Advance Wars 2: Black Hole Rising Game Boy Advance

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 96
  2. Negative: 2 out of 96
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ProfessorChewy
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    AW2 is such a good game. I get so addicted to it, and you actually gotta think! The hard campaign kept me busy for a while (to tell d truth, it still is) and it gets frustrating but its still hard to stop playing. They should have put infantry actually dying instead of flying out and I like how the different continentz have different looks and stuffs. I've been playing this thing for AW2 is such a good game. I get so addicted to it, and you actually gotta think! The hard campaign kept me busy for a while (to tell d truth, it still is) and it gets frustrating but its still hard to stop playing. They should have put infantry actually dying instead of flying out and I like how the different continentz have different looks and stuffs. I've been playing this thing for years. What a great game. Expand
  2. JedC.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    This game is the best strategy game I have played in my life luckily for me I downloaded it but trust me NEVER avoid it in the shops.
  3. JbS.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Advance Wars. The best game ever! It is the coolest game ever!! It is like a mix of an anime, modern combat and chess, Advance Wars is a challenging game that is easy to pick up and play yer suprisingly deep. This game is not, and I repeat NOT for idiots because this game requires skill, strategy, and knowledge in combat. So, don't waste your time playing those cheap, rusty games! Advance Wars. The best game ever! It is the coolest game ever!! It is like a mix of an anime, modern combat and chess, Advance Wars is a challenging game that is easy to pick up and play yer suprisingly deep. This game is not, and I repeat NOT for idiots because this game requires skill, strategy, and knowledge in combat. So, don't waste your time playing those cheap, rusty games! Move to the greatest strategic game in town! Advance to the next game! I guarantee you: YOU WILL enjoy it! 100% Fun. Expand
  4. RossH.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best strategy game ever buy it or else! i think the final continent missions are hard love the graphics gameplay and music definitely 10.
  5. TerryG.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    Full on action with new CO's and the all new "NEO" tank. Hands on for anyone who's parents tell them, games rought your brain and wants to prove them wrong. Long live AI wars!
  6. JurriaanK.
    Jul 7, 2003
    9
    Brilliant sequel to the brilliant original. I think it's a bit easy (but I've only done 12 missions so far), but the new units, silo's etc. really add a lot of new gameplay to the mix. It would have been easy to drown the simplicity in numerous updates and additions, but fortunately Nintendo kept the basic gameplay the same and only added some spice to the mix. Definitely Brilliant sequel to the brilliant original. I think it's a bit easy (but I've only done 12 missions so far), but the new units, silo's etc. really add a lot of new gameplay to the mix. It would have been easy to drown the simplicity in numerous updates and additions, but fortunately Nintendo kept the basic gameplay the same and only added some spice to the mix. Definitely recommended. Expand
  7. Cam
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    Fantastic Game - great squad combat - i thought these types of games 'died' out a while ago.. i guess not - makes me wish they could bring back shining force.
  8. Marc
    Mar 21, 2004
    8
    How can something so small hold so much fun and depth? Unbelievable...but it does. In spades.
  9. GarrickD.
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    This is the best action game with out major violence!
  10. BillyC.
    Dec 10, 2003
    10
    I have advanced wars 1 and 2 and they both rock iv been a big fan of advanced wars you know there is a rumor that advanced wars 3 is in the making.
  11. MilesF.
    Jul 30, 2003
    9
    I think it was a great game but I'm stuck on the final level.Perhaps a little too hard and only one new unit but great mission ideas. Enjoy!
  12. TyP.
    Aug 13, 2003
    10
    This game rocks. It's more challenging than the first one and the new CO's give it a cool and interesting new look. Plus, giant cannons and missile silos; what more could you ask for?
  13. NicholasD.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    ABSOLUTELY one of the most addicting and worthwhile investments you can make for the GBA. I'm not a fan of war type games at all, or strategy games either for that matter. Advance Wars 1 and 2, however, got me into it. The reason I love the game is not only is campaign mode up for grabs, but like in the first one, you can just play deathmatches and make your own maps to keep you busy ABSOLUTELY one of the most addicting and worthwhile investments you can make for the GBA. I'm not a fan of war type games at all, or strategy games either for that matter. Advance Wars 1 and 2, however, got me into it. The reason I love the game is not only is campaign mode up for grabs, but like in the first one, you can just play deathmatches and make your own maps to keep you busy on road trips, etc. Also, there's an onslaught of new CO's, so you're guaranteed to find the CO that suits your strategy. Buy this game. Expand
  14. ZEROMZ
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    Like everyone else said but 4 me it got a little bland in the mutiplayer because each game boy starts the music at different times leading to headecks and they need to work on max's theme.
  15. StuN.
    Mar 20, 2004
    10
    Its good.
  16. Bombermanthe5th
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Everyone gotta love this if ya inta stratagy gamez. If ya lookin' here for my opioion this iz a brill game. (i agree with sonnie s)
  17. ZackO.
    Apr 30, 2004
    9
    This is a great game with a great concept. it loses one point because it is too cartoonish!! if the creators made it with a more mature feel, it would attract a much larger audience, especialy attracting a bit older teens, which is an age group that is not usually attracted to the gameboy advance. i think they should have made it a little more gritty, for example, not just showing This is a great game with a great concept. it loses one point because it is too cartoonish!! if the creators made it with a more mature feel, it would attract a much larger audience, especialy attracting a bit older teens, which is an age group that is not usually attracted to the gameboy advance. i think they should have made it a little more gritty, for example, not just showing infantry fly off the screen, but actually die. It just needs to be a little more violent, but not too violent that it will scare younger kids. Another thing, some of the dialougue is simply too long and needless! The script in some parts of the game is terrible. Besides that, it is a spectacular game with unlimited tactical options and replay value. Oh, and the music isnt that great. it feels like your watching an Anime Cartoon. The enemies should also be a little more sinister and tough looking, like Flak and Sturm. Expand
  18. N.ZipkilB.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    its a cool game i play it much with my friend and we always win even if its on it hard and the last level is a piece of cake.
  19. Thom
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This is an excellent game. I've bought a brand new GBA so I can play this game. I love every minute of it. Sure, the story line is not as good as the original, but the ability to play as almost all of the 19 characters in the campaign mode almost makes up for it. Sure, it doesn't have much new for a new game, but it's great in the first place and what is new only improves This is an excellent game. I've bought a brand new GBA so I can play this game. I love every minute of it. Sure, the story line is not as good as the original, but the ability to play as almost all of the 19 characters in the campaign mode almost makes up for it. Sure, it doesn't have much new for a new game, but it's great in the first place and what is new only improves upon it. One thing I do miss is the player reaction in the battles though. Other than that. I LOVE EVERY MINUTE OF IT! BUY IT! Expand
  20. Brian
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Incredile game. Nintendo ought to make more games that contain the spirit and challange as Advance Wars. It is a great addition to any person's library of GBA games.
  21. TomG.
    Oct 9, 2003
    9
    Awesome Strategy RPG...definitely awesome. The first was excellent and this one is even better. You ought to check it out.
  22. LemonPie
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    ALL HAIL ADVACE WARS!!! YOU SHALL FALL TO MY POWER.
  23. SonnieS.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    I Think this game is wicked and it is much better than the 1st one, it will rock all GBA charts and will stay No.1 for ages, theres awesome graphics, new tanks and much better strategic battle lines, this will definitely be a hit, you should defenitely buy it!
  24. LoganC.
    Jun 22, 2003
    10
    The first game got handheld game of the year and that one was awsome! This one is even better so i know it will probably get the award again! only two words can explain it all: IT RULES!
  25. MattR.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    It is more challenging than the first and it is more fun. If you liked the first one you definentily need to by this one, and if you didn't buy the first one this is a must by.
  26. KieranK.
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    Great game but hard though.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Aug 2, 2003
    9
    It's good, but the Yellow Comet missions are too hard I think.
  28. AdrianB.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    This is a great game the first time i played it i was totally hooked!
  29. NikkW.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    it rocks but i cant get a S rank on the blue moon 'factory blues' can someone give me a walkthrough or something?
  30. JoshuaP.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Hard mode means hard mode.
  31. SpikeN.
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    Very well made. you need to think when playing this game.
  32. Uter
    May 21, 2004
    10
    AW2 is maybe the best war strategy game ever created. To find it on the gba is surprising.
  33. Sturm
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    Despite the cartoonish game graphics and a somewhat "cheesy" storyline, not to mention the almost total disregard for someof the main elements of war (i.e. brutal killing and warcrimes), this game possess very deep tactical elements, very much like a super elevated game of chess. The replay value is unbelievable, especially for a handheld game! It would of been nice, however, if Despite the cartoonish game graphics and a somewhat "cheesy" storyline, not to mention the almost total disregard for someof the main elements of war (i.e. brutal killing and warcrimes), this game possess very deep tactical elements, very much like a super elevated game of chess. The replay value is unbelievable, especially for a handheld game! It would of been nice, however, if Intelligent Systems made an extremely hard campaign. I have completed both easy and hard campaign with S ranks on the first tries, and now have little else to do but finish war room battles and design maps. All over all, this is a must for anyone interested in tactical games or who enjoys chess. Expand
  34. PhilJ.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    Having played all advance wars games yet, i still want more. There's something about it that is very addictive...
  35. EricL.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    This is really a great game. I don't care what other fools say, but I love the graphics, gameplay, and music a lot. The story is chessy and dumb, but you can at least skip it. The great variety of COs to play as offers a playing style to choose from, form the mass-producing Colin, to the highly tactical Lash and Sonja, and the brute "monkeys", Max, Flak, and Kanbei, AW2 is addictive, This is really a great game. I don't care what other fools say, but I love the graphics, gameplay, and music a lot. The story is chessy and dumb, but you can at least skip it. The great variety of COs to play as offers a playing style to choose from, form the mass-producing Colin, to the highly tactical Lash and Sonja, and the brute "monkeys", Max, Flak, and Kanbei, AW2 is addictive, like nicotine, only it's safe ;-). Expand
  36. AlexL.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time because I love strategy games, along with the original Advance Wars.
  37. MrWierdPantyhose
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    I love this game and cant get my heD OUT OF IT.
  38. KyleC.
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    I think its the best game i ever played so i give it a 10.
  39. MatthewM.
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    This advanced wars game is awesome. You should probaly try this for your dream to come.And never stop playing this awesome game. Even if its 50.00$, buy it! I'm telling you to buy if you see it!
  40. DanielY.
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    I have played and beaten all of these games, there needs to be pressure made for adaptations for larger systems (Game Cube/Xbox/PS2) to attempt to create a game that is similar. Batallion Wars/ Future Tactics and Dai Senryaky VII have not been able to take me from my dedication to the advanced wars series... I can not think of another game that I would want to play. However, after you I have played and beaten all of these games, there needs to be pressure made for adaptations for larger systems (Game Cube/Xbox/PS2) to attempt to create a game that is similar. Batallion Wars/ Future Tactics and Dai Senryaky VII have not been able to take me from my dedication to the advanced wars series... I can not think of another game that I would want to play. However, after you beat the game... I usually want at least one more level to win and win big. Expand
  41. RolandoG.
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    it's a realy good game i buy it and in the same day i understood how to play it but the campaing is realy dificult (specialy hard moded).
  42. GeorgeC.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome game and people who are good can continue to play against friends in the vs. mode and the design maps option.
  43. JackZ.
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    If anyone rates below 10, they have not gotten very far. This has to be the best game I've EVER played! Worth buying!
  44. Jacob
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    This game rocks. there's nothing more to say.
  45. JoshW.
    May 25, 2003
    9
    Neo tanks rule!!! but they cost 22000! anyway great game,it will take you for ever to clock!
  46. MantisX
    Jun 21, 2003
    8
    I hate to say it Sonnie S., but that's never gonna happen. Unfortunately most GBA owners are 10 year olds. I own a GBA and personally I love it. And Advance Wars 2 is a great game. But it will never be recoginized on a sales chart thanks to the core audience picking other games. Probably with a guy with a gun on the cover. Because as a ten year old would say. "Gunz R Kool". But yes, I hate to say it Sonnie S., but that's never gonna happen. Unfortunately most GBA owners are 10 year olds. I own a GBA and personally I love it. And Advance Wars 2 is a great game. But it will never be recoginized on a sales chart thanks to the core audience picking other games. Probably with a guy with a gun on the cover. Because as a ten year old would say. "Gunz R Kool". But yes, if you like games centered around tactics and strategy, this is the game for you. It's like chess, just a million times more involving. I give it an 8 because some of the battles can become really drawn out and boring, but that doesn't happen too often. Expand
  47. JesseC.
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    Excellent game. Much harder than the first one. The new COs are are really good on both sides. Annoying at times though. Anyway, fun game.
  48. PaulScottodiP.
    Aug 12, 2003
    9
    I give it a 9, because I think that the video game, in general is a little complicated to learn! But it's a strategy game. It's pretty nice!
  49. JimmyDean
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best.
  50. Mtpathy
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    Forget what you've read from others on this site about the game campaign being easy, it ramps up fast and gets very hard. although some missions are overly hard, this game is great. get a friend to play with and enjoy.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Sure, it's a classic, but it's so obviously a £35 mission pack, and is probably double the price it should have been. Unless you were utterly captivated by the original and spend every day pining for more, or never owned the original, it's hard to justify why you should shell out for it.
  2. Portable gaming at its best.
  3. This is one of the few times where a sequel overshadows its predecessor. Even though the Advance Wars series will be seeing some time on the Gamecube sometime in the future, Black Hole Rising is still a blessing of wonderful quality, floating in a sea of mediocre ports and lacking games.