User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    I thought that the sims 2 on the ds was one of the best games of all time. Sims 3 was sort of a dissapoontment. it pains me that the sequel to two of the greatest ds games of all time is flawed. It is actually scaled back from sims 2. The graphics are worse, its less fun and they took out the multiplayer from sims 2. it is bigger and has mire to do but it is so much slower and quantityI thought that the sims 2 on the ds was one of the best games of all time. Sims 3 was sort of a dissapoontment. it pains me that the sequel to two of the greatest ds games of all time is flawed. It is actually scaled back from sims 2. The graphics are worse, its less fun and they took out the multiplayer from sims 2. it is bigger and has mire to do but it is so much slower and quantity over quality. It is not a bad game. It still can keep you engaged fir hours at a time but it's not as good as sims 2 which was playable for days at a time (I never tried because I have a life but it is addictive) I hope ea makes the sims 4 as good as sism 2 or they sh.ould just nit do iT, Expand
  2. May 8, 2011
    5
    Didn't like the graphic in the game too much, especially in the face of the character when you're creating them, not a lot of clothes or different styles. Difficult to control, too many things to press, (ex: when you're making your character talk, or eat, you have to confirm or deny by pressing the check or X in the bottom of the touch screen, and when you're using the stylus, you don'tDidn't like the graphic in the game too much, especially in the face of the character when you're creating them, not a lot of clothes or different styles. Difficult to control, too many things to press, (ex: when you're making your character talk, or eat, you have to confirm or deny by pressing the check or X in the bottom of the touch screen, and when you're using the stylus, you don't always see it there. Can be slow when your Sim is driving to another place on the map. There's no fast forward button.
    Just an OK game. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    I was very surprised with the game, this ds game was very entertaining, and I enjoyed it. Although the outfit selection is slim, I enjoyed riding in the passenger seat of my car playing my favorite game. This game, to me, is worth spending the money on!
  4. May 27, 2012
    3
    I bought Sims 3 thinking it would be somewhat similar to the PC version, I was terribly wrong. The graphics are way off and the way housing works, it is very limiting to what you can build/buy. Not only that but a couple of times it crashed for me, and the only good thing about this is how fishing works which is kind of addicting if you are into it. The creativity is very limited, as thereI bought Sims 3 thinking it would be somewhat similar to the PC version, I was terribly wrong. The graphics are way off and the way housing works, it is very limiting to what you can build/buy. Not only that but a couple of times it crashed for me, and the only good thing about this is how fishing works which is kind of addicting if you are into it. The creativity is very limited, as there are not as many things that you can buy than some other versions. Collapse
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pros:
    -For the first time ever, players can experience a full life simulation on a handheld for NDS
    -Many original things from the pc version
    -Player can walk around town and chat with people on the street like in the PC version
    -Can visit neighbor's house, but you must befriend with one of the member in the house
    -There is a new karma power which gives your sim a power to do something magic for example: changing the season of the town to winter, make your enemy extremely unlucky
    -"Sculpt" a sim using stylus in Create-a-Sim

    Cons:
    -Sims in this game are ugly
    -No newspaper, maid, gardener and repairman. If you want a job you must look on a computer or drive to the workplace
    -Fire can't start if you have low cooking skill, it just make your food quality low
    -Cannot age and die, so there is no child in this game
    -No swimming pool
    -No fence

    Overall this game is awesome and I've spent a lot of hours on this.
    Expand
  6. May 27, 2012
    0
    I bought Sims 3 thinking it would be somewhat similar to the PC version, I was terribly wrong. The graphics are way off and the way housing works, it is very limiting to what you can build/buy. Not only that but a couple of times it crashed for me, and the only good thing about this is how fishing works which is kind of addicting if you are into it. The creativity is very limited, as thereI bought Sims 3 thinking it would be somewhat similar to the PC version, I was terribly wrong. The graphics are way off and the way housing works, it is very limiting to what you can build/buy. Not only that but a couple of times it crashed for me, and the only good thing about this is how fishing works which is kind of addicting if you are into it. The creativity is very limited, as there are not as many things that you can buy than some other versions. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 9, 2011
    70
    The Sims 3 provides the first open-world experience in the series for a Nintendo handheld, and does quite a good job of it, with enough options, subtlety, neighbours and mini-objectives that there's always something interesting to do. However, the content is limited to a somewhat narrow framework, and overall it's not immersive enough to provide anything much more complex than the original PC game.
  2. Feb 6, 2011
    69
    A decent portable version. [Christmas 2010, p.74]
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    75
    All in all, The Sims 3 for the DS is probably the most worthwhile handheld port of the series yet, and gamers who want to play the Sims but don't have a game-worthy computer or stationary console system can finally enjoy some of the proper Sims experience. If you've already got the heftier PC or console versions, though, I wouldn't bother unless you're really dying to Sim on the go.