The Sims 3 DS

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    85
    Ultimately, The Sims 3 gives DS owners the Sims game they've always wanted, and it does a pretty fine job of condensing the console and PC experience into a handheld. In spite of the design and technical problems that crop up along the way, the game is just as entertaining and engrossing as ever, and the constant need to complete one more task, earn the next rank or achieve one last goal is a strong enough pull to keep you playing for hours on end.
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    Despite its limitations, Sims 3 manages to be the closest to the true Sims experience for people who want to play God on the go.
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    75
    All in all, The Sims 3 for the DS is probably the most worthwhile handheld port of the series yet, and gamers who want to play the Sims but don't have a game-worthy computer or stationary console system can finally enjoy some of the proper Sims experience. If you've already got the heftier PC or console versions, though, I wouldn't bother unless you're really dying to Sim on the go.
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    75
    The Sims 3 on the DS finally delivers an open-world god-sim experience, but it's not without some minor frustrations.
  5. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Dec 31, 2010
    71
    A decent game. [Christmas 2010, p.83]
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    70
    The Sims 3 provides the first open-world experience in the series for a Nintendo handheld, and does quite a good job of it, with enough options, subtlety, neighbours and mini-objectives that there's always something interesting to do. However, the content is limited to a somewhat narrow framework, and overall it's not immersive enough to provide anything much more complex than the original PC game.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    70
    If you're a fan of The Sims and have a Nintendo DS, the game is worth the play. Otherwise, won't be this title that will attract you to the franchise.
  8. Nintendo Gamer
    Feb 6, 2011
    69
    A decent portable version. [Christmas 2010, p.74]
  9. Jan 13, 2011
    58
    It is still The Sims though, and it's remarkable how durable the core experience remains even on a small screen.

Awards & Rankings

#20 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
#22 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. May 23, 2016
    10
    This is an excellent portable Sims game. In fact, I think it actually can compare to the console and PC versions! You can create your own homeThis is an excellent portable Sims game. In fact, I think it actually can compare to the console and PC versions! You can create your own home from scratch, and there are plenty of customization options. The graphics are pretty impressive for a DS game. The most surprising thing for me is that the DS version even lets you go into the town. It isn't small, either. In fact, it's almost as big as the PC map! There are plenty of things to do, people to meet, and goals to accomplish. I love this game, and it is so addictive. I strongly recommend this game if you are a fan of The Sims games. Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Pros:
    -For the first time ever, players can experience a full life simulation on a handheld for NDS
    -Many original things from the pc version
    -Player can walk around town and chat with people on the street like in the PC version
    -Can visit neighbor's house, but you must befriend with one of the member in the house
    -There is a new karma power which gives your sim a power to do something magic for example: changing the season of the town to winter, make your enemy extremely unlucky
    -"Sculpt" a sim using stylus in Create-a-Sim

    Cons:
    -Sims in this game are ugly
    -No newspaper, maid, gardener and repairman. If you want a job you must look on a computer or drive to the workplace
    -Fire can't start if you have low cooking skill, it just make your food quality low
    -Cannot age and die, so there is no child in this game
    -No swimming pool
    -No fence

    Overall this game is awesome and I've spent a lot of hours on this.
    Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2012
    3
    I bought Sims 3 thinking it would be somewhat similar to the PC version, I was terribly wrong. The graphics are way off and the way housingI bought Sims 3 thinking it would be somewhat similar to the PC version, I was terribly wrong. The graphics are way off and the way housing works, it is very limiting to what you can build/buy. Not only that but a couple of times it crashed for me, and the only good thing about this is how fishing works which is kind of addicting if you are into it. The creativity is very limited, as there are not as many things that you can buy than some other versions. Full Review »