The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks DS

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 228
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    Huge improvement over Phantom Hourglass. Improved DS Stylus control, better story - Princess Zelda is the best companion you will ever have in a Zelda game and is actually funnier, difficulty is a bit more balanced but just not there yet (Nintendo should stop catering for casual gamers on difficulty, it's like they might cry if they keep dying or can't do it and this was a huge setback forHuge improvement over Phantom Hourglass. Improved DS Stylus control, better story - Princess Zelda is the best companion you will ever have in a Zelda game and is actually funnier, difficulty is a bit more balanced but just not there yet (Nintendo should stop catering for casual gamers on difficulty, it's like they might cry if they keep dying or can't do it and this was a huge setback for Phantom Hourglass. A challenge would actually benefit them) and a more reasonable handheld length. Though the train travel is actually more tedious than the sailing in Windwaker and Phantom Hourglass, it's actually nice to travel on something new in a Zelda game. Expand
  2. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    While some critics argue that Spirit Tracks is by no means one of the best Zelda games out there, I have to disagree. While it does echo its predecessor Phantom Hourglass from time to time, and, admittedly, there were times when I wished the train would go just a LITTLE bit faster, it is still, in my opinion, the best handheld Zelda out there. The new Tower of Spirits is a riot, and after While some critics argue that Spirit Tracks is by no means one of the best Zelda games out there, I have to disagree. While it does echo its predecessor Phantom Hourglass from time to time, and, admittedly, there were times when I wished the train would go just a LITTLE bit faster, it is still, in my opinion, the best handheld Zelda out there. The new Tower of Spirits is a riot, and after two cell-shaded ocean-traveling games it Expand
  3. sLm
    Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Though it may feel a bit similar to Phantom Hourglass, it's a good game, and they fixed many issues present in the previous game. For example, now you don't have to repeat the last Temple all over again, and there's no countdown, which is very very good in my opinion, it let's you enjoy the dungeons relaxed and without hurry. Also, you can control Zelda, who can possess special soldiersThough it may feel a bit similar to Phantom Hourglass, it's a good game, and they fixed many issues present in the previous game. For example, now you don't have to repeat the last Temple all over again, and there's no countdown, which is very very good in my opinion, it let's you enjoy the dungeons relaxed and without hurry. Also, you can control Zelda, who can possess special soldiers with cool abilities. Regarding dungeons, we get a couple new items very cool, like the sand lifter and the whip (I love this xd), as well as old ones like the boomerang and arrows. Bombs looks not to be needed to go ahead in the game, but you can take them too. Dungeons start easy, but in the mid-end game they become truly challenging, which may be a let down at first, but after you discover how to solve the difficult puzzles, it feels more rewarded than solving easy ones, which is very good. The hardest part of the game was the train pursuit almost at the end of the game, where you must destroy all the mad trains (it's really hard, they change their direction any time and pursuit you lol, you have to memorize their tracks to get them or you are dead). I recommend saving game after beating that xD. So, after some really frustrating moments in which I literally went mad at the game haha, I think it was worth playing it, because it's very rewarding in the end, due to it's difficulty. :) Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    I hated Phantom Hourglass. The over world sucked, the music was bland, the puzzles were insultingly easy, and the plot was an excuse. So why does this game get a perfect ten from me? Because it did just about everything right. Admittedly the over world wasn't as good as in the 3D Zelda games, but it's still a vast improvement. The music offers some of the best tracks in the entireI hated Phantom Hourglass. The over world sucked, the music was bland, the puzzles were insultingly easy, and the plot was an excuse. So why does this game get a perfect ten from me? Because it did just about everything right. Admittedly the over world wasn't as good as in the 3D Zelda games, but it's still a vast improvement. The music offers some of the best tracks in the entire franchise, such as the Sacred Duet and the Overworld theme. The puzzles were easily the best out of any Zelda game, making it a bit more of a puzzle game than an action-adventure title. Finally, the plot was probably the best in the series, involving many great characters with a lot of life to them(Especially Zelda and Byrne). This game is different than other Zelda games, but as we established with Majora's Mask and Skyward Sword, different doesn't mean bad. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    Phantom Hourglass was, definetely, one of the worst Zelda titles, and yet, it was fun. Spirit Tracks is better in pretty much every way it could be. The little problem we had with using the touchscreen were fixed, like the rolling attack. The soundtrack is, possibly, one of the best in the Zelda series. Spirit Tracks uses prety much everything the DS has to offer. The microfone, thePhantom Hourglass was, definetely, one of the worst Zelda titles, and yet, it was fun. Spirit Tracks is better in pretty much every way it could be. The little problem we had with using the touchscreen were fixed, like the rolling attack. The soundtrack is, possibly, one of the best in the Zelda series. Spirit Tracks uses prety much everything the DS has to offer. The microfone, the touchscreen. The buttons on the other hand... Spirit Tracks is definetely worthy of the "Zelda" title. It starts with easy dungeons, but by the end, you'll find yourself stuck for several times. The biggest problem in Phantom Hourglass, the central dungeon, is still here, but differently from the Temple of the Ocean King, the Tower of Spirits will never force you to go through floors you have already visited, instead, it will take you to differente challenges. It's a great Zelda to have in your pocket. The game is a tad bit short, lasting about 25/30 hours of gameplay. IF you are going through all the sidequests, it's a LOT longer, and for people who wants some real challenge, there is the Dark Ore Quest. Overall, Spirit Tracjs is one of the most inspired Zeldas out there, it might not be the best one, but it is one that is worth it. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    not as good as ph but still awesome, so buy asap, and enjoy the amazing story, train rides, and ending... and just overall, like zelda: you'll need to... 92%
  7. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    I guess Nintendo decided to carry on the easy, casual gameplay they brought in with Phantom Hourglass, because, this is quite frankly, one of the easier titles in the series. Nevertheless, Spirit Tracks provides the same fun, innovative touch-screen gameplay as it's predecessor and offers a smooth, progressive storyline. The action is not something to get worked about. Although, some ofI guess Nintendo decided to carry on the easy, casual gameplay they brought in with Phantom Hourglass, because, this is quite frankly, one of the easier titles in the series. Nevertheless, Spirit Tracks provides the same fun, innovative touch-screen gameplay as it's predecessor and offers a smooth, progressive storyline. The action is not something to get worked about. Although, some of the boss battles can be quite challenging at times. The game also offers some challenging dungeons (though few) and is a great DS title to add to your collection. It is a must-buy for DS owners and fans of all Zelda games. Expand
  8. IchigoK
    Dec 10, 2009
    8
    +2 The new central dungeon removes the biggest complaint of phantom hourglass. +2 The addition of Zelda really expands the gameplay & story. +2 Things you can do with the train (Transporting Passengers & Materials, Blowing up stuff, Whistle, Catching Bunnies, etc...) +2 Tons of secrets, mini-games, and some incredible "Zelda" moments +2 Puzzles are very challenging especially in the +2 The new central dungeon removes the biggest complaint of phantom hourglass. +2 The addition of Zelda really expands the gameplay & story. +2 Things you can do with the train (Transporting Passengers & Materials, Blowing up stuff, Whistle, Catching Bunnies, etc...) +2 Tons of secrets, mini-games, and some incredible "Zelda" moments +2 Puzzles are very challenging especially in the central dungeon. +1 Soundtrack is great -1 Sometimes touch controls doesn't work quite well -1 A lot of obligatory microphone use -1 You get bored from to much train travelling Expand
  9. NiteshM
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    The most unique Zelda game to date. I have to admit that I was quite skeptical going in but deciding to pick this game up has been a very rewarding decision. Although slightly tedious at times, Spirit Tracks is miles ahead of its predecessor, and contains some of the hands-down most unique and creative puzzles that I have ever seen in a Zelda game, or any action-adventure game for that The most unique Zelda game to date. I have to admit that I was quite skeptical going in but deciding to pick this game up has been a very rewarding decision. Although slightly tedious at times, Spirit Tracks is miles ahead of its predecessor, and contains some of the hands-down most unique and creative puzzles that I have ever seen in a Zelda game, or any action-adventure game for that matter. With a huge amount of content, a game like this is a must buy for any Nintendo fan or a fan of puzzlers or action adventure games. Expand
  10. NilsB
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    The dungeons are much better then in Phantom Hourglass. It is one of the best games of this year!!
  11. RileyM
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Phantom Hourglass created a wonderful engine, but it used it could have used it to create such a better game. This, in my opinion, is that game. This is the way the engine should have been used to begin with. The dungeons are some of the best I've seen in Zelda since Wind Waker, and the puzzles bring in fresh new ideas. The graphics are beautiful for a DS game, much like in Phantom Phantom Hourglass created a wonderful engine, but it used it could have used it to create such a better game. This, in my opinion, is that game. This is the way the engine should have been used to begin with. The dungeons are some of the best I've seen in Zelda since Wind Waker, and the puzzles bring in fresh new ideas. The graphics are beautiful for a DS game, much like in Phantom Hourglass. My only complaints have to do with the train. The train works all right, but it seems that you spend a lot more time on it in this game. The train should have moved a bit faster than it did, and this only makes the train segments seem even longer and more boring. The excessive train usage cuts out of the exploration, and most of what Link does on foot will be in the dungeons. The storyline is also pretty generic and simple, but it gets the job done. I am not really a fan of using the microphone, but this game did a fairly good job handling it. The game is a vast improvement over Phantom Hourglass. From the awesome new items to the slightly improved difficulty, this is definitely what the DS Zeldas have needed. Expand
  12. MineneT
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    A crazily remarkable game,THIS should be the sequel to the number one Zelda game The Wind Waker.phantom Hourglass was an obviously rushed game--Nintendo just wanted to get it out there without really putting their heart into it.the music was horrible--and the fact that it was all the same throughout the entire game made it worse.The gameplay was atrocious--a drastic departure from the A crazily remarkable game,THIS should be the sequel to the number one Zelda game The Wind Waker.phantom Hourglass was an obviously rushed game--Nintendo just wanted to get it out there without really putting their heart into it.the music was horrible--and the fact that it was all the same throughout the entire game made it worse.The gameplay was atrocious--a drastic departure from the dream-like TWW controls.the graphics indicated laziness.the storyline was bland and boring,the temples made you want to shoot your eyes out.ST is a jewel of a game.They enhanced graphics in subtle ways,the music is tear-inducingly beautiful,and focuses on more of the "tribal' aspects of TWW instead of the orchestra,like PH.link actually HAS a personality,unlike his neutral behavior in PH.There's suggested romantic interaction,which has been craved by fans since Ribbon kissed Kirby in his 64 debut.There's actualy DIFFERENT music for each dungeon.i think I've repeated myself.anyway,Spirit Tracks is DEFINITELY worth your money.The only reason it isn't a 10 is because The Wind Waker has already stolen that spot. Expand
  13. MorganW
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    If you love Zelda games, then this game is a must buy. It feels as though Nintendo took the criticism of Phantom Hourglass and crafted a game that fixed all the problems. Spirit Tracks is a charming Zelda game and will be enjoyed by Zelda aficionados of all ages.
  14. SteffenH
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    100% Improved over Phantom Hourglass. Dungeon? Fixed. Better Story, Cutscenes, Music. Despite what some have said, the Flute is so much fun. The additional 'weapons' such as the whirlwinds are used very well. But mostly, it is so much fun to have Zelda jump into one of the Phantoms and pal around the dungeons. I can't say how much MORE fun this one is over Phantom 100% Improved over Phantom Hourglass. Dungeon? Fixed. Better Story, Cutscenes, Music. Despite what some have said, the Flute is so much fun. The additional 'weapons' such as the whirlwinds are used very well. But mostly, it is so much fun to have Zelda jump into one of the Phantoms and pal around the dungeons. I can't say how much MORE fun this one is over Phantom Hourglass. Only complaint is the Train can be a little boring..but not as bad as the Sea Travel was in PH. Best game on DS by far. Amazing. Expand
  15. WillY.
    Dec 13, 2009
    8
    Great game and I'm loving the storyline. Multiplayer is a bit sad though. All you do is run around dodging phantoms and collecting force gems. Personally i preferred the old multiplayer where you had to actually think about what to do. Good game nonetheless, good job Nintendo!
  16. NorbertN
    Dec 24, 2009
    9
    It improves on Phantom Hourglass in every way. And it does bring some inovation to the series as well. Still there's a bit of Deja Vu though - ow many times have we had to collect the Boomerang and Bow? At least in Twilight Princess they managed to put a neat twist on many of the traditional weapons. Overall a very good game, but for me it lacked the 'OMG' factor of some of It improves on Phantom Hourglass in every way. And it does bring some inovation to the series as well. Still there's a bit of Deja Vu though - ow many times have we had to collect the Boomerang and Bow? At least in Twilight Princess they managed to put a neat twist on many of the traditional weapons. Overall a very good game, but for me it lacked the 'OMG' factor of some of the other instalments. Expand
  17. LuísC
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    One of the best in the entire series. Definitely worth buying.
  18. RubZG
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    An amazing an extremely fun game. The train is so fun an the graphics incredible for a DS game. A DS must buy.
  19. EliK
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Vast improvement over the last DS outing, however it suffers from too much of the same, both in it's predessesor and previous series's entries. A bit on the easy side also. Still, a polished and incredibly fun game nonetheless.
  20. Matt
    Jan 23, 2010
    8
    What you're going to think of this game is entirely contingent upon how much you enjoy the train element in Spirit Tracks. The reviews are mostly correct in that yes, the dungeons and "Zelda-y" portion of the game are clever and well-designed. However the pacing of the game is almost constantly interrupted by the largely mediocre travel by train. At least with Phantom Hourglass the What you're going to think of this game is entirely contingent upon how much you enjoy the train element in Spirit Tracks. The reviews are mostly correct in that yes, the dungeons and "Zelda-y" portion of the game are clever and well-designed. However the pacing of the game is almost constantly interrupted by the largely mediocre travel by train. At least with Phantom Hourglass the player could draw their own path. The train forces you to draw a path through what is essentially a linear and rigid set of paths. I want to clarify that this is a good game, but mostly because Nintendo played it safe, altering very little of the formula that made Phantom Hourglass a success. If you're a hardcore Zelda fan then you've probably already picked this one up. But if you're a casual fan of the series like me then do some research, and try before you buy. Grade: B. Expand
  21. ChristopherP
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Awesome, even better than Phantom Hourglass!
  22. BrendanK
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    A great game filled with challenging puzzles.
  23. EricC
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    Saying this is a remake of Phantom Hourglass is like saying The Two Towers is a remake of Fellowship of the Ring. Great game, but train travel can get a little old at times.
  24. GabeM
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Either you are going to love the train, or you're going to hate it. If you like the train, this is one of the best Zelda games you'll ever play. The dungeons are challenging, the side quests are plentiful and Zelda is hilarious. If you don't like the train you still get all the above mentioned just a means of travel that can drag on. However in my opinion it's a Either you are going to love the train, or you're going to hate it. If you like the train, this is one of the best Zelda games you'll ever play. The dungeons are challenging, the side quests are plentiful and Zelda is hilarious. If you don't like the train you still get all the above mentioned just a means of travel that can drag on. However in my opinion it's a fantastic game that every Zelda fan should experience. Expand
  25. ErnestoL
    Dec 14, 2009
    9
    Great game! Really! I was very impressed! Awesome direction, and the only bad thing was the controls sometimes... Now i can't wait for a new Zelda game!
  26. May 20, 2012
    10
    I was truly blown away with Spirit Tracks, it's a phenomenal game and I honestly can't bring myself to give it anything less then a 10/10, It's truly a masterpiece. The story and characters a fantastic, and provide some truly emotional and laugh out loud moments, the gameplay is fantastic featuring solid combat backed by great controls (although I probably would have preferred a moreI was truly blown away with Spirit Tracks, it's a phenomenal game and I honestly can't bring myself to give it anything less then a 10/10, It's truly a masterpiece. The story and characters a fantastic, and provide some truly emotional and laugh out loud moments, the gameplay is fantastic featuring solid combat backed by great controls (although I probably would have preferred a more traditional control scheme, this one works very well) and some really complex puzzles that will have you using every ounce of brain power you've got. The graphics look fantastically adorable, but don't let it's cuteness fool you this is every bit a hardcore gamers game(that also can be enjoyed by more casual gamers), and the soundtrack is outstanding and one of the best I've heard in a video game. And the bosses are epic most of them take up both screens and require skill along with quick thinking and reflexes, and the new items are great and the inventory system is fantastic. the game also packs a lot of content in the form of side quests and treasure hunting, the treasure hunting makes excellent use of the ability to write notes and mark locations on the map and kinda gives it a Indiana Jones feel, well that and the whip XD. I'm sure you've heard the complaints about the train by now and I'm just gong to give my opinion, I liked it, I thought it was a pretty sweet addition especially when you use it for combat (which controls wonderfully by the way). I highly recommend this game it's truly a amazingly fun experience and that's why I give it a 10 out of 10. Expand
  27. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    Spirit Tracks is an enjoyable and suitable epic Zelda adventure. The world is sprawling and the unique DS features (touch controls, microphone) are used in imaginative ways and get the most of the handheld. The two primary concepts of ST are the trains used to navigate the world and having Zelda as a very useful companion. These are both great but are also responsible for the game's mainSpirit Tracks is an enjoyable and suitable epic Zelda adventure. The world is sprawling and the unique DS features (touch controls, microphone) are used in imaginative ways and get the most of the handheld. The two primary concepts of ST are the trains used to navigate the world and having Zelda as a very useful companion. These are both great but are also responsible for the game's main flaws. As fun as the train mechanics are, they are used to such an extent that it becomes a bit tiresome and feels like padding. As for Zelda, her AI can be downright embarrassing at times. These aren't huge grievances but they do detract from the overall experience. Overall, the good far outweighs the bad in Spirit Tracks and the high quality of the LoZ series is kept intact. Expand
  28. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    The game play improved, the story is decent, but the temples are too short, and when the game is too easy, it is really easy, but when it is hard, it's extremely hard, some puzzles don't give you a clue to solve, so you will get stressed, but I must admit that it's funny and very cute. You only need some patience to finish it. Not the best Zelda's game.
  29. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Spirit Tracks does everything Phantom Hourglass did and more. Although the same basic formula of a central dungeon with stealth that must be revisited, many things have changed. The most iconic feature of Spirit Tracks is the Train, you use this to travel the realms in order to reach destinations such as temples and towns. This is quite similar to the boat, you have a cannon, you canSpirit Tracks does everything Phantom Hourglass did and more. Although the same basic formula of a central dungeon with stealth that must be revisited, many things have changed. The most iconic feature of Spirit Tracks is the Train, you use this to travel the realms in order to reach destinations such as temples and towns. This is quite similar to the boat, you have a cannon, you can customise each part of the train etc. However, there are many improvements from the boat, although the tracks are pre-made, there are many routes you can take, this makes drawing your path less awkward and enables your route to be changed easier once you have already started moving; it also allows for more challenging gameplay as you must dodge the Phantom Trains on the track (which feels slightly similar to Pacman). As well as this, your movement is more advanced, you have the ability to control the speed of the train allowing more strategic movement than Phantom Hourglass's boats allows. Personally, I preferred the train a lot more than the boat and the music complementing how fast your train is going really made the train rides fun and engaging. The train journeys can get repetitive, but the more you progress through the game, the more warp points you'll unlock and the more tracks you'll recover, meaning getting from one place to another gets quicker and quicker with every quest you complete.

    The next new feature is the Spirit Flute, fans of musical instruments that almost always appear in Zelda titles will be a fan of this. It works the same as the Ocarina, only it combines touch screen and blowing to play it. There are many songs, each with different effects, which will come as familiar to anyone who has played Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask or Wind Waker. The touch and blow combo can make some of the songs a little challenging, especially the sequences where you have to blow with precise timing, which can be very frustrating. Apart from that, the flute is as worthy an instrument as the Ocarina.

    The central dungeon this time is very similar to the Temple of the Ocean King; there are phantoms patrolling the area which you must sneak by, whilst solving puzzles. However, there are many changes; the time limit is removed, this makes it easier in some sense, but allows the puzzles to become more complex (which nearer the end become very challenging). You no longer have to repeat floors which you have already done multiple times, in Phantom Hourglass the temple became annoying as you could only start on the 1st floor or the 4th, which made the dungeon quite repetitive, Spirit Tracks fixes this. The main unique feature of the Spirit Tower is that Zelda is able to possess a Phantom after they have been struck by Link's tear-infused sword. This allows many unique abilities, such as a Phantom which feels very similar to playing as a Goron in Majora's Mask, and a Phantom which can teleport to seekers. This feature also allows puzzles to become more complex, more unique and makes the tower feel a lot different to the Temple of the Ocean king. In dungeons, there are many new tools and mechanics to go alongside these. Some very unique tools that have never been in Zelda games before, as well as some of the most epic and most fun bosses in the series. There are also tons of extras, loads of mini-games, such as the rabbit rescue which keeps the train journeys more enjoyable as you'll be searching for rabbits whilst you travel to your next destination. Many side-quests which use the trains mechanics, such as transporting resources from one location to another, making sure you aren't attacked or your train doesn't turn too fast and lose some of the cargo. As well as many classic mini-games such as target shooting and agility-based races which take place on foot.

    The soundtrack is also one of the best in the series, from the wonderful overworld theme which changes slightly based on the speed of the train, to the epicness of the final boss theme. It really does sound beautiful.

    In conclusion, there are many features which feel similar to Phantom Hourglass, and a few issues such as some frustrating flute playing and train journeys which might become boring (although they didn't for me). But there is a lot of fun to be had with this game and many aspects of the game have improved from Phantom Hourglass, as well as this there are tons of new unique features such as Zelda's ability to possess Phantoms. Spirit Tracks has changed enough and added new unique features to feel fresh and exciting, it isn't perfect, but it's certainly worthy of a place in the Zelda series.

    9.5/10 (rounded up to 10 for Metacritic)
    Expand
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Well this game didn't really have much of a Zelda feel to it, although it was okay. I didn't like how some parts needed the microphone and then it didn't respond properly. Some temples were really easy while others were really hard. Also the train rides were very boring and bland. Even when you want to play around at an area, it got boring sometimes because the arsenal was very small. ButWell this game didn't really have much of a Zelda feel to it, although it was okay. I didn't like how some parts needed the microphone and then it didn't respond properly. Some temples were really easy while others were really hard. Also the train rides were very boring and bland. Even when you want to play around at an area, it got boring sometimes because the arsenal was very small. But all in all, this was a good game. Expand
  31. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Large improvements from Phantom Hourglass, enjoyed it through the whole game (100%).
    Minor setback was the pan flute, it's not my ideal instrument and playing next to a complete stranger makes it awkward to play.
  32. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    When Phantom Hourglass was released, I was impressed: they seemed to have envisioned the perfect DS Zelda game. It made good use of pretty much every DS feature, from the touchscreen (you actually control Link's moves and sword attacks with the stylus) to stuff like the microphone (used to blow into one of the weapons and shout).

    Enter Spirit Tracks, and it seems Nintendo has made the
    When Phantom Hourglass was released, I was impressed: they seemed to have envisioned the perfect DS Zelda game. It made good use of pretty much every DS feature, from the touchscreen (you actually control Link's moves and sword attacks with the stylus) to stuff like the microphone (used to blow into one of the weapons and shout).

    Enter Spirit Tracks, and it seems Nintendo has made the old adage "if it itsn't broken, don't fix it" ring truer than ever. Everything I loved about Phantom Hourglass is back, along with some new features. The game succeeds by pretty much every metric: charming cell-shaded graphics, dynamic and fun controls (which have been considerably improved to give the touchscreen more sensibility), funny characterization, amazing sound.

    The train setting is even more fleshed-out than the seas of Phantom Hourglass, and just as endearing. Side quests should give you a lot of extra stuff to do in game (even though some of them, like the train customization, is a bit too tedious to really get going). Overall, Spirit Tracks is a game that does exactly what it should and almost never disappoints.
    Expand
  33. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    A wonderful addition to the DS and LoZ library of games. The touch control similar to that of Phantom Hourglass is greatly designed, although I would've preferred D-Pad moving...It does take all the capabilities of the ds and uses them well. Although some puzzles and the story may be a bit dumbed down, it's definitely a fun game that's worth your cash! The multiplayer is addicting asA wonderful addition to the DS and LoZ library of games. The touch control similar to that of Phantom Hourglass is greatly designed, although I would've preferred D-Pad moving...It does take all the capabilities of the ds and uses them well. Although some puzzles and the story may be a bit dumbed down, it's definitely a fun game that's worth your cash! The multiplayer is addicting as well....and the ability to have single card download play is a great addition to this game

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Story: 8/10
    Music: 8/10
    Presentation: 8.5/10
    Length: 8/10
    Overall: 8/10
    Expand
  34. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    Spirit Tracks is the standard zelda- dungeon structure, items, bosses, puzzles. Though it doesn't innovate as much as it should, it's a solid adventure.
    Link must, as usual, take on some terrible evil, rescue someone, and save the land of Hyrule. To do this, he must traverse dungeons, fight enemies, solve puzzles, and explore Hyrule. This is the ordinary zelda we have known for years.
    I
    Spirit Tracks is the standard zelda- dungeon structure, items, bosses, puzzles. Though it doesn't innovate as much as it should, it's a solid adventure.
    Link must, as usual, take on some terrible evil, rescue someone, and save the land of Hyrule. To do this, he must traverse dungeons, fight enemies, solve puzzles, and explore Hyrule. This is the ordinary zelda we have known for years.
    I won't talk about the structure of a zelda game, or any of that, because you know it already. Instead, the differences.
    The graphics are good but not great- scenery is especially flat, but dungeons look good. The music is often great, woth a lovely overworld theme, though I wasn't keen on the dungeon music.
    Spirit Tracks has an unusual control scheme ehich using the stylus for everything, like Phantom Hourglass. While this sounds cumbersome, in reality it opens up new possibilities. It's used in a variety of clever ways, from drawing a path for you to throw the boomerang to control where Link (or Zelda) goes. And Spirit Tracks deserves an award for being the first ever game to make blowing into a microphone fun. One item, the whirlwind, which you obtain early in the storyline, lets you create a gust of wind. You do this by blowing.
    Another innovation is one I didn't enjoy: the train driving. Link has explored before by horse, by boat, on foot, by bird... but now he commands a train. The touch screen is used well for this, but when on the rails, there is little to do, and in the end you're just sitting there waiting for the train to reach its destination. There are other features brought in to try to make it more interesting, like enemies, but all you do to kill them is to shoot with cannons, an incredibly boring experience. Worse, if they hit you enough, you'll die, forcing you to make the entire journey again.
    Thankfully for Spirit Tracks, there are very many stations and places, so when advancing through the storyline, you'll rarely be driving for a very long time in one go. There are many fiendish overworld puzzles, which are excellently presented. Sometimes I however found myself hating those tedious fetch quests.
    Spirit Tracks also has a 'tower of spirits', which plays a vital part in the storyline. You'll progress through it in between dungeons, but it's like a giant dungeon, with multiple sections, in itself. I found it a little uninspired despite introducing an interesting new mechanic.
    Spirit tracks' dungeon gameplay is thankfully as good as ever- puzzles are inventive and challenging, and you'll find a surprisingly high amount of mini-bosses, something which I love. The dungeon bosses are very cleverly constructed too. And don't be put off by the fact there are only five dungeons, as Spirit Tracks has a lot more content in between each dungeon than other zeldas, resulting in 30-40 hour experience. There are also plenty of side quests to complete, which could add on over twenty extra hours, too.
    Spirit Tracks is a Zelda game, through and through. While this means it plays it a little too safe, it also means you're guaranteed a great time. There's even a multiplayer battle mode that sees you fighting to collect more gems than your opponents. It's crazy, and, surprisingly, hilarious fun with plenty of traps you can activate to bring down your opponent. Expect a lot of fun from that feature.
    Expand
  35. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    Un juego que me llego al alma , me encantas los trenes y ademas este juego es el que link esta mas compañado de zelda ,la historia es muy buena el final es muy lindo y tiene 3 alternativos , agregado a todo esto el juego tiene muchas misiones secundarias , estaciones por descubrir , la mazmorra del "al ataque " donde te vuelves a enfrentar con todos los jefes y una sombra de toon link,Un juego que me llego al alma , me encantas los trenes y ademas este juego es el que link esta mas compañado de zelda ,la historia es muy buena el final es muy lindo y tiene 3 alternativos , agregado a todo esto el juego tiene muchas misiones secundarias , estaciones por descubrir , la mazmorra del "al ataque " donde te vuelves a enfrentar con todos los jefes y una sombra de toon link, podria ser dark link o el link del phantom hourglass ya que en el combate esta su melodia , es muy divertido el juego , y con puzles bastantes dificiles tanto en tren como en link a pie . Exelente juego el mejor de ds Expand
  36. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    Phantom Hourglass was a good game and it was a lot of fun, but it had lots of little problems that irritated a lot of people. Spirit tracks fixed lots of those problems such as the very boring over world, and the train to me just seemed more fun than the boat. It is much more detailed than Phantom hourglass in just about every way. Its main dungeon the tower of spirits is more interestingPhantom Hourglass was a good game and it was a lot of fun, but it had lots of little problems that irritated a lot of people. Spirit tracks fixed lots of those problems such as the very boring over world, and the train to me just seemed more fun than the boat. It is much more detailed than Phantom hourglass in just about every way. Its main dungeon the tower of spirits is more interesting than the temple of the ocean king because you can control a phantom. It has less dungeons than most zelda games but a lot of side quests some of which are quite fun! I cant think of many things that this game did wrong, i can only think of things that would have made it better. Spirit tracks is one of the best games on the ds and a great entry in the legend of zelda series. Expand
  37. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    This game gets too much hate. It is a huge improvement over Phantom Hourglass, with better dungeons, music, gameplay, story and boss battles. Traveling is also much better than before, some people might think it's tedious, but at least it adds some variety unalike in Phantom Hourglass where absolutely nothing happens.
  38. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    This is a great game that is definitely underrated by most. Yes, the graphics are cartoonish, and the train ride is a bit long, but there are some sweet puzzles in the game. Definitely a must play for any Zelda fan.
  39. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    Entspannende Zugfahrten , gute Unterhaltung , spannende Kämpfe und innovative Minigames : Das ist Spirit Tracks . Minister von Glaiss , Delok und Lineback waren geniale Charaktere und erst die Soundtracks ! Der zweite und vierte Boss hatte enorm geile Battletracks , aber der Finalkampf hat den besten überhaupt ! Unschlagbar , dieses Game ! ^-^
  40. Aug 17, 2015
    8
    To get my main complaints out of the way, traversing the overworld is boring and uneventful. You eventually activate Stargate-looking warps but they each take you to one specific spot! It's bad enough that you can't warp from anywhere like in Wind Waker, but once you enter a warp you can't even choose which warp to go to from there! And completionists will have a problem because you haveTo get my main complaints out of the way, traversing the overworld is boring and uneventful. You eventually activate Stargate-looking warps but they each take you to one specific spot! It's bad enough that you can't warp from anywhere like in Wind Waker, but once you enter a warp you can't even choose which warp to go to from there! And completionists will have a problem because you have to collect treasures to buy all the train parts, but you have to rely and randomly getting the right treasures from the environment. You have to grind by leaving and reentering areas over and over again hoping you'll get the right stuff.

    But enough complaining. You're a Zelda fan: if you can get over the train segments then you'll like this game. And interestingly, I think Zelda plays a larger part in this game than any other Zelda title, because the titular princess is now your very own sidekick! This lets you get a better impression of who she is as a character, which I liked. And Spirit Tracks also has the coolest instrument of any Zelda game in my opinion, because blowing into the microphone gives the impression that you are actually playing it!

    Reasons to skip this game:
    - If you don't like Toon Link or Zelda in general
    - If you're a compulsive completionist and can't stand to have missing items
    - The overworld is slow and boring to traverse
    - There's not a lot that's different about this installment in the series

    Key differences between this and Phantom Hourglass:
    - Because of the titular tracks, Spirit Tracks gives you even less control in the overworld navigation
    - Spirit Tracks is more detached from the Wind Waker storyline
    - Spirit Tracks gives you a cool instrument to play like in other Zelda games
    - The recurring dungeon in Spirit Tracks has no time limit, and doesn't require you to redo sections
    Expand
  41. Oct 3, 2015
    10
    This was my second Zelda game after The Phantom Hourglass. I was only 9 when I started to play this! Its graphics are incredibly good, its controls are the same of The Phantom Hourglass, but a little better, and its story is even better than The Phantom Hourglass's. I basically fell in love with this game after one day playing it. It's Phantom Hourglass better in every way! BetterThis was my second Zelda game after The Phantom Hourglass. I was only 9 when I started to play this! Its graphics are incredibly good, its controls are the same of The Phantom Hourglass, but a little better, and its story is even better than The Phantom Hourglass's. I basically fell in love with this game after one day playing it. It's Phantom Hourglass better in every way! Better dungeons, better puzzles, better central dungeon, better playable character, this game has EVERYTHING! If you plan to play this, you can count with a diversity of enemies, good soundtrack, extremely funny mini games, excellent side quests and an admirable relation with The Phantom Hourglass. So what are you waiting for?
    Don't let yourself be confused by people who say "this is not Zelda, it is too easy", or "this is not Zelda, it is too complicated", because all of them are wrong. Spirit Tracks IS Zelda, and it's puzzles begin with certain facility (just so you get the controls and the idea), but at the end they are extremely complicated and -the best part- you don't even notice it!
    Even with the side quests, the game is pretty linear, so you always know what you have to do - which is good, right? That can kind of disappoint the first Zelda fans, who like to discover themselves what are they supposed to do. But if you are a "Zelda Starter", you should completely play this game. Worth every penny spent :) Hope I was helpful
    Expand
  42. Oct 19, 2015
    9
    This was my first experience with Zelda on a handheld console, and I got it Christmas morning. Didn't put the DS down for hours. Great story, great enemies, and great bosses. My only pet peeve is the use of the microphone in the game which can be hard and touchy. Nintendo should remake this game for 3DS with an extended storyline and DLC.
  43. Mar 29, 2016
    8
    This game in a "Deku" nutshell is good. There isn't much that stands out as amazing and there isn't much that is bad either. The towns in this game are fun but they aren't very big with only the dungeons being of any large size for this game. However there are lots of towns/villages with many stations to find on other tracks. The side quests in this game are fun and numerous and theyThis game in a "Deku" nutshell is good. There isn't much that stands out as amazing and there isn't much that is bad either. The towns in this game are fun but they aren't very big with only the dungeons being of any large size for this game. However there are lots of towns/villages with many stations to find on other tracks. The side quests in this game are fun and numerous and they unlock more of the spirit tracks that you have to travel along to reach destinations which allows for faster travel across the lands and adds some tracks that reveal new stations that have things like mini games or treasure on them. I also love the train customization as there is a few choices and all of them are different but you have to collect treasure to build them which is a problem as some are very difficult to find. If it had been done like Phantom Hourglass I would have liked it more but I understand that some people didn't like the way it was done in that game. The bosses are all cool and unique and some can be challenging like the Sand Temple's boss. The problem is that none of these are super unique and everything is done to a good standard. This doesn't mean that it is a bad game but compared to other Zelda titles like Ocarina of Time and A Link to the past it doesn't stand out.

    Thanks for reading my review.
    Expand
  44. Jul 27, 2016
    9
    The only main problem with this game is that this game is strange and out of place. Overall this game has great gameplay, good controls, and you can play on the go!

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#6 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Edge Magazine
    80
    Spirit Tracks' aging tricks continue to carry you cack into the narcotic realms of pure ritual, until you're deep in the caverns yet again, holding the magic yellow boomerang once more, and wondering what quirky brilliance it will bring with it this time. [Christmas 2009, p.92]
  2. Not a huge leap forward for the series but a wonderful game nonetheless. Enjoy. [Christmas 2009, p.91]
  3. A superb quest that doesn't rewrite the rules but delivers another engrossing Zelda adventure. If you own a DS, buy it.