Classic NES Series: Zelda II: The Adventure of Link Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sequel to The Legend of Zelda combines side-scrolling action with role-playing game elements. In Zelda II: The Adventure of Link, you'll embark on a quest to find the Triforce of Courage, awaken Princess Zelda from an evil wizard's spell, and save Hyrule from ruin. As Link, you can learnThe sequel to The Legend of Zelda combines side-scrolling action with role-playing game elements. In Zelda II: The Adventure of Link, you'll embark on a quest to find the Triforce of Courage, awaken Princess Zelda from an evil wizard's spell, and save Hyrule from ruin. As Link, you can learn magic spells and collect items to increase your power. Zelda II features magic that lets you fly, throw fireballs, jump higher, and more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. A great adventure. It's this combination of unique elements that creates and action-RPG experience unlike any other, and it still holds up well today. [Dec 2004, p.100]
  2. This is the only Zelda game I can think of that used experience points to level-up. Other than that, you're dealing with a typical (and engrossing) Legend of Zelda experience.
  3. Any game that holds up more than a decade later is definitely one to watch, and Zelda II is one of these games.
  4. The game proved to be an entertaining and natural step in the franchise's evolution. [Dec 2004, p.150]
  5. 70
    It's a recommended, and playable, adventure even today, but don't expect the same gameplay from the truly classic Zelda titles.
  6. 65
    Adventure of Link might be more for completists than its predecessor was, but you can certainly find plenty here to keep you busy for some time.
  7. It's a long adventure and although it may be somewhat boring by today's standards, it's a great way for beginners to submerse themselves in the RPG universe.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Oh, yes, my favourite Zelda for one reason: the first Zelda I played long time ago!

    Ok. Really. This Zelda is a good game with lovely unique
    Oh, yes, my favourite Zelda for one reason: the first Zelda I played long time ago!

    Ok. Really. This Zelda is a good game with lovely unique components. I.e: magic, good length, the possibility of learning techniques, experience points and a lot of places or characters which will be used in other Zelda games.
    Collapse
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    The difficulty of this game turns a lot of people off. This isn't your typical Zelda game. With that being said, it revolutionized theThe difficulty of this game turns a lot of people off. This isn't your typical Zelda game. With that being said, it revolutionized the franchise, using a few of the aspects still seen today. The fact that it doesn't exactly "feel" like future Zelda's is not a bad thing. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game is brutally difficult. However it is also brutally fun its an absolute blast to play and it's five dollars on the virtual console soThis game is brutally difficult. However it is also brutally fun its an absolute blast to play and it's five dollars on the virtual console so go buy it Expand
  4. AB
    Nov 8, 2004
    8
    This is the worst Zelda game since the CD-i games by Philips. But that is saying nothing. This is an amazing adventure, but sometimes it just This is the worst Zelda game since the CD-i games by Philips. But that is saying nothing. This is an amazing adventure, but sometimes it just doesn't feel like Zelda. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    Okay, I want to get this out of the way first. No, its not like any other Zelda Game (As of yet). But that doesn't mean it is necessarily bad.Okay, I want to get this out of the way first. No, its not like any other Zelda Game (As of yet). But that doesn't mean it is necessarily bad. Plus, this was the second game, its not like the series had an established formula yet. Also, when Ocarina of Time came out, it was like no other Zelda Game at the time. No one criticized it for that. Okay, that's out of the way. Another complaint is that "It's too hard!" Well, yes, I have never beaten it, but a game being hard doesn't mean it is bad! Dark Souls and Mario Two/The Lost Levels were hard and still are! They were never criticized for that! I honestly don't see what's so bad about this game. It isn't the best Zelda Game by any means, but it isn't bad. Expand
  6. May 15, 2014
    7
    There's no denying that Zelda 2 is quite a bit different from the other games. But I've never understood why that is a bad thing. I think it'sThere's no denying that Zelda 2 is quite a bit different from the other games. But I've never understood why that is a bad thing. I think it's refreshing when a series tries new and interesting things. And honestly, of the two NES Zelda games, this one is my favorite. Both games are rather primitive, and haven't aged particularly well, but I think Zelda 2 has more staying power.

    First of all, while the original established the formula that most of the other games follow, most of them do it much better, making the original obsolete. Zelda 2, on the other hand, is completely unique, and because there's nothing else quite like it in the series, it's worth returning to. Secondly, while both games are hard, I personally found Zelda 2 to be the less frustrating game. While I did die a lot in Zelda 2, I always managed to keep moving forward, the difficulty curve was fair (for the most part), and it didn't get frustrating until towards the end. With the original, on the other hand, it got very frustrating very fast. It always put more enemies into a room then you could possibly hope to avoid unscathed, and I would end up dying in the same exact place over and over and over. Zelda 2, while hard, still felt fair in a way that the original (and much of the NES library) did not.

    It's not a timeless classic like A Link to the Past or Ocarina of Time, and while it did add important developments to the series, it ultimately wasn't as important as the first one. But I think it's held up decently well, and while it's not a great game, it's one that I think is worth checking out.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2012
    0
    I like The Legend of Zelda games, but not this one. The gameplay is too different from the other games of the franchise, just like westernI like The Legend of Zelda games, but not this one. The gameplay is too different from the other games of the franchise, just like western Super Mario Bros. 2. Also, it's difficulty is extremely high even for it's time, making it rather a frustrating than a fun experience. I recommend almost every Zelda game except this one. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews