Yoshi's Island DS Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Return to the colorful wilds of Yoshi's Island in a new platforming adventure for Nintendo DS. A mysterious floating island has suddenly appeared over peaceful Yoshi’s Island. Soon after its arrival, a gaggle of kids vanishes from the island school. Thankfully, Baby Mario, Baby Peach andReturn to the colorful wilds of Yoshi's Island in a new platforming adventure for Nintendo DS. A mysterious floating island has suddenly appeared over peaceful Yoshi’s Island. Soon after its arrival, a gaggle of kids vanishes from the island school. Thankfully, Baby Mario, Baby Peach and Baby Donkey Kong manage to avoid being kidnapped. Now, Yoshi and the three young superstars must set out on a wild and colorful quest to rescue the kids and investigate the ominous island hovering overhead. Thanks to the power of Nintendo DS, all of the lush vistas and perilous paths of Yoshi's Island span two screens. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. It’s improved in every way but still retains all of the elements that made the original an instant classic.
  2. In a time when 2D platformers seem to be fading into gaming history, for fans of the SNES it's downright heartwarming to see a sequel that is true to the classic.
  3. One of the best platformers on the DS. [Jan 2007, p.75]
  4. A pleasure to experience from start to finish. It’s thorough, pretty, sometimes challenging and downright fun to play.
  5. 80
    It's just that compared to the original, it's nowhere near as polished.
  6. Yoshi's Island is a paradise of platforming pleasure and the perfect holiday destination this summer.
  7. The DS version is a fun game, but it doesn’t improve on the original enough to break it out of the museum and into your collection.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. TonyG.
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Classic classic classic! If you are a fan of 2D, this is a must buy. I am having a great time with this game. i definitly know it is better Classic classic classic! If you are a fan of 2D, this is a must buy. I am having a great time with this game. i definitly know it is better than the original. Game is definitely best of the year so far. Nintendo wins this year with a crazy amount of innovative games new to the industry, keeping it cool and fresh for the old school and the new school alike... first the DS, now the WII, nintendo is taking back the crown! well diserved for a company who built this industy. hats off, 2 thumbs up, 3 cheers and 3 snaps in a circle! Go out and get this game now. hard earned cash very well spent! Next game to get ... Castlevania POR Expand
  2. Ben
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    It's a great game! It's not too hard and not too easy, so provides a nice challenge the whole way through. Only game that's It's a great game! It's not too hard and not too easy, so provides a nice challenge the whole way through. Only game that's kept my attention long enough to even come close to beating. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    This game left fond memories of my childhood. It is one of those adorable games certainly suited for hardcore gamers. Everything is solidlyThis game left fond memories of my childhood. It is one of those adorable games certainly suited for hardcore gamers. Everything is solidly made with a heart, it is the best remake of a classic game that is ported to a handheld which is rare. By far, the best DS game I've ever played. Expand
  4. MeganH.
    May 14, 2007
    9
    really fun and imaganitive. But quite hard on the the 3rd and 4th level.
  5. ASibal
    Jan 26, 2007
    8
    This is my first DS game (as I got a DS lite just recently) and I can say it's a good way to motivate me to simply buy some more DS This is my first DS game (as I got a DS lite just recently) and I can say it's a good way to motivate me to simply buy some more DS games. It's a great game in its own right but then the sailor-stream-profanities I seem to blurt out is inversely proportional to the saccharine graphics. Mind you, it's a perfectionist's nightmare, but at least you get lots of fun while you're at it. Collapse
  6. AndrewC.
    Feb 13, 2007
    7
    I am a HUGE fan of the original game, but I'm not so big on this one. Why? Well, for one, it's so similar that it hardly feels I am a HUGE fan of the original game, but I'm not so big on this one. Why? Well, for one, it's so similar that it hardly feels different at all. Second, the bosses are kind of boring and the levels too huge to be interesting. Lastly, the difficulty level is brutal. Don't underestimate it due to its cute visuals - if you want to find all the secrets, or just pass the game, it's going to take a lot of frustrating moments. It isn't fun challenging, it's annoying hard. That's why I don't like it. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2015
    3
    While this game may have given some people the nostalgic feeling of the original Yoshi's Island game, this game leaves a sour taste in myWhile this game may have given some people the nostalgic feeling of the original Yoshi's Island game, this game leaves a sour taste in my mouth. While the first game was fun and appealing, the DS version left me bored and unsatisfied. Instead of having to deal with one annoying baby crying, now we have to endure several, although each baby having it's each different ability is a nice touch of originality. The rest of the game, however, is a step in the wrong direction for the Yoshi's Island line. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.