Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. 91
    An interesting, engaging, witty game that takes full advantage of its portable platform's strengths.
  2. Jan 9, 2011
    86
    Super Scribblenauts is one of the top titles on the Nintendo DS platform.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    90
    The game's simple control scheme fix eliminates the frustration, fulfilling the promise of the first title and makingSuper Scribblenauts one of the most fun, addictive DS games available for both the 10+ crowd and beyond.
  4. The single-player mode has plenty of content and the challenge modes add plenty of replay value. Creating levels can be fun, but the cumbersome sharing system limits the game's lasting appeal.
  5. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    A very good game with loads of content to it. It can last you ages if you're the imaginative type who likes to play around with words and, quite simply, play god, and that imagination will be stretched by the game's demands for unique items. Super Scribblenauts is a sure bet if you're after a different sort of puzzle game.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    If you go into Super Scribblenauts knowing that you'll be playing a really cute and creative version of guessing game then you'll have a great time.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Scribblenaut's levels have gone from being unfocused sentences in which a few choice nouns can dominate to rigid, over-punctuated impositions on player creativity. [Dec 2010, p.93]
  8. Oct 27, 2010
    80
    5th Cell's puzzler was always astonishing, then, but now it's enjoyable to play, too. That's nice.
  9. Jan 8, 2011
    80
    The second chapter in the Scribblenauts series is not a proper sequel, but an incredible update of the original game that will give you everything you wished for after playing the first chapter.
  10. Jan 7, 2011
    87
    Super Scribblenauts fixes the flaws of his predecessor, but falls shorts in terms of games lenght. Nevertheless, the game represents one of the most enjoyable games of the 2010.
  11. Dec 22, 2010
    78
    Super Scribblenauts provides an extremely individualistic experience that can not be found in any other game series. While Super Scribblenauts has lost some of its gusto, it's still a solid puzzler for your DS.
  12. Super Scribblenauts still stands head and shoulders above its puzzle brethren in terms of innovation and originality. The ability to tackle puzzles again to find new solutions, the addition of a puzzle creator, and special levels that focus on action-oriented play give Maxwell's adventure surprising longevity.
  13. Oct 24, 2010
    83
    Now, somebody please make a version with all of the bad words intact! I wanna say stuff that would make Bob Saget cringe!
  14. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    Super Scribblenauts fixes most of the flaws of the original, but isn't yet fully able to fulfill the tremendous potential of its brilliant base idea. A fault we can pin on puzzle levels that seem more restrictive than previously, despite the inclusion of adjectives and a decent physics engine to offer a better frame around the player's creativity. It still is a gem of emergent gameplay for all lovers of sandbox experiences, a title unlike any other.
  15. Jan 18, 2011
    60
    The potential of Scribblenauts is still inherently powerful and sure will attract the largest number of people, but it's regrettable that 5th Cell was not able to get rid of these approximations.
  16. Dec 22, 2010
    85
    Super Scribblenauts isn't so much a sequel as a successor to 5th Cell's innovative DS game. Adjectives allow for more creative solutions to puzzles and a tidier interface make for an superior experience, but one that players of the original may feel too familiar with.
  17. 80
    But expert scribblers will no doubt find Super Scribblenauts' enhanced approach a major net positive over simply receiving a larger batch of levels, while the rest of us finally have a user-friendly way to experience this immensely creative idea.
  18. Jan 5, 2011
    80
    Super Scribblenauts is an excellent improvement over the original. The clumsy controls are fixed and the puzzles demand more creativity. The possibility to use adjectives makes sure the concept stays interesting for a while.
  19. Jan 28, 2011
    80
    Not as revolutionary as the first game, but the addition of adjectives and a better control setup makes this a really good portable game.
  20. Dec 22, 2010
    85
    More refined and focussed, but sometimes this restricts creative problem solving. [Issue#232, p.76]
  21. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    Adjectives are a big deal for this sequel; we were amazed how many actively altered the objects we were summoning. Living houses, broken TVs… bust out the dictionary and get creative. [Christmas 2010, p.107]
  22. Dec 22, 2010
    100
    Truly creative, polished, and incredibly satisfying, this is a title that every DS owner needs to try – even if it's just to see whether an army of vampires or zombies would win in a fight.
  23. This disappointing sequel saps away the unbridled fun that made the original so enthralling.
  24. A fantastic game. It approaches puzzle solving in a very open-ended manner that increases the game's replay value dramatically and the overall novelty from the first title continues to entertain in this sequel with the new adjectives system.
  25. Playability has shot through the stratosphere.
  26. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    The introduction of adjectives, multiple objectives, and D-Pad controls is definitely welcome.
  27. Dec 22, 2010
    67
    Scribblenauts returns with yet another disappointing puzzler. 5th Cell manages to get the control right, but the terrible campaign and limited puzzles drag everything down. There are remnnants of good ideas here, but Super Scribblenauts doesn't deliver on its promise.
  28. For all the hype that floated around the original Scribblenauts, it ended up delivering a lot less than promised. Super Scribblenauts delivers the goods in a way that the original couldn't.
  29. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    First time out, it scored four out of five, mostly for originality. This time round it scores the same purely for gameplay. That's definitely a (pin-striped ostrich) step forward.
  30. 90
    The controls work now, the dictionary is as impressive as ever, and the ability to tack adjectives onto your objects increases your creative possibilities tenfold.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    This game is truly amazing, the new controls make it much easier to play and adjectives ad years of replayability , so much fun to type in "This game is truly amazing, the new controls make it much easier to play and adjectives ad years of replayability , so much fun to type in " Giant Pregnant Obese Zombie Cow" Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    Hi, This new game is fun and rolling good and i would like to give the credit to www.games-advance.com that i bought the game from, good priceHi, This new game is fun and rolling good and i would like to give the credit to www.games-advance.com that i bought the game from, good price and fast shipping Full Review »
  3. Oct 15, 2010
    6
    Just for start, I totally love the first Scribblenauts game, I would rate that one 10/10, but the second Scribblenauts are simply not much funJust for start, I totally love the first Scribblenauts game, I would rate that one 10/10, but the second Scribblenauts are simply not much fun and that's sad.
    I can't say it is a bad game, but as I played the first game, I can compare. So.... levels are restrictive, sometimes puzzle logic is quite weird, it's NOT MUCH FUN.... really interesting, after completing 7 galaxies I didn't enjoy the game very much.....and in comparison, first scribblenauts were extreme fun....
    I was expecting that adjectives will make the game godlike, but in fact it's opposite...
    Full Review »