Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. The superior writing of The Urbz makes it far better than its predecessor "Bustin' Out." There aren't many handheld titles this solid. [Feb 2005, p.113]
  2. The linear storyline, inability to build your own house, and total lack of autonomy for the character under your control may turn diehard Sims fans away, while the number of mundane chores that are required to get through the game may repel those looking for a graphic adventure. To me, the game is a perfect mixture of both.
  3. There's a surprising amount of fun stuff here, if you have the patience to see it all. [Feb 2005, p.115]
  4. For a handheld like the DS this is the perfect little obsessive compulsive game to keep you occupied for five minutes while you wait for a table, or as a game your girlfriend can swipe from you and figure out that touching is good.
  5. The occasional control wonkyness is the one new negative, which is counteracted by the added minigames and location. [Feb 2005, p.125]
  6. Even after you've completed the missions, you'll enjoy the depth of developing relationships with Urbz and collecting a catalog full of items. [Feb 2005, p.114]
  7. It’s a rare occurrence for me to become totally engrossed by a videogame, but this one had me captivated from the get-go.
  8. It utilizes the DS touch screen feature well, although the full power of the DS’s resources isn’t fully expressed. While it may not be as in-depth as its console counterparts are, the DS version does a decent job of representing itself.
  9. An addictive game that any fan of games like "Animal Crossing" will appreciate. It doesn’t take full advantage of the DS capabilities, but it’s still one of the better games currently available. Look above you for the hovering diamond and give it a shot.
  10. The game's mundane subject matter sometimes overwhelms the experience, since having to frequently rest, shower, and relieve yourself in the game is about as much fun as it sounds. But The Urbz nevertheless provides some surprising depth and lasting value.
  11. Visually it’s hardly stretching beyond what a GBA could offer and the scratchy music begins to grate after a short time.
  12. 70
    The new hardware is much more capable than what's being done here.
  13. Definitely worth a look for fans of the series and newcomers alike, but there are better choices out there.
  14. I was apprehensive when I first started playing this title. The complexity was a turn off at first, but I learned my way around the game in no time. The subtle approach that the storyline takes will ease you in.
  15. Bringing your very own creation up from nothing and turning them into a successful member of the gaming society can prove to be curiously addictive.
  16. This is a cash-in with a couple of extras and very little touch-screen support.
  17. The various drives and needs are back and rather than be an engrossing part of the overall gameplay they're just a pain in the ass.
  18. If life simulation is your bag, Urbz DS will keep you happy enough while you're on the move.
  19. Being able to control some of the action on the touch screen is a nice feature and really comes in handy. I would have liked to see more things to do with the screen though.
  20. The constant need to micromanage my character was a huge turn off, and EA's horrible use of the touch screen doesn't help this title achieve greatness.
  21. Another 'me too' launch release that doesn't particularly surprise; those who have played the GBA version needn't bother with this one.
  22. Basically a GameBoy Advance Urbz re-release in all but name. That version had its flaws so releasing the same game with a few minor additions isn’t going to fool anyone. [Jan 2005, p.121]
  23. 50
    There's a certain obsessive-compulsive appeal to unlocking goals, and the surprisingly good text guarantees that there's always something interesting to read. But these positive traits seem wasted on a dumbed-down, ill-conceived butchery of a perfectly respectable franchise.
  24. A highly addicting title with some major bugs to it, which makes for a horrible experience for a serious "Sim" fan and would rank up there in the "toss the DS against the wall" level of frustration.
  25. It's virtually identical to the mono-screened GBA version and, given that the SP is a significantly smaller and cheaper machine, The Urbz' DS incarnation is all but redundant. [NGC Pocket]
  26. Delivers nothing but tedious micromanagement.
  27. 40
    A perfect example of what lazy game publishers will urge their developers to crank out in order to make a profit at a system's launch.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. ValerieB
    Mar 23, 2008
    8
    This game was a greatt game. It was fun. I completed the first 5 missions in a few days because it was all I played. The "S" mission is hardThis game was a greatt game. It was fun. I completed the first 5 missions in a few days because it was all I played. The "S" mission is hard at the end to get through the shocking bars when you are the pet. The artsies mission is hard too. This was a very good game but it was a bit to much like the GBA version. There was only one new game (The sushi one) and there were only a few new characters (Mokey, and Shannon, and Jack and a few others) and there wen't new building and not many new goals (if any). I do wish it had a wireless connection though. For a 2004 game when the DS first came out, this was a very good game. Full Review »
  2. LauraM.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    It is a trill packed game with lots of interesting things to do and also has funpacked mini games.
  3. JemzT.
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    It is a brilliant game, but I only gave it a 9 because, a, you can only have 2 saves on it, and b, you can't link up wirelessly, which I It is a brilliant game, but I only gave it a 9 because, a, you can only have 2 saves on it, and b, you can't link up wirelessly, which I thought could have been done quite easily, and it would have improved it a lot. Full Review »