User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 245

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Justin
    May 20, 2008
    3
    Another very typical Japanese RPG, and yes, that's a bad thing. Japanese game makers have a fetish for convoluted stories, and characters that never shut up. Here is another prime example. You can't mash the buttons, or move the stylus quick enough to make them stop talking, and everything that comes out of their mouths is so trite, so superfluously annoying that it ruins the Another very typical Japanese RPG, and yes, that's a bad thing. Japanese game makers have a fetish for convoluted stories, and characters that never shut up. Here is another prime example. You can't mash the buttons, or move the stylus quick enough to make them stop talking, and everything that comes out of their mouths is so trite, so superfluously annoying that it ruins the experience. Note to game makers, shut up, your story lines always blow. Expand
  2. GleanH.
    Dec 9, 2008
    3
    Puzzle solving is non existent, you arent even allowed to solve a puzzle until you talk to someone who tells you how to solve the puzzle, how is that fun? save your money, buy a comic and a pen then draw all over the comic - just as fun!
  3. AlR
    Jul 5, 2008
    2
    I don't get how can ANYONE call the characters "loveable". Our "hero" is a moron with a never-ending need to behave EMO even before the stupidiest of situations. I recognize that the way on how you battle is certainly out of the box and entertaining once you learn how to handle it (it's learning curve is WAAAAAAAAAAAY long and hard). In fact, it is it's only redeeming I don't get how can ANYONE call the characters "loveable". Our "hero" is a moron with a never-ending need to behave EMO even before the stupidiest of situations. I recognize that the way on how you battle is certainly out of the box and entertaining once you learn how to handle it (it's learning curve is WAAAAAAAAAAAY long and hard). In fact, it is it's only redeeming point. The art sucks (way to much Hip-Hop crap, in my opinion and it's not original at all in the style itself. Pointy hair anyone?) and the music is downright annoying. Specially the one you ARE FORCED TO LISTEN FOR THE MOST PART OF THE GAME, the one with the girl singing which enters in a f*cking endless loop. This is, by no means, the best DS game. Excelent gameplay, nothing more. NOTHING more. Expand
  4. AndrewJedlowski
    Apr 22, 2008
    1
    JET GRIND RADIO RIPOFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Well Lets see the town is called shibuya like how In JGR its called Shibuya-Cho featuring rip characters(never seen that before) hip music and quirky gameplay this might have well been a collaboration with sega to do a JGR RPG. The sadJET GRIND RADIO RIPOFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Well Lets see the town is called shibuya like how In JGR its called Shibuya-Cho featuring rip characters(never seen that before) hip music and quirky gameplay this might have well been a collaboration with sega to do a JGR RPG. The sad thing is that noone will notice and think Square is brilliant. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2010
    1
    Completely marred by typical Japanese storytelling. You can't hit the skip button fast enough on the insanely bad dialogue and plot. I admit that I am completely biased on this point, but after years of god awful story lines, and hyper-condensed convolution, I can't stomach another minute of button punching just to get back control over the game. Note to game developers: I didn't pick upCompletely marred by typical Japanese storytelling. You can't hit the skip button fast enough on the insanely bad dialogue and plot. I admit that I am completely biased on this point, but after years of god awful story lines, and hyper-condensed convolution, I can't stomach another minute of button punching just to get back control over the game. Note to game developers: I didn't pick up your title to read a crappy novel!!! Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2011
    0
    Absolutely awful. I read all the great reviews, and I tried to give it a chance, but it was so amazingly boring that I had to put it down. The text went on and on - I kept wanting to play the game, but I wasn't interested in what the people were saying. By the time I tried to play the game I was so bored that I didn't care. This is the most overrated game I have ever played. PlayAbsolutely awful. I read all the great reviews, and I tried to give it a chance, but it was so amazingly boring that I had to put it down. The text went on and on - I kept wanting to play the game, but I wasn't interested in what the people were saying. By the time I tried to play the game I was so bored that I didn't care. This is the most overrated game I have ever played. Play Zelda instead. Collapse
  7. Jan 17, 2011
    0
    Absolutely awful. I read all the great reviews, and I tried to give it a chance, but it was so amazingly boring that I had to put it down. The text went on and on - I kept wanting to play the game, but I wasn't interested in what the people were saying. By the time I tried to play the game I was so bored that I didn't care. This is the most overrated game I have ever played. PlayAbsolutely awful. I read all the great reviews, and I tried to give it a chance, but it was so amazingly boring that I had to put it down. The text went on and on - I kept wanting to play the game, but I wasn't interested in what the people were saying. By the time I tried to play the game I was so bored that I didn't care. This is the most overrated game I have ever played. Play Zelda instead. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 90
    The briskly moving plot and the unique battle system adds up yet another winner for Square Enix. [May 2008, p.82]
  2. As far as handheld RPGs go, it doesn’t get much more original than this.
  3. Thw World Ends with You may not have a big name like "Final Fantasy" or "Kingdom Hearts" attached to it, but it certainly deserves the same kind of success. [May 2008, p.87]