The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass DS

The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2007 DS Game of the Year] Many months have passed since the events of The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, and Link, Tetra and Tetra’s band of pirates have set sail in search of new lands. They come across a patch of ocean covered in a dense fog, in which they discover an[Metacritic's 2007 DS Game of the Year] Many months have passed since the events of The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, and Link, Tetra and Tetra’s band of pirates have set sail in search of new lands. They come across a patch of ocean covered in a dense fog, in which they discover an abandoned ship. Tetra falls into danger when she explores the ship alone, and Link falls into the ocean when he attempts to rescue her. When he washes up unconscious on the shores of a mysterious island, he is awakened by the sound of a fairy’s voice. With the aid of this fairy, he sets off to find Tetra – and his way back to the seas he once knew. The stylus makes controlling Link easier than ever. Tap on the screen to make Link move, or sweep the stylus around him to swing the sword. Players can even draw a path for his boomerang and send it flying into hard-to-reach targets. Players can stash the map on the top screen for quick reference or drop it to the touch screen to make notes, study enemies, or chart a path for their boat to follow while they man the cannons. Compete with a friend over a local wireless connection: Guide Link through special dungeons to capture the Triforce or command the forces that oppose him. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. There are many excellent games on the DS but few masterpieces. This one, though, is a masterpiece. And worth every penny you'll pay for it. [JPN Import]
  2. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    95
    The best and most complete portable adventure ever. Even if you’re not a fan of the series, you should feel compelled to play it and recognize it as a masterpiece. [Nov 2007]
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    95
    20 of the finest gaming hours of the year. [Dec 2007, p.42]
  4. AceGamez
    90
    Arguably the DS' greatest title so far.
  5. 90
    While it may be more casual than we'd like, it's captivating, entertaining, and a true adventure worthy of the Zelda name. It's different, but it's still the real deal.
  6. Overall, Phantom Hourglass is a pretty good game. While the controls do prove to be an issue, it succeeds in other areas, and does so with flair.
  7. 60
    But Zelda: Phantom Hourglass goes the opposite extreme, and turns sailing into a boring and utterly joyless exercise in line drawing. Basically, instead of controlling the ship directly, you'll merely draw your route on the touchscreen and watch your ship travel to that destination.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 119
  2. Negative: 14 out of 119
  1. Brevitythat'sright
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    2 hours in, twice I've though the game was broken - but it was just me not thinking laterally enough. I love it. Good, solid adventure. 2 hours in, twice I've though the game was broken - but it was just me not thinking laterally enough. I love it. Good, solid adventure. Will keep you entertained throughout. Expand
  2. DillanR.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The innovation of this game, with its unique stylus dependant controls makes it completely new, and possibly one of the best games on the DS The innovation of this game, with its unique stylus dependant controls makes it completely new, and possibly one of the best games on the DS platform right now. Expand
  3. Crazyqazqaz
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Zelda games are famous for having incredibly long story lines, mind boggling puzzles, scores of mini-quests and the notorious Water Temples Zelda games are famous for having incredibly long story lines, mind boggling puzzles, scores of mini-quests and the notorious Water Temples that consume hours of your life and have even been made into a slang (if a bit underused) term for something incredibly difficult. This, though, is a breath of fresh air. The game is lovingly crafted using bright, welcoming colours and a story line that manages to be genuinely funny while being brilliantly unpredicable. The control scheme is fabulous, I really can't see what people have been complaining about. It isn't overly difficult but not a total breeze either. It will stump you at times, but that is nothing that a little creative thought and a small amount of thinking outside the box won't solve. A brilliant little game, can't praise it enough! Expand
  4. Ashogo
    Oct 5, 2007
    9
    A brilliant Zelda game which takes full advantage of everything the ds has to offer. It's really amazing to see how the developers have A brilliant Zelda game which takes full advantage of everything the ds has to offer. It's really amazing to see how the developers have implemented so many new ideas into the game to make all the old stuff feel fresh again. And the graphics are beautiful, so your eyes won't be bleeding as you play through the adventure(unlike some other ds games...)Controls feel tight and responsive. The story is also surprisingly interesting and driving, and to cap it all off Phantom Hourglass features a simple but extremely addictive battle mode which can be played competitively against a friend or anyone worldwide through wi-fi. My biggest complaint is that the game is over too quickly, but you can't have it all I guess. Expand
  5. RT
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    Fun and innovative, this is one of the best games I've ever played on my DS. Link is cute as a button, but also a multi-talented warrior Fun and innovative, this is one of the best games I've ever played on my DS. Link is cute as a button, but also a multi-talented warrior due to the numerous tools he is given, most of which you will recognize from the earlier games. The game designers thought deeply about every detail of the game from the use of the stylus, to the character actions (Link tapping the earth down with his foot after filling a hole is perfect!), to just thinking of something new. I agree with others that the Temple of the Ocean King is a real thorn in the side, and one of the weakest parts of the game. I don't mind returning there over and over again. I do mind spending time WAITING. If this were a console game, it wouldn't be so bad, but with a portable game, you want small segments you can complete "in between." That is, on the train to work, on your lunch break, etc. Perhaps the shortcuts they offered could have been more aggressive, allowing you to pass through an entire floor you had previously passed through by opening a new passageway with a recently acquired tool, or a special token from someone you helped since the last time you'd been there. This trouble aside, the rest of the play can be addictive. The Battle Mode is fun without requiring too much explanation for someone who has never played before. I recommend this game wholeheartedly, even with some of the drawbacks. It will become a favorite! Expand
  6. Pushkin
    Jan 7, 2008
    7
    Wind Waker is the only Zelda game I have missed out on (skipped out that generation of console), so any references to the storyline or Wind Waker is the only Zelda game I have missed out on (skipped out that generation of console), so any references to the storyline or characters from that game are lost on me. However, I still found the storyline weak (being turned to stone = Minish Cap). This was my main complaint with the game. Zelda has always been attractive to me for its characters and plot; this game seemed to lack poorly in both. It took me almost an hour to get fully used to the stylus controls (had trouble pulling switches, getting Link to run enough to jump platforms) and I still have trouble remembering to put my selected item away before trying to swipe the sword, but apart from that the controls make good use of the DS's capabilites and is easilly the best game I have that allows me to really USE the DS. I'd still recommend it for buying, but wait until it's on offer, or trade in once you've completed it as there is little else to do once you've completed the main quest. Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    Zelda when she is a baby, and weak, and pethetic, this game is just like that. It misses out on the main story and cliches the slackness of Zelda when she is a baby, and weak, and pethetic, this game is just like that. It misses out on the main story and cliches the slackness of undarkening material. it just doesn't work with all the others. Collapse

See all 119 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.
  2. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#1 Most Shared DS Game of 2007