Yu-Gi-Oh! Nightmare Troubadour DS

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Aug 30, 2005
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Chris
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    I think the game is awesome but the graphics could've been beter.
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    In my opinion, the first truly great Yu-Gi-Oh! handheld game. Touch controls work to perfection, both screens are very helpful, and the tutorial mode is comprehensive on all of the game's aspects (up until that point). The visuals are only decent, with the monster summoning animations looking pretty nice (especially the God cards), but they don't quite use the full power of the DS. SingleIn my opinion, the first truly great Yu-Gi-Oh! handheld game. Touch controls work to perfection, both screens are very helpful, and the tutorial mode is comprehensive on all of the game's aspects (up until that point). The visuals are only decent, with the monster summoning animations looking pretty nice (especially the God cards), but they don't quite use the full power of the DS. Single player revolves around the Virtual World and Battle City story arcs of the original series' season 3, and is pretty challenging (took me a few weeks to finish). Sound is surprisingly nice to hear and I never got annoyed by the quality or tone. Multiplayer is well-done with no downsides at all to speak of in the dueling or trading. Leveling up is effective and is not a pain that forces me to grind on forever, plus earning new cards did not require a bunch of repetitive playing. I would have liked to have seen an unlockable feature for those that decide to keep on playing after unlocking everything (maybe the ability to use two or more forbidden cards in a deck?), but otherwise there isn't much else to complain about. The AI is also pretty smart when dueling and I didn't see them make too many stupid mistakes. Accessible to newcomers, and great for fans of the original series and its own dueling style. 8.7/10 for me. Expand
  3. GlenD.
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best yugioh game ever i dont care wat anyone says.
  4. BryanM.
    Jan 16, 2007
    8
    This game is great with almost all the cards! but some parts are really dum. Like when after you beat the hard part and you think you can get out of the virture world seto's father wants a duel! and he is almost impossible to beat.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Great!
  6. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    Yu-Gi-Oh! Nightmare Troubadour is the first Yu-Gi-Oh! game released for the Nintendo DS. The main plot of the game is Seto Kaiba is hosting a tournament again. Once again, there is an evil plot lurking behind an otherwise grand contest. As the player, you have to battle for the title of grand champion, capture all the god cards, and defeat evil with the help of Yugi Muto, Joey Wheeler, andYu-Gi-Oh! Nightmare Troubadour is the first Yu-Gi-Oh! game released for the Nintendo DS. The main plot of the game is Seto Kaiba is hosting a tournament again. Once again, there is an evil plot lurking behind an otherwise grand contest. As the player, you have to battle for the title of grand champion, capture all the god cards, and defeat evil with the help of Yugi Muto, Joey Wheeler, and friends. The overall game-play is rather average and can be repetitive. Twists in the plot are infrequent meaning a lot of the time you will be doing the same thing over again. The graphics don't really push the DS to the limit, neither does it show much detail. However, despite its flaws, Nightmare Troubadour is a pretty decent game and it's one of the good Yu-Gi-Oh! games out. Expand

Awards & Rankings

26
38
#38 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
20
#20 Most Shared DS Game of 2005
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. A game like this is meant to be shared. The best thing about Nightmare Troubadour is that, whether your friends are into it or not, there's a long list of battles that are waiting to be conquered. Or waiting to conquer you.
  2. 70
    The Yu-Gi-Oh card design is filled with a lot of strategy and depth, and because it's all done on the DS handheld you don't have to invest money in a ton of cards to get into the action.
  3. Nintendo Power
    80
    The game has a robust solo mode that smartly challenges the player to rethink his approach as he battles against a diverse collection of card-slingin' strategists. [Oct 2005, p.99]