeps it from a perfect score would be vehicle sections popping up a bit too much, and material gathering during the story can be a little bit of a downer (Though playing through levels again is good way to practice for the S rank). So, I would give this game a very strong recommendation!
    Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    After Sonic Adventure I kind of fell in love with modern sonic and the whole 3d + great graphics + even more speed as well. Not to say I dontAfter Sonic Adventure I kind of fell in love with modern sonic and the whole 3d + great graphics + even more speed as well. Not to say I dont like the classical sonic, im a fan. So I bought this game not expecting much before a long train trip in Japan. It did impress me... the trip went by quickly cause it is indeed fun! I like the modern feeling they give to 2D portable sonic games nowadays and this is one of the best examples. Simply put: If you like sonic, you will like this game. If you are one of the gamers that USED to like Sonic, you will like this game as well. If you hate sonic... well.. I wouldnt bother. For me, though....Best surprise Ive ever had because I always think and search for info regarding games before I buy and this one I just picked up and had a lot of fun! Made me play sonic games again! Expand
  5. JoshR.
    Sep 23, 2007
    8
    While not phenomeonal, it is a large improvement over the last few years of Sonic games and will please anyone who wants that retro feel.
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    It's a geniunely good game. Good, not great, like every Sonic game. The controls are a little sloppy, the level design is also. The story isIt's a geniunely good game. Good, not great, like every Sonic game. The controls are a little sloppy, the level design is also. The story is confusing, and unnessesary. Collapse
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    4
    Sonic Rush Adventure has a lot going for it; bright and vibrant graphics, a goofy plot-line with fun dialogue, fantastic boss battles... Heck,Sonic Rush Adventure has a lot going for it; bright and vibrant graphics, a goofy plot-line with fun dialogue, fantastic boss battles... Heck, even the sections where you travel between the islands on a boat are well designed and fun to play. Unfortunately, the action stages (which should be the meat of the game) are simply bland and uninspired. You spend all your time zipping around through loops and tubes, never stopping to indulge in such fanciful things as, say, actual platforming. Of course, this approach isn't always wrong, as aptly proved by the excellent Sonic Advance series, but in this game it just feels... Tedious. This is doubly compounded by the structure of the game, which FORCES you to repeatedly play levels in order to gain the materials to build new items and boats. It's usually a pleasure to re-play stages in Sonic, but here they turn it into a chore that hampers progression. There are a ton of great Sonic games. This isn't one of them. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#29 Most Shared DS Game of 2007