Wario: Master of Disguise DS

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
Buy On
  1. These minigames are passable at first, but the fact that you have to complete one every single time you open a chest will have you questioning whether any treasure is worth this constant hassle.
  2. Although one could classify Wario: Master of Disguise as a platformer, I'd say it has more in common with a puzzle-genre game. Apart from the boss encounters, there isn't a lot of action here.
  3. AceGamez
    70
    If the game ran as smoothly and perfectly as I am sure it was intended to then it would have been superb, worthy of an eight or nine.
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    68
    Plenty of typically interesting Wario ideas in another original and amusing platformer, but it's spoiled by a deeply uncomfortable and annoying control system. [Apr 2007, p.54]
  5. Just think of it as a new challenging adventure with one your favorite characters and new "stylus skills" added.
  6. I somehow can't seem to put the game down. Its one redeeming quality is that it's so incredibly addictive. The controls are brutal at times, but the game is creative and enough of a new experience that it makes the game feel like something fresh.
  7. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    68
    One for the Wario hardcore only. [June 2007, p.95]
  8. Nintendo Power
    65
    Despite its shortcomings, Master of Disguise managers to deliver a moderately enjoyable platforming romp. [Apr 2007, p.86]
  9. With good visuals, good sound and average gameplay, this title’s overall score is hurt by some poor implementation of the touch screen functionality, which just did not do [as] good as job as it could [have].
  10. 65
    The gameplay stays varied throughout, but Master of Disguise ends up feeling a little gimmicky due to uninteresting characters, plot, environments and graphics.
  11. Games Master UK
    63
    A few nice ideas are let down by an overenthusiastic DS control scheme. [June 2007, p.69]
  12. A passable puzzler, but it lacks polish, and the touch-screen controls weren't necessary.
  13. 60
    Not particularly a very good Nintendo release. Its design might attempt a DS-specific presentation, but the implementation of the touch screen elements is so amateurish with concepts that wouldn't have flown in the early part of the Nintendo DS system's life cycle.
  14. 60
    Level design, enemy design, and damn near every other category of this game are in short, unimpressive.
  15. It looks like Wario should stick to minigame compilations, after all.
  16. It's not that the Emperor has no clothes, but in Master of Disguise, Wario's garb looks distinctly threadbare, despite some cute ideas.
  17. It’s a shame to see great anti-heroes fall to such depths.
  18. Wario: Master of Disguise could have been a huge leap forward for Nintendo's anti-hero. Instead, it ends up as a low-grade, tiresome platformer, knocking the series almost completely off course.
  19. Discovering and learning to use the different disguises keeps Wario: Master of Disguise exciting for a few levels. But once the novelty wears off, there’s really nothing to keep you interested in the game.
  20. 50
    All in all, Wario: Master of Disguise was a game that attempted to bring something new to the table, but instead faltered and broke along the way.
  21. While Master of Disguise may look like a Wario platformer on the surface, the game is plagued by terrible pacing, obfuscated level design, and unsatisfying controls. If you're not going to do a Wario game right, Nintendo, don't do it at all.
  22. [A] less than stellar adventure.
  23. 50
    Wario's a greedy so-and-so, and he goes to a lot of trouble to get what he wants. Master of Disguise is an enjoyable diversion which some will enjoy, but you have to question whether Wario's elaborate scheme was really worth bothering with in the first place.

Awards & Rankings

#42 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#4 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. AlexS.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    I love this game it is so cool even though it can get hard in several parts. And I'm only on A Third Thief Brings Grief Level 4 but it I love this game it is so cool even though it can get hard in several parts. And I'm only on A Third Thief Brings Grief Level 4 but it is still awesome. Full Review »
  2. ChristofferL
    Jul 28, 2009
    6
    This is the weirdest wario game ever made, and I hardly love it. Only 10 unreplayable episodes, bosses without challenge (except Sprinx This is the weirdest wario game ever made, and I hardly love it. Only 10 unreplayable episodes, bosses without challenge (except Sprinx wanting you to solve 3 riddles, that part was annoying) and the system of the crests is kinda pointless, but still fun. The story is not bad or good, there was only one primary goal: collect all 5 pieces of the wishstone and wish for all treasures in the world. Some of the disguise symbols are pretty hard for the system to regonize, like almost everytime I'm about to change my self to Cosmic Wario, the game thinks I want to become Arty Wario even if I draw the circle perfect. The game is fun and feels very well to finally solve a problem you find yourself stuck in, but after completing the whole game, theres an little bonus: gather all treasures and complete the 5 extra episodes, NO THANKS, I just wanted to complete the game. Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    This game is okay, i haven't played all the way through it, so don't go by my review of the game if you want to buy it. The graphics are niceThis game is okay, i haven't played all the way through it, so don't go by my review of the game if you want to buy it. The graphics are nice for a Nintendo DS game, I can say that as one of the best parts of the game. This game for some reason seems non linear, because I can't figure out what I'm supposed to do in one level and the shapes that you have to draw are way too complex to memorize, so constant looking at the tutorials is necessary. I can't say too much more, I haven't beat this game yet, my rating, so far after at least two chapters is 7.3/10 Full Review »