Yoshi Touch & Go Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Yoshi and Baby Mario embark on another wild adventure, this time on the Nintendo DS. Using the Nintendo DS system's two screens and touch-screen capability, you'll have to help Yoshi guard Baby Mario and guide him to safety. On vertical-action levels, players must use the stylus to drawYoshi and Baby Mario embark on another wild adventure, this time on the Nintendo DS. Using the Nintendo DS system's two screens and touch-screen capability, you'll have to help Yoshi guard Baby Mario and guide him to safety. On vertical-action levels, players must use the stylus to draw clouds on the touch screen to protect Baby Mario from enemies and lead him to Yoshi. On horizontal side-scrolling levels, players must use the stylus to look out for Yoshi as he gallops across the countryside. On top of all that, Yoshis Touch & Go also features two-player wireless play. Creating lines of clouds with the stylus is fun and intuitive, and despite the simple control interface the game can actually become quite challenging. There is something distinctly satisfying about drawing clouds on the bottom screen, then watching them scroll up and affect the game on the upper screen. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. A game that you can pick up instantly, learn to play within seconds (watch the handy tutorial for all the moves) and then not put down for a fair few hours.
  2. The gameplay in this title uses what the machine was developed for, innovation, and Nintendo gets huge credit for that.
  3. On the whole, it’s an addictive, highly entertaining, egg-chucking cloud-drawing high-scoring romp with plenty of replay value that positively reeks of the Nintendo Difference and is guaranteed to while away many a dull train journey.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    78
    You really have to concentrate on becoming a multitasking fiend - it may look simple, but there's a lot of strategy. [Apr 2005, p.135]
  5. The novelty of the gameplay is almost palpable, but so are the game's tech demo roots.
  6. Sure Yoshi was extremely innovative with its unique controls and I had fun but when does innovation mean that the overall game play experience to painfully short and lackluster? I felt cheated and so will tons of other DS players.
  7. While the action can be borderline frantic, there’s just not enough content to satisfy anyone except maybe the very young or those who desire a full price game that struggle to be entertained for more than twenty minutes.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Jul 28, 2016
    10
    In metascore I would rate this 77/100. Yoshi Touch & Go is a good Yoshi game but is a bit bland and the gameplay is repetitive. And besidesIn metascore I would rate this 77/100. Yoshi Touch & Go is a good Yoshi game but is a bit bland and the gameplay is repetitive. And besides that, that's my only problems. Expand
  2. PaulScottodiP.
    May 27, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite DS game ever. It is cute, and you can play with it for a long time... I haven't gotten bored with it yet...
  3. TonyG.
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    awsome gameplay. this is nintendo at thier finest. original, fun, and very responsive. boards do change up alot also ... so it is not the awsome gameplay. this is nintendo at thier finest. original, fun, and very responsive. boards do change up alot also ... so it is not the smae game over and over again. totally addicting game. was worried it wpould be no good. boy was i wrong. Expand
  4. StuartL.
    Jun 24, 2005
    8
    The only thing bad about this game is the lack of story mode. If it had that it would have been getting 9s or higher.
  5. LawrenceP.
    Aug 16, 2007
    8
    Lots of people don't like the omission of a story mode, which is understandable, but really the game stands alone perfectly well without Lots of people don't like the omission of a story mode, which is understandable, but really the game stands alone perfectly well without one. In fact, I have serious doubts about whether a story mode would work, given the game's unique style. That aside, the game is brilliant. Arcade gameplay doesn't get any better, or more inventive, than this. Using only the stylus, a wide variety of different actions can be achieved--jumping, drawing clouds, capturing items and enemies in bubbles, and throwing eggs. And while that simple array of moves may seem spare when compared to Yoshi's previous adventures, never before have they been integrated so elegantly, and the environments change frequently keeping the gameplay fresh and challenging. The inclusion of several different gameplay modes also helps to keep the game from growing stale. And did I mention how ludicrously addictive it is? Collapse
  6. Dec 17, 2017
    7
    I didn't play this game as much as other games simply because this was at a time when my brothers and I had to share games with each otherI didn't play this game as much as other games simply because this was at a time when my brothers and I had to share games with each other because we didn't have enough to buy games for ourselves. This was one that my brothers played more than me but I played enough to feel confident to talk about. This game was based around the touchscreen much like most of the ds games because they were trying to highlight that feature which was fine if they made it work with the game. This game was based on the touchscreen so it passes for me. It isn't perfect but it was fun, you get to start out in the sky and work your way towards a yoshi that you'll get depending on how you do on your decent. It's so simple yet so charming and back when DS games used to be much more cheap I feel this is perfectly acceptable for a game. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    I hate this game! It is a pile of with 4 mini games and no fun. I don't recommend it for anyone in their right mind. Traded this in for a $5I hate this game! It is a pile of with 4 mini games and no fun. I don't recommend it for anyone in their right mind. Traded this in for a $5 game, and saved a lot of money and had a lot more fun. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

22
15
#15 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005