The World Ends with You DS

The World Ends with You Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story begins as our hero, Neku, wakes up amidst the hustle and bustle of Shibuya, Tokyo. Confused and disoriented, he receives a message on his phone warning him that he will cease to exist unless he completes a certain mission. With his life seemingly on the line, Neku plunges into theThe story begins as our hero, Neku, wakes up amidst the hustle and bustle of Shibuya, Tokyo. Confused and disoriented, he receives a message on his phone warning him that he will cease to exist unless he completes a certain mission. With his life seemingly on the line, Neku plunges into the back streets of the urban labyrinth... Experience the urban grit and neon of the coolest district in Tokyo with a distinctive, high quality style of in-game artwork. Meet an achingly hip cast of characters each with an interesting personality and stylish sense in fashion, music and culture. Highly innovative and intuitive combat system that makes full use of the Nintendo DS Touch Screen, Dual Screens and Microphone. Use psychic powers to read the thoughts of the population, put words into people's minds, and move objects to help you progress in your adventure. Immerse yourself in an amazing audio soundtrack featuring a diverse fusion of bleeding-edge hip-hop, rock, and techno. A tale of friendship, hope and overcoming your challenges, creatively told with a modern edge. Shop till you drop: Keep abreast of the latest Trends to stay one step ahead of the fashion scene and your enemies. Trade items with friends using Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection too. Action-packed minigame fun that can be enjoyed by up to four players via DS Wireless Play. Engage the Chance Encounter mode via DS Wireless Play to share data with fellow game users you bump into in the real world. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    Games rarely have things this interesting to say or approach them from this outlandish a vector. Listen up.
  2. Not only is the gameplay built from the ground-up for the DS, but the story is actually about something – not just orcs and elves.
  3. With its frantic dual-screen battles in a dense little city, The World Ends With You is a surprisingly hardcore, impossibly ambitious DS title. This pint-size powerhouse might sadly intimidate a few DS owners and their Pokeymans. Don’t get scared off; put down your Zeldas and your juice boxes for two minutes and try taking on The World.
  4. Fantastic visuals, a wonderful soundtrack and original and compelling gameplay make this a must-have gem for the DS.
  5. games(TM)
    90
    The greatest strength of The World Ends With You is that, in spite of its genre-bending innovations, not a single new element has been introduced just for the sake of it. [June 2008, p.110]
  6. 86
    My final thought on The World Ends With You is that it's a grower. I was not initially sold on the game, but as I sunk more time into it, the more it grew on me.
  7. It ultimately suffers from trying too hard to be innovative and forgets the important part of being user friendly.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 85
  2. Negative: 6 out of 85
  1. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Square Enix, with its unfortunate tenancy to publish almost anything that comes through the door, has lost my respect as a publisher. ThatSquare Enix, with its unfortunate tenancy to publish almost anything that comes through the door, has lost my respect as a publisher. That being said, they are one of the few publishers that would take the risk of publishing this game, so rich in things that have not been done before, and for that, I am grateful. Innovative, with an excellent plot, with twists I never saw coming. Worth playing, and for me, worth a 10/10. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Its not exaggerating to call it one of the best games on the NDS, The World Ends With You brings a refreshingly new game play experience forIts not exaggerating to call it one of the best games on the NDS, The World Ends With You brings a refreshingly new game play experience for the JRPG genre, and one of the games that make full use of the NDS dual screen function. Not simply pure game play, the game brings along a great music collection and a fantastic storyline. While the story was not particularly long, its short,straight to the point and you would've understood the plot and its details by the end of the game. After the end game, there also reports to collect to as unlockables for more details, and even a special chapter.
    Overall, a good game and challenging experience as its a new type of game.Worth a pick up.
    Expand
  3. Joh'nzJ.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Cool control system.
  4. Jonathan
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    Is this the best game of all time? No. Is this an amazing game that deserves a 10? OH YEA! This is a game unlike anything I'd ever Is this the best game of all time? No. Is this an amazing game that deserves a 10? OH YEA! This is a game unlike anything I'd ever played before. A few days before actually purchasing it, I read a lot of reviews that said the same thing. So if you're interested in something that's innovative, this is the game for you!! But be sure to check out all other postings as well. I'm a gamer, like a challenge, and also am mildly obsessive about completing a game/story. Needless to say, not everyone is like me with respect to games - so keep your eyes open for things in reviews that you think you would dislike about this game before buying it. TONS of features to the game. Here's a small list: Clothing System (which ties into the Popularity System), Pins System (which is sort of like skills), Food System (eat food to gain stats... oh, and your "eating" cool down lasts in real-time. You can only eat so many "bytes" of food each REAL Day), the Sleep System (when loading your saved game, you are given free xp for your skills based upon how long it has been since you last played), Variable Difficulty System (you decide the difficulty... oh, and if your difficulty is higher, then you are rewarded for it with more base and skill xp), Variable Level System (you know how you gain levels in an RPG? well you can scale these back and increase your drop rate for items. For instance: I am lvl 8, but I scale down to lvl 7. Now the game is more difficult for me, but my chances for receiving items is doubled), and more. All of these systems are eventually introduced and explained in full detail with the game's excellent method of providing tutorials (which helped me a lot since I never actually had the manual - bought the game used). **NOTE: There is only ONE save game allowed. Bummer, I know. I wanted my wife to play the game, but that would wind up destroying my save... Life is full of unexpected challenges haha Great story (yes, slow at the start, but it picks up), TONS of extras even post game that explain the unanswered questions in the story. Um... how to best say it... if you like Anime, then you'll already have a particular disposition towards liking this game as well. Steep learning curve (as others have mentioned) since you need to monitor two (yes, two) characters during a fight at the same time. Also, you'll have to get really friendly with your DS's Stylus (if you haven't already)... now, I'm a pro ;) MASSIVE NUMBER OF SKILLS!!! These skills (which are represented as "pins" - like pins that you wear) level up (each skill has its own experience), and sometimes "evolve" into higher-class skills. Did I think this was corny at first? yes... but I don't think so anymore. How's the Music? Wow. Glad you asked. The music is incredible. Even in the DS's semi-lame stereo speakers, all of the words are clear, soft on the ears, and easy to understand. There are other games (like Rune Factory, for instance) that have songs with voice in them also, but many times, these songs sound muffled/lower quality/really yucky. This game (World Ends With You) isn't like that at all. The audio is brilliant!! - Note: The song style/genre isn't my type really. It's sort of a cross between some hip-hop, a bit of rap, and perhaps some mild pop. This isn't a perfect synopsis of it, but even though these songs aren't my style, I didn't mind listening to any of them (they aren't repetitive, so they didn't get on my nerves). Well, I hope this helps you make a more informed decision on your potential purchase! As for me, the buy was well worth it. Expand
  5. AdamF.
    Jul 24, 2008
    9
    despite taking a ton of new ideas at once, TWEWY manages to avert disaster and emerge as one of the coolest and most enjoyable handheld games despite taking a ton of new ideas at once, TWEWY manages to avert disaster and emerge as one of the coolest and most enjoyable handheld games in ages. The electronica music is also a great idea, and the writing is either very well done or so ridiculously over-the-top that it's funny (see Sho Minimamoto, AKA the Grim Heaper). Some games are fun, but TWEWY is just cool. Expand
  6. VincentD
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    Once you get past the minor flaws the game has, The World Ends With You proves to be one of the best games on DS. The quirky and lovable Once you get past the minor flaws the game has, The World Ends With You proves to be one of the best games on DS. The quirky and lovable characters, intriguing story, and frantickly-addictive gameplay push this game over the top to become the powerhouse of JRPGs. There is just so much ground-breaking material here. If the bonus missions don't keep you coming back for more, the story will. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2011
    0
    Absolutely awful. I read all the great reviews, and I tried to give it a chance, but it was so amazingly boring that I had to put it down.Absolutely awful. I read all the great reviews, and I tried to give it a chance, but it was so amazingly boring that I had to put it down. The text went on and on - I kept wanting to play the game, but I wasn't interested in what the people were saying. By the time I tried to play the game I was so bored that I didn't care. This is the most overrated game I have ever played. Play Zelda instead. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#4 Most Shared DS Game of 2008