Star Fox Command DS

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 52
  2. Negative: 7 out of 52
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [anonymous]
    Sep 15, 2008
    6
    Gimped mechanics bring this space shooter into a complete stall; rather than maintaining the tried-and-true (not to mention fantastic) gameplay of the SNES and N64 Star Fox outings, this game tries to break away. Flying on its lonesome it is easily destroyed. The graphics are great, but the gameplay and online battle modes are extremely flawed. This shouldn't have the title "Star Fox".
  2. MichaelA.
    Sep 1, 2006
    7
    A fun Star Fox game with a combination of upclose combat and a well use of strategy in each mission. Only a couple of downsides. 1)Story mode: too short. My brother beat it less than a week after he got it. 2)Multiplayer/Wi-Fi: Not very fun. You only fly around shooting your opponents and you steal their stars (kind of like Super Mario 64 DS's multiplayer). Not much innovation. A fun Star Fox game with a combination of upclose combat and a well use of strategy in each mission. Only a couple of downsides. 1)Story mode: too short. My brother beat it less than a week after he got it. 2)Multiplayer/Wi-Fi: Not very fun. You only fly around shooting your opponents and you steal their stars (kind of like Super Mario 64 DS's multiplayer). Not much innovation. There's no other multiplayer games. It's only good if you're playing with quite a few people (at least 3 or 4 others). If you're just buying it for Wi-Fi, don't buy it! Although the controls are good, the strategic parts of the game are fun, and the story is very intersting. It's not as good as the other Wi-Fi games such as Mario Kart DS and Metroid Prime: Hunters, but it's still a good game. Good enough to get at least a 7. Anything lower, I would find to be wrong. Expand
  3. RobP.
    Sep 15, 2006
    7
    Overall, it's nice to have a Star Fox game for the DS. However, I do not like how the options to change settings are not very flexible. It's really difficult to steer and aim with the stylus and look at the top screen. Why couldn't it be like Metroid Prime Hunters, where you point directly on the screen where you want to shoot? It makes it hard to be as accurate. Also, I Overall, it's nice to have a Star Fox game for the DS. However, I do not like how the options to change settings are not very flexible. It's really difficult to steer and aim with the stylus and look at the top screen. Why couldn't it be like Metroid Prime Hunters, where you point directly on the screen where you want to shoot? It makes it hard to be as accurate. Also, I would like to have the option to control the ship with the d-pad and buttons. I do like how the bombs are used though, by dragging them onto the radar. Haven't gotten to play it online yet, because I wasn't patient enough to wait for people to join (it took awhile!). Expand
  4. Bob
    Jul 21, 2008
    6
    It's an okay game but what happend to going through an auto dirceted level. There is only all range mode levels, and the star fox crew goes solo when attacking. Great control and multiplay but what happend to the main game?
  5. JoshH.
    Sep 15, 2006
    7
    Definitely an improvement over Star Fox Adventures and Star Fox ASSault..ahem.. It has the classic tunes remixed from SF64 and SF SNES, storyline has improved somewhat (aside from the boring romance they keep trying to push in SF), controls are pretty nice, aside from rolling, which I find a little difficult at times. I love the way motherships are destroyed and when you first see it for Definitely an improvement over Star Fox Adventures and Star Fox ASSault..ahem.. It has the classic tunes remixed from SF64 and SF SNES, storyline has improved somewhat (aside from the boring romance they keep trying to push in SF), controls are pretty nice, aside from rolling, which I find a little difficult at times. I love the way motherships are destroyed and when you first see it for yourself you will realize how CLOSE they reached the greatness of SF64. Overall the tactical interface was boring and straight-forward and did not serve much of a purpose other than to engage enemies and pick up power ups. In other words, don't expect FF:Tactics out of this--it's SF64 veiled in strategy. Multiple endings up the replay value quite a bit (something which was missing in SF: Adv and SF ASSault). The character design have once again gone to the crapper--nothing truly innovative or interesting looking since SF Adv. Overall, I found the game enjoyable, but nowhere close to the quality of Star Fox 64. I see hope in the future, however. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, not a bad game. I liked the gameplay, although it should be more on-rails, rather than sandbox. It has multiple endings, all were a good idea, but the plot and the dialogue was extremely bad. The strategy part worked, I think, but I can see some hating it. It is confusing. The controls are just perfect, I reckon. It does sound flimsy, but it just works. The graphics lookNot a bad game, not a bad game. I liked the gameplay, although it should be more on-rails, rather than sandbox. It has multiple endings, all were a good idea, but the plot and the dialogue was extremely bad. The strategy part worked, I think, but I can see some hating it. It is confusing. The controls are just perfect, I reckon. It does sound flimsy, but it just works. The graphics look good for a DS game. But please, don't pick the next Starfox game off from this. It needs to be non-canon, as the characters make REALLY stupid mistakes in the game, throughout. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    Finally, Nintendo sticks with the Arwing. The use of the pen and controls aren't too shaby for a portable. But what killed this game is the plot in general. Having alternative ending to a game really left me puzzling as to how all this connects (even though i know that none of the endings really occur to the original timeline). So I feel this game could have been something for like theFinally, Nintendo sticks with the Arwing. The use of the pen and controls aren't too shaby for a portable. But what killed this game is the plot in general. Having alternative ending to a game really left me puzzling as to how all this connects (even though i know that none of the endings really occur to the original timeline). So I feel this game could have been something for like the iTouch or something, as opposed to a console. Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2016
    7
    The controls are ok. The graphics are good with few inconsistent frame drops. The writing is good and straightforward until the different endings. An ok way to end the timeline. (Yes I do think this game is cannon.)

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#8 Most Shared DS Game of 2006
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. A great looking, fast paced action shooter if not for the strategy element in between but, in my opinion its always good to have something new and the maps offer a little challenge when you first play them. [JPN Import]
  2. Nintendo Power
    95
    The combination of classic and new elements makes it the most wholly satisfying Star Fox game yet. [Oct. 2006, p.88]
  3. The Star Fox fighter squadron returns in this solid flight combat game, which distinguishes itself with its strategic elements and well-designed touch-screen controls.