• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2002
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    A title that further refines the portable "Castlevania" lineup to perfection.
  2. The epitome of what a handheld title can aspire to - a game you pray as you play it will never end. [Aug 2002, p.72]
  3. 100
    One of the best handheld Castlevania games ever produced. Enthralling from start to finish, it's easily on par with "Castlevania SotN" for the PSOne. [Oct 2002, p.52]
  4. One of the best reasons to own a Game Boy Advance. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. And I thought "Circle of the Moon" was good. HoD out classes it (and every other GBA game to date). Konami condensed everything that's so great about "Symphony" into a hand-held game. [Oct 2002, p.206]
  6. Harmony isn't a title any GBA owner should miss. [Oct 2002, p.94]
  7. If it weren't for the crummy music taking away from the experience, this might be the best 2D Castlevania yet. [Spring 2003, p.26]
  8. 92
    This game trounces the original in almost every way, making the adventure a much more fun and ultimately more satisfying adventure.
  9. Dissonance, in its detail, execution and style truly transcends its platform and for now, it's the best seat in the house for a trip to eerie Castlevania.
  10. You could certainly play through this game again and get a good bit of fun out of a repeat, despite the fact that it takes roughly 12 hours to beat the game.
  11. The best game for the GameBoy Advance? Absolutely.
  12. Clearer, brighter visual presentation is the biggest difference between Harmony of Dissonance and "Circle of the Moon." Although the graphical quality is pretty much the same, Konami made everything bigger and went with a brighter colour palette.
  13. It's like being able to play "Symphony of the Night" in the back seat of your parent's car, but with all new levels and some nifty new features.
  14. The feeling of satisfaction when everything locks together like a giant jigsaw puzzle is enormous. Despite its flaws, this is a fantastic slice of gaming.
  15. Valid proof that "coming up short" can still translate into "a hell of a lot of fun."
  16. 87
    Does a good job of capturing the basic flavor of "SotN's" gameplay. Indeed, almost all of the special moves you can obtain have been lifted directly from Symphony.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. SimonB.
    May 15, 2006
    7
    The weak link in the GBA trilogy. If you're a big fan, then pick it up, but if you're a casual gamer I'd recommend AoS or The weak link in the GBA trilogy. If you're a big fan, then pick it up, but if you're a casual gamer I'd recommend AoS or CotM. What is most annoying is the convoluted level structure, ease of every enemy in the game (bosses are jokes) and the quality of sound is noticeably worse than in the other titles. The music reminds me a lot of Shining Force on the Genesis, but not as good. It's still a good game to kill some time with, just don't expect the same good quality of CotM or AoS. Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    0
    Very unoriginal, easy and remarkably boring. The worst entry of the GBA era.
    Get Circle of the Moon and Aria of Sorrow instead, they are a
    Very unoriginal, easy and remarkably boring. The worst entry of the GBA era.
    Get Circle of the Moon and Aria of Sorrow instead, they are a lot better than this pile of junk.
    Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2011
    7
    Harmony of Dissonance is a good game, but compared to Aria of Sorrow it easily falls down in my opinion. The strongest points perhaps are theHarmony of Dissonance is a good game, but compared to Aria of Sorrow it easily falls down in my opinion. The strongest points perhaps are the really atmospheric feel, a pretty good and intense story, and very easy control of the character. The game also introduces a system of collecting elemental spellbooks, which combined with the usual subweapons (cross, holy water, etc) give an entirely different special attack, depending on what book is equipped, giving a diverse gameplay. Similar system is later used in Castlevania: Lament of Innocence. Also the good ol' flexi-whip from Super Castlevania IV is back. You can hold the attack button and to move the whip in all the directions as opposed to only attacking forwards. The story as I mentioned is fantastic, one of the best in a Castlevania game, because it is mysterious and gets the player gripped. The atmospheric feel of the game certainly adds to that. Now where the game falls down. There are some minor issues, which can be annoying at times but aren't so bad. Those are the low difficulty, a strange glowing aura around the playable character, and also being forced to backtrack through entire stages at some points of the game. However what I disliked the most about Harmony of Dissonance was its soundtrack. Castlevania games usually have fantastic soundtracks, but I felt that this one was a real disappointment. I hardly heard any music in it, it was just a low quality noise, unfortunately. In my opinion slightly better than Circle of the Moon, but is nowhere near as good as Aria of Sorrow. Full Review »