Dogz Game Boy Advance
  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    A noble attempt at a portable pet simulator, but in the end there's just not enough to do, on the plus side the graphics are fantastic, but the game just is just so repetitive, you will literally do the same things for as long as you play it, I could literally predict after 20 minutes how everything was going to play out, it's got some interesting features and ideas I would like to seeA noble attempt at a portable pet simulator, but in the end there's just not enough to do, on the plus side the graphics are fantastic, but the game just is just so repetitive, you will literally do the same things for as long as you play it, I could literally predict after 20 minutes how everything was going to play out, it's got some interesting features and ideas I would like to see expanded upon, but this just to boring and repetitive to recommend, especially when you can just buy a real dog. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    1
    This game sucked horribly. If you want a good dog game get nintendogs. This game was really bad. I would only like it if i were a 3 year old girl. Man it was so freaking bad, i dont understand how anyone could like it!
  3. DesmondH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    2
    Nintendogs is a better dog sim than Dogz, but owning a real dog is better than both.
  4. CarlW.
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    I wouldn't say that "everyone should give this game a ten," in fact I think Ubisoft's CATZ game is far better. however, this game has some quirks about it that make it more fresh, fun, and rejuvenating for your child to play than Nintendogs did. granted, the game was probably inspired by Nintendogs, so people will have negative things to say about it, but for the most part the I wouldn't say that "everyone should give this game a ten," in fact I think Ubisoft's CATZ game is far better. however, this game has some quirks about it that make it more fresh, fun, and rejuvenating for your child to play than Nintendogs did. granted, the game was probably inspired by Nintendogs, so people will have negative things to say about it, but for the most part the game is a good pick for your kids to play. Expand
  5. FangT.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    This game is AMAZING! I played at my friend's house, and hopefully maybe I'll go to Target and buy it!
  6. HannahT.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    This game is so awesome, its like the re-introducing of nintendogs, except for better, this game is totally deserving a 10 rating from everyone!
  7. KimN.
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    i think it was the best game that i have ever play before.
  8. RaichuP.
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    I give it a 10 because there are many things to do in this game! like take your dog on the town and pick out a puppy of your own!
  9. BenV.
    Dec 13, 2005
    0
    This reminds me of Picto Pals (or whatever it was called) for the DS even though you have Picto Chat. You already have NintenDogs? Then don't buy this!
  10. GraceW.
    Dec 4, 2005
    1
    Nintendogs is way better. Come on, the dogs do not even look realistic. Plus, you only get to choose 1 dog in Dogz. In Nintendogs, you can choose up to 5 breeds. Nintendogs has rare breeds to such as the shiba inu and the st. charles spaniel. Also, there are no contests in Dogz like there are in Nintendogs. Who cares if you are a person in the game Dogz, you are a person in Nintendogs Nintendogs is way better. Come on, the dogs do not even look realistic. Plus, you only get to choose 1 dog in Dogz. In Nintendogs, you can choose up to 5 breeds. Nintendogs has rare breeds to such as the shiba inu and the st. charles spaniel. Also, there are no contests in Dogz like there are in Nintendogs. Who cares if you are a person in the game Dogz, you are a person in Nintendogs too, but you just can not see yourself in the game. Lastly, you can respond to you dog in Nintendogs, not like in Dogz. I rated this game a 1. I recommend people to buy Nintendogs. It may cost a little more money, but hey, it is totally worth it. Trust me! Expand
  11. KrystalHearts
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    The dogs are sooo cute. If you like Nintendogs, you'd like this.
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 6 out of 9
  1. Dogz isn't just a poor man's "Nintendogs" - it's a fundamentally rubbish game, regardless of the competition. Put simply, there's just not enough to do, and it's so repetitive that it's hard to see how even very young children could be entertained for more than half an hour or so.
  2. There's a fair amount of depth, with various tricks, items, and things to do with your dog. [Feb 2006, p.113]
  3. A pretty average game that won't hold the kids' interest for long. There aren't very many things to do in the game, and it becomes boring after awhile.