Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2007 DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2007 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time, the Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship Tournament series makes its debut on the Nintendo DS™. The official software of the 2007 Yu-Gi-Oh! World Tournament makes worldwide wireless dueling possible utilizing the Nintendo Wi-Fi connection. The game includes 1,600 of the latestFor the first time, the Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship Tournament series makes its debut on the Nintendo DS™. The official software of the 2007 Yu-Gi-Oh! World Tournament makes worldwide wireless dueling possible utilizing the Nintendo Wi-Fi connection. The game includes 1,600 of the latest cards and more cards will be available for download. Voice chat is available before you start dueling. Create and edit the look of your character. Each game includes three exclusive trading cards: Spell Striker, Exploder Dragon, Destiny Hero - Disk Commander. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. An accurate virtual representation of its real world counterpart.
  2. It's easy to control and is so lifelike in it's recreation of the card game, that I wouldn't be surprised if the hardcore Yu-Gi-Oh! fans chuck their card books and play with their DS' instead.
  3. Don’t look at the license and figure it’s some kid game – there’s a whole lot of meat to this package.
  4. Too difficult for newbies, but lacking too many cards for old-hat masters, the game finds and neatly settles into a perfect niche among newer yet established fans who like working with what they're given and/or don't necessarily have the money to buy the game's infamously costly booster packs.
  5. World Championship 2007 will possibly create a few new fans, but most significantly, it will put smiles on hardcore Yu-Gi-Oh! fans.
  6. The huge time investment required to make anything that resembles progress means that this is hardly the best place for newcomers to start but by stark contrast, there's no better Yu-Gi-Oh! title on the market in terms of card lists, AI and sheer longevity.
  7. Games Master UK
    68
    Hardcore Yu-Gi-Oh! players won't be left wanting. [Aug 2007, p.80]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    An amazing game, especially when you know how to play the game. The cards look sweet and the gameplay is smooth with absolutely 0% bugs. AAn amazing game, especially when you know how to play the game. The cards look sweet and the gameplay is smooth with absolutely 0% bugs. A must get for Yu-gi-oh! fans. Collapse
  2. M.L.
    May 28, 2007
    9
    It can be really hard and eternally frustrating but it is the most addictive and best Yu-Gi-Oh! game out there. I haven't even thought It can be really hard and eternally frustrating but it is the most addictive and best Yu-Gi-Oh! game out there. I haven't even thought about playing another game since I got it. Expand
  3. JasonH.
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    Definitely the best Yu-Gi-Oh game out there. Should be strongly considered if you own a DS and is a fan of the game or TV series. Definitely the best Yu-Gi-Oh game out there. Should be strongly considered if you own a DS and is a fan of the game or TV series. M.unkyboywndr, you are completely wrong, you can infact obtain the old cards via packs and the password can only work if you already have one or more copies of the card. Also, you can have one banned card in your deck later on. The best thing about playing on the DS is the wi-fi compatibility, you can download new cards, new banned lists, ghosts (decks that can be dueled against) and duel puzzles. An interesting thing about the game is that you can duel your own recipies (decks you made) which are controled by a AI to test it out which is very neat. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2016
    8
    With how the Yu-Gi-Oh! card game's been progressing in terms of complexity, sometimes you just want to get back to a simpler time. This isWith how the Yu-Gi-Oh! card game's been progressing in terms of complexity, sometimes you just want to get back to a simpler time. This is probably the best Yu-Gi-Oh! game for that purpose.

    This game is a massive time sink if you hope to 'beat' it, considering you have to beat every opponent of a tier five times to get to the next tier. Losses not included, that's at least 30 games. While this isn't an issue in terms of get more Duel Points and buying new cards, it can be if you find an opponent with a deck that's notably difficult to deal with. You don't want to waste your time dueling someone you've already beaten five times, but you might need to get more duel points to buy better cards.

    One minute gripe I have is that I've gotten sick of the imperial organ music by about the tier three opponents. It's not too obnoxious or anything, but I found the survival-duel music to be significantly more catchy and upbeat. It's really unfortunate that such nice music got moved to a challenge mode, one that, depending on how well you did, may start you with the 'low life' music.

    I guess there's no reason to complain about music from a nine year old Yu-Gi-Oh! game, but here we are.

    Overall though, every deck you face is uniquely different (give or take a few decks), and as long as you like to card game, you'll enjoy this game. If you're looking for a DS Yu-Gi-Oh! game and are a beginner, buy/download Sprit Caller. The decks are a lot easier to beat at the beginning, and there's an infinite DP cheat.
    Expand
  5. M.unkyboywndr
    Apr 9, 2007
    7
    I hate that it ignores the existance of older cards (I still use my old YuGiOh! deck from 5 years ago) like Mirror Force and Magic Cyllinder, I hate that it ignores the existance of older cards (I still use my old YuGiOh! deck from 5 years ago) like Mirror Force and Magic Cyllinder, and even my Marauding Captains can't get on the game via my passwords. I realize that a lot of cards from the older editions of the game are banned, but why not let us see them on the game and just not be able to use them? Also, like YGO WC 2004, it immediately immerses you in the game without any sense of where you are or what you're doing. I realize the game is designed to be plot-less, but still; it leaves a lot to be desired. Even with the above cons, YGO WC 07 has a much better flow and follows the rules much more effectively than prior YGO games. Having not beaten the game yet, I'm eager to see what sort of things lie in wait for me in the game. 7 out of 10! Expand

Awards & Rankings

#57 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007