Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. 60
    Not particularly a very good Nintendo release. Its design might attempt a DS-specific presentation, but the implementation of the touch screen elements is so amateurish with concepts that wouldn't have flown in the early part of the Nintendo DS system's life cycle.
  2. A passable puzzler, but it lacks polish, and the touch-screen controls weren't necessary.
  3. Just think of it as a new challenging adventure with one your favorite characters and new "stylus skills" added.
  4. These minigames are passable at first, but the fact that you have to complete one every single time you open a chest will have you questioning whether any treasure is worth this constant hassle.
  5. 80
    Precisely what you'd expect from Wario: tons of juvenile, yet still pretty funny, scatological humor and some passable minigames. What saves it from mediocrity is the fact that it is actually really challenging.
  6. The sad fact is that there isn't a single spark of imagination or joy in this entire game. Despite some obvious effort, Wario: Master of Disguise is just utterly tedious in every respect and an absolute chore to play.
  7. It's not that the Emperor has no clothes, but in Master of Disguise, Wario's garb looks distinctly threadbare, despite some cute ideas.
  8. 65
    The gameplay stays varied throughout, but Master of Disguise ends up feeling a little gimmicky due to uninteresting characters, plot, environments and graphics.
  9. Discovering and learning to use the different disguises keeps Wario: Master of Disguise exciting for a few levels. But once the novelty wears off, there’s really nothing to keep you interested in the game.
  10. 40
    Poorly made platformers were a big part of the 8- and 16-bit eras, too, so maybe things are just coming full circle. Fortunately, most of us still remember how not to spend our money on crap like this.
  11. A few nice ideas are let down by an overenthusiastic DS control scheme. [June 2007, p.69]
  12. 80
    Master of Disguise is a textbook on using the touch-screen to revamp traditional genres -- fans of off-beat action games are going to love it.
  13. There’s a desperate lack of innovation on display here; nondescript levels based around ice caves, pyramids and inevitable Mayan temples. The boring locations exacerbate the sneaking feeling that the levels, which can easily take an hour or longer to finish, are simply too large. [JPN Import; Mar 2007, p.81]
  14. Perhaps the biggest letdown of all is that Wario’s mischievous side is never allowed to flourish with few opportunities to create havoc in Kaitou Wario The Seven’s sprawling levels. [JPN Import; Apr 2007, p.108]
  15. If the game ran as smoothly and perfectly as I am sure it was intended to then it would have been superb, worthy of an eight or nine.
  16. This is one(more)DS game not to be missed. [Apr 2007, p.59]
  17. It's a decent enough action-platforming romp, sure, but it's clearly not the product of the real Wario crew. [May 2007, p.87]
  18. Its use of the DS touchscreen is innovative, despite its handful of control issues. Platformers don't always have to be walks in the park, and it's rare to have one challenge you this much mentally.
  19. Despite its shortcomings, Master of Disguise managers to deliver a moderately enjoyable platforming romp. [Apr 2007, p.86]
  20. Although one could classify Wario: Master of Disguise as a platformer, I'd say it has more in common with a puzzle-genre game. Apart from the boss encounters, there isn't a lot of action here.
  21. While Master of Disguise may look like a Wario platformer on the surface, the game is plagued by terrible pacing, obfuscated level design, and unsatisfying controls. If you're not going to do a Wario game right, Nintendo, don't do it at all.
  22. It looks like Wario should stick to minigame compilations, after all.
  23. 60
    Level design, enemy design, and damn near every other category of this game are in short, unimpressive.
  24. One for the Wario hardcore only. [June 2007, p.95]
  25. Plenty of typically interesting Wario ideas in another original and amusing platformer, but it's spoiled by a deeply uncomfortable and annoying control system. [Apr 2007, p.54]
  26. Wario: Master of Disguise could have been a huge leap forward for Nintendo's anti-hero. Instead, it ends up as a low-grade, tiresome platformer, knocking the series almost completely off course.
  27. With good visuals, good sound and average gameplay, this title’s overall score is hurt by some poor implementation of the touch screen functionality, which just did not do [as] good as job as it could [have].
  28. If there’s one thing that can’t be doubted, it’s Wario’s credentials as a Master of Disguise – he’s managed to take a sub-par puzzle-platformer, and make it look like an inventive spin on a well-worn genre. Sadly, this particular disguise doesn’t stand up to scrutiny.
  29. I somehow can't seem to put the game down. Its one redeeming quality is that it's so incredibly addictive. The controls are brutal at times, but the game is creative and enough of a new experience that it makes the game feel like something fresh.
  30. 50
    All in all, Wario: Master of Disguise was a game that attempted to bring something new to the table, but instead faltered and broke along the way.
  31. Apart from being tediously simple and lacking variety, the challenges have absolutely no tension, because failure just means you have to try again.
  32. 50
    Wario's a greedy so-and-so, and he goes to a lot of trouble to get what he wants. Master of Disguise is an enjoyable diversion which some will enjoy, but you have to question whether Wario's elaborate scheme was really worth bothering with in the first place.
  33. [A] less than stellar adventure.
  34. Due to a few gameplay hiccups here and there and some rather boring gameplay in other spots Wario doesn’t quite approach greatness. It’s a good fun diversion for those who like the platformer/puzzle/Metroid hybrid but all others can probably skip it. [JPN Import]
  35. It’s a shame to see great anti-heroes fall to such depths.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. AlexS.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    I love this game it is so cool even though it can get hard in several parts. And I'm only on A Third Thief Brings Grief Level 4 but it I love this game it is so cool even though it can get hard in several parts. And I'm only on A Third Thief Brings Grief Level 4 but it is still awesome. Full Review »
  2. ChristofferL
    Jul 28, 2009
    6
    This is the weirdest wario game ever made, and I hardly love it. Only 10 unreplayable episodes, bosses without challenge (except Sprinx This is the weirdest wario game ever made, and I hardly love it. Only 10 unreplayable episodes, bosses without challenge (except Sprinx wanting you to solve 3 riddles, that part was annoying) and the system of the crests is kinda pointless, but still fun. The story is not bad or good, there was only one primary goal: collect all 5 pieces of the wishstone and wish for all treasures in the world. Some of the disguise symbols are pretty hard for the system to regonize, like almost everytime I'm about to change my self to Cosmic Wario, the game thinks I want to become Arty Wario even if I draw the circle perfect. The game is fun and feels very well to finally solve a problem you find yourself stuck in, but after completing the whole game, theres an little bonus: gather all treasures and complete the 5 extra episodes, NO THANKS, I just wanted to complete the game. Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    This game is okay, i haven't played all the way through it, so don't go by my review of the game if you want to buy it. The graphics are niceThis game is okay, i haven't played all the way through it, so don't go by my review of the game if you want to buy it. The graphics are nice for a Nintendo DS game, I can say that as one of the best parts of the game. This game for some reason seems non linear, because I can't figure out what I'm supposed to do in one level and the shapes that you have to draw are way too complex to memorize, so constant looking at the tutorials is necessary. I can't say too much more, I haven't beat this game yet, my rating, so far after at least two chapters is 7.3/10 Full Review »