• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2009
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Suikoden Tierkreis isn’t perfect, but its strengths more than make up for its few weaknesses.
  2. Value wise, Suikoden Tierkreis is worth every penny.
  3. 88
    If you want a great DS RPG, and don’t mind that it’s not the true Suikoden many of us have grown up with, Tierkreis is still very much the real deal. You’d be hard-pressed to find a DS game as well produced, beautiful, or polished as this.
  4. 87
    A compelling narrative, wonderful soundtrack, and likable characters all overcome the many flaws that the game bears and makes it an incredibly memorable entry in the Suikoden saga.
  5. A fantastic re-introduction to the charms of Suikoden, marred by crap voice acting. Thankfully, all the dialogue is skippable. Gorgeous, high-skied adventures await!
  6. It's such a well-told story. [June 2009, p.67]
  7. The game's frequent annoyances sometimes threaten to get in the way of a great game, but it's undeniable that Suikoden Tierkreis is definitely great.
  8. Tension, entertainment, …. Definitely chocolate for RPG fans. That’s the way role-playing-games should be for the NDS!
  9. There aren't many DS RPG's that play and look this good. The only problem is that it may be too basic for the hardened RPG fans it's aimed at. [May 2009, p.88]
  10. This is the first title in the Suikoden series for the DS, and a spinoff at that. If you're expecting a traditional Suikoden game you might be disappointed by what you get here, but the fact is that you'll be treated to an equally fun and unique experience. There are some flaws to be found, such as way to lengthy sequences of text driven dialogue and battles lacking challenge, this is still a game we'll highly recommend to all.
  11. Roleplaying-Fans with a lot of time at their hands, should give Suikoden: Tierkreis and its huge size definitely a try!
  12. 80
    Whether you're a fan of the series or not, you will very likely enjoy the story of Suikoden Tierkreis and have a blast playing it, if you can get past its flaws. This is the type of game that could have been so much better had Konami put more effort into it, but that doesn't stop it from being a great DS RPG.
  13. 80
    From it's impressive presentation to addictive nature, Suikoden: Tierkreis is a journey worth taking for role playing fans - even if you're bound to come across a few bumps along the way.
  14. With close to 35 hours of gameplay, players will have a tremendous amount of replay value to hold them over at least for a month.
  15. While it abandons the the long-running story that defines the franchise, Suikoden Tierkreis offers a brisk, beautiful role-playing experience.
  16. Although Suikoden Tierkreis may not have been the most deep or immersive RPG to hit the DS in recent months, I have to say that I was impressed with the effort.
  17. This is a largely enjoyable journey for series fans - a dilution of what has gone before, but one that suits the handheld and serves its audience well. As a result, Suikoden Tierkreis offers a blueprint for how developers of modest JRPG series can continue their lineage into the future.
  18. Colorful RPG comes with a solid atmosphere and likable heroes, but its problem lies in the combat system. As a main part of the game, combat is boring and non-innovative. [May 2009]
  19. Tierkreis might not be the best game in the Suikoden saga, but even with its minor flaws it still manages to be one the best classical RPG games available for the Nintendo DS.
  20. As much as I grumble about its flaws, Tierkreis's epic scope and engaging narrative did keep me playing, eager to see what would happen next. [Apr 2009, p.86]
  21. Suikoden Tierkreis is not what its name suggests. It's not a Suikoden game, and it lacks the depth and charm of the original series. As a spin-off, it's interesting and rather fun, but there are several downturns: technical flaws, extremely easy combats, and a not so interesting story. The Suikoden series deserves something better.
  22. It's certainly not a good Suikoden game, but it's definitely a capable JRPG in its own right. [June 2009, p.130]
  23. Konami's role-player is a frustratingly uneven mix of great graphics, dull combat and fun questing.
  24. Suikoden Tierkreis manages to feel like a Suikoden game on a handheld, and it deserves respect for that. Unfortunately, it doesn't feel like a good Suikoden game.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    This is the best DS jrpg i've ever played.
    I should admit that the main Scenario is not really great.
    However the video game soundtracks
    and characters are brilliantly good.
    (The sound quality is awful because it's DS game. but i cannot complain about that.. right?)
    I was disappointed on Suikoden franchise because 3,5 were really bad(i have'not played 4).
    But this game gave me back interest on Suikoden franchise.
    So i give 9 out of 10 for this game.
    If i compare this game to pc and other console rpg games, the score will be 7 out of 10.

    I am really looking forward to the sequel! But please Konami.. PLEASE don't put too much Japanese culture/stuff.
    Unless you want to distribute the game in Japan only...
    Nowadays JRPG are weird.. I hope you don't follow that trend!

    Oops.. i am out of context.
    Anyway this game is awesome.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best DS RPG's I've played in a long time. The game is epic in size and presentation. What it manages to achieve on the tiny DS cart is outstanding to say the least. Practically every conversation is voice recorded, that is an achievement in itself. The voice acting however is hit and miss at the best of times. Most characters lend a great voice to the cast, however a few really drag it down. It's a shame that one of the few voices that aggravate happens to belong to the protagonist. The voice skips a mile a minute, it's so fast that I was thankful text accompanied it to be able to tell what was being said. Gameplay wise the game is really solid, sometimes you may encounter a bit of grind in order to get past some of the harder bosses, but this was never too laborious or tedious and was almost a breath of fresh air, as most RPG's made these days tend to make enemies far too easy to defeat. The random encounters, however, seem to be too frequent and do get on the annoying side. The story is fantastic and is constantly throwing twists and turns at the gamer, the length of the story is incredible for a DS RPG too. The graphics are average in battle and outside of it, nothing ever really wows the gamer as character models and backgrounds are so - so. The art style makes up for the lack in technical ability in the graphics department. Overall this is one of the best DS RPG's i've played and is most definitely a game i'd recommend to everyone who owns the system, good luck finding it on shelves though. Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    This game is my favorite.to me this game is the best jrpg game yet.i'd rather play as a girl but the main character is a boy which i had to stick with.obviously.when i started the game i thought it wasnt nice but when i continued to play it more i totally did not want to stop.i like the fact that you can have a castle and name it,you can have you're own company and name it.when i finished the game it was an awesome ending.and i learned something from this game that helped me in my daily life.you'll now it when you play it. Full Review »