Classic NES Series: Zelda II: The Adventure of Link Game Boy Advance

Classic NES Series: Zelda II: The Adventure of Link Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sequel to The Legend of Zelda combines side-scrolling action with role-playing game elements. In Zelda II: The Adventure of Link, you'll embark on a quest to find the Triforce of Courage, awaken Princess Zelda from an evil wizard's spell, and save Hyrule from ruin. As Link, you can learnThe sequel to The Legend of Zelda combines side-scrolling action with role-playing game elements. In Zelda II: The Adventure of Link, you'll embark on a quest to find the Triforce of Courage, awaken Princess Zelda from an evil wizard's spell, and save Hyrule from ruin. As Link, you can learn magic spells and collect items to increase your power. Zelda II features magic that lets you fly, throw fireballs, jump higher, and more. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Play Magazine
    91
    A great adventure. It's this combination of unique elements that creates and action-RPG experience unlike any other, and it still holds up well today. [Dec 2004, p.100]
  2. This is the only Zelda game I can think of that used experience points to level-up. Other than that, you're dealing with a typical (and engrossing) Legend of Zelda experience.
  3. Any game that holds up more than a decade later is definitely one to watch, and Zelda II is one of these games.
  4. Nintendo Power
    72
    The game proved to be an entertaining and natural step in the franchise's evolution. [Dec 2004, p.150]
  5. 70
    It's a recommended, and playable, adventure even today, but don't expect the same gameplay from the truly classic Zelda titles.
  6. 65
    Adventure of Link might be more for completists than its predecessor was, but you can certainly find plenty here to keep you busy for some time.
  7. Cheat Code Central
    60
    It's a long adventure and although it may be somewhat boring by today's standards, it's a great way for beginners to submerse themselves in the RPG universe.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Dec 22, 2015
    10
    I do not understand the bad reputation of this game ... it is wonderful !!!!! To my taste a lot and enjoy me ..... honestly, I am convincedI do not understand the bad reputation of this game ... it is wonderful !!!!! To my taste a lot and enjoy me ..... honestly, I am convinced that the people who give such low notes have not played enough with him , an adventure game fledged and extreme difficulty, especially in his last palace, a huge world , a variety of enemies , magic , lunges , perfect gameplay, secrets in every corner , good music , in short, easily meets all the requirements you may be required to zelda .

    No comprendo la mala fama de este juego...es una maravilla!!!!! A mi me gusto muchisimo y disfrute como pocas veces.....sinceramente, estoy convencido que la gente que le da unas notas tan bajas no han jugado lo suficiente con él, un juego de aventuras en toda regla y de dificultad extrema, sobre todo en su ultimo palacio, un mundo enorme, variedad de enemigos, magias, estocadas, una jugabilidad perfecta, secretos en cada rincon, buena musica , en fin, cumple con creces todos los requisitos que se le puede exigir a un zelda.
    Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    Props to this game for not following the path that its revolutionary prequel established. This game tried something completely new and pulledProps to this game for not following the path that its revolutionary prequel established. This game tried something completely new and pulled it off well. Incredibly difficult though. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game is brutally difficult. However it is also brutally fun its an absolute blast to play and it's five dollars on the virtual console soThis game is brutally difficult. However it is also brutally fun its an absolute blast to play and it's five dollars on the virtual console so go buy it Expand
  4. AB
    Nov 8, 2004
    8
    This is the worst Zelda game since the CD-i games by Philips. But that is saying nothing. This is an amazing adventure, but sometimes it just This is the worst Zelda game since the CD-i games by Philips. But that is saying nothing. This is an amazing adventure, but sometimes it just doesn't feel like Zelda. Collapse
  5. Aug 2, 2016
    8
    I decided to stop being a **** and play this f*cking game. My impressions:
    -It IS incredibly difficult.
    -The story is practically
    I decided to stop being a **** and play this f*cking game. My impressions:
    -It IS incredibly difficult.
    -The story is practically nonexistent.
    -Those controls, GODDAMMIT LINK, HIT THE ENEMY ALREADY! JESUS CHRIST!
    -Wait, how do I use my magic... Wait... Is it select? Wait.. Oh, ok.
    But even then, it feels so good.
    The best thing about this game is the feeling of accomplishment. That feeling of "OMFG, I finished this dungeon! OH YEAH! THAT'S A THING THAT CAN HAPPEN! MOM!
    ...
    MOM!
    I PASSED A DUNGEON!
    MOM!
    ...
    ok"
    When you get the hang of the controls, it is really satisfying. It's the kind of game in which you can kill an enemy at front, from above, from below, and look to the side and say "DID YOU SEE THAT?" even if you're completely alone.
    People say that when Nintendo made this game, they were like "I mean, people like Mario and Zelda, so...". You know what? I think those people are right. It IS incredibly like Mario. Some enemies, the controls... The worst of this game is that it's confusing. Confusion is the worst thing to feel while playing a game. You should always know what to do, or even have a clue. But this game says "NAH-AH!" to your patience.
    I still think that you should play this zelda as your first, but once you gained experience on "dose zordas", you can play this.
    Oh man, this is really nerve wrecking.
    Expand
  6. MP83
    Aug 10, 2005
    7
    Reminds me from Falcom's "Ys III: Wanderers from Ys" game. Both are really different compared to their predecessors. Still, not a bad Reminds me from Falcom's "Ys III: Wanderers from Ys" game. Both are really different compared to their predecessors. Still, not a bad game, just different. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2012
    0
    I like The Legend of Zelda games, but not this one. The gameplay is too different from the other games of the franchise, just like westernI like The Legend of Zelda games, but not this one. The gameplay is too different from the other games of the franchise, just like western Super Mario Bros. 2. Also, it's difficulty is extremely high even for it's time, making it rather a frustrating than a fun experience. I recommend almost every Zelda game except this one. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
#6 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2004