• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2035 and Soma Cruz is about to witness the first solar eclipse of the 21st century when he suddenly blacks out -- only to awaken inside a mysterious castle. As Soma, you must navigate the castle's labyrinths while confronting perilous monsters at every turn. But beware, you must escape before the evil consumes you! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The graphics are unparalleled, the mosnters are original and challeng[ing] and the scope of the game is impressive. [June 2003, p.136]
  2. 100
    It's the closest a GBA Castlevania adventure has come to achieving "Symphony's" level of atmosphere, and it has a crazy power-up system that makes you want to keep playing and playing and playing. [June 2003, p.43]
  3. Even if you’ve never played one of the recent Castlevania titles, and especially if you were bothered by the unbalanced design of the last two games, go out right now and pick up Aria of Sorrow.
  4. As transfixing and hand-drawn inspired as any Castlevania before it, or any game for that matter, even if it does lost some of its hold on the handheld platform. [June 2003, p.56]
  5. 90
    Another fantastic chapter in the Castlevania saga and warrants a purchase. Be warned, the game is not very long and only clocks in at about 10-15 hours. There are multiple endings which will keep you coming back for more, though!
  6. From what I've seen so far in Sorrow and its predecessor, this attentive, almost meticulous craftwork put into Castlevania ought to be transferred to a mainstream console or even the PC; my own backhanded compliment to the developers.
  7. Since Aria Of Sorrow is the third Castlevania in as many years, I'm also concerned that Konami is growing increasingly content to simply rest on their laurels.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. JohnL.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    This is way better than other Castlevania games.
  2. AbdullahA.
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    The game is so good....i can't stop myself in collecting spirits and increasing the level....but there is still places i didn't discover so far...but in general the game worth a deep play. Expand
  3. RyokenI.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! If you like super metroid, wonderboy 3- dragons trap, and of course SOTN, you will love this to pieces. Exploration, platform gaming, rpg and collection game (think pokemon) this game should appeal to a broad audience, the only possible fllaw being it''s difficulty level... too easy. But with a bit of creativity, you can even devise a challenge game (try beating it with one kind of weapon, or no armor!) 38/40 Expand
  4. ChrisR.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    Just as good as Symphony of the Night and my favorite GBA game. It is truly a great game.
  5. ShawnC.
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    I love it! It has great game play and amazing graphics!
  6. KevinS.
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    This is my favorite Castlevania game, and one of my favorite GBA games. The AoS's graphics are some of the best I've seen for GBA. The story is great, the music is awesome and the Action/RPG style cant be beat! This is probably the best Castlevania game ever! Collapse
  7. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    Aria of Sorrow offers players gameplay that will never go stale. It's honestly just a fun game. The only downside is story but when has Castlevania ever been about story? The bosses are fun and the soul collection was a nice addition to the series. It's very friendly for newcomers to the series as its a pretty easy game. New Game+ offer more hours of fun and keeps replayability pretty high. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.