The Urbz: Sims in the City DS

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShanellG.
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    This is the BEST one i have ever played and i only have two best ones wario touched and THIS !!!
  2. JonD.
    Jan 6, 2005
    7
    My only issue is that if you make a tiny mistake (z.B.: selling trash before you unlock the artsie rep mission, or not finding Daddy Bigbucks in time to annoy the hell out of him) you cannot fix it, and you either have to live with the fact that you've missed things, or start over. Start over is generally not an option, as the consequences of these mistakes generally don't show My only issue is that if you make a tiny mistake (z.B.: selling trash before you unlock the artsie rep mission, or not finding Daddy Bigbucks in time to annoy the hell out of him) you cannot fix it, and you either have to live with the fact that you've missed things, or start over. Start over is generally not an option, as the consequences of these mistakes generally don't show up until the end of the game. What also annoys me is that the game simply does not use the DS' full graphic potential. This game could have EASILY been accomplished on the GBA, with minimal modification (read: put the PDA in the start menu). I shelled out a ton of cash for this thing, and I want some pretty 3D graphics! My last gripe is the game's obstinate insistence on heterosexuality. Oh, sure, you can get a same-gender character to move in with you.. but the "kiss" option is never avaliable. I don't really feel like playing as a girl just to achieve THAT. Expand
  3. NatashaG.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    This is the BEST game I have ever played I have played lots of games I thought that it was going to be a bad game but is cool.
  4. EvanM.
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    This is a challengingly fun DS game!
  5. JakeM.
    Feb 6, 2005
    4
    I have played this on my DS and think it does not sure the full capabilities of the DS. The graphics could be far better and you hardly ever use the touchscreen which is a big dssappoinment, i thought that the DS was to go where no other portable system had gone before, so why ruin it with making games that are just like the Game Boy Advance games. Could of been alot better, but this is I have played this on my DS and think it does not sure the full capabilities of the DS. The graphics could be far better and you hardly ever use the touchscreen which is a big dssappoinment, i thought that the DS was to go where no other portable system had gone before, so why ruin it with making games that are just like the Game Boy Advance games. Could of been alot better, but this is still a fun and addictive game to play. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Mar 23, 2005
    8
    A lot of talking..but a lot of fun too!
  7. Sharne
    Jul 7, 2005
    8
    I thought this game was Very Good. It took me around 3 months to complete. My Mate even enjoyed playing mine so much that she got her own DS so she could play the game!!! I think it was a great piece of work by the people at EA Games. THANKS !! xx
  8. LauraM.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    It is a trill packed game with lots of interesting things to do and also has funpacked mini games.
  9. ValerieB
    Mar 23, 2008
    8
    This game was a greatt game. It was fun. I completed the first 5 missions in a few days because it was all I played. The "S" mission is hard at the end to get through the shocking bars when you are the pet. The artsies mission is hard too. This was a very good game but it was a bit to much like the GBA version. There was only one new game (The sushi one) and there were only a few newThis game was a greatt game. It was fun. I completed the first 5 missions in a few days because it was all I played. The "S" mission is hard at the end to get through the shocking bars when you are the pet. The artsies mission is hard too. This was a very good game but it was a bit to much like the GBA version. There was only one new game (The sushi one) and there were only a few new characters (Mokey, and Shannon, and Jack and a few others) and there wen't new building and not many new goals (if any). I do wish it had a wireless connection though. For a 2004 game when the DS first came out, this was a very good game. Expand
  10. DSLVT.
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Good game!!
  11. JemzT.
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    It is a brilliant game, but I only gave it a 9 because, a, you can only have 2 saves on it, and b, you can't link up wirelessly, which I thought could have been done quite easily, and it would have improved it a lot.
  12. Mar 13, 2015
    10
    2 best game I played in the ds so far but the game and the gba all equal and less equal the gameplay but still a good game the sims 2 best that already played

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed DS Game of 2004
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2004
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Delivers nothing but tedious micromanagement.
  2. 70
    The new hardware is much more capable than what's being done here.
  3. Cheat Code Central
    60
    Being able to control some of the action on the touch screen is a nice feature and really comes in handy. I would have liked to see more things to do with the screen though.