Dragon Ball Z: Taiketsu Game Boy Advance

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2003
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    4
    Taiketsu is a horrendous fighting game, and the laughable graphics make the game feel ashamed. At least some minutes can be a worth play, by the other standards, it's bad, simply bad.
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    4
    This is one of the clunky and unresponsive fighters ive played. even though i loved this game as a kid, that was mainly because it was dragon ball z and not the fact that the game itself was extremely cruddy. The graphics are ok, the backdrops look good but the characters themselves look kind of akward, but still the graphics arent bad. the music is a mixed bag as well, as there are someThis is one of the clunky and unresponsive fighters ive played. even though i loved this game as a kid, that was mainly because it was dragon ball z and not the fact that the game itself was extremely cruddy. The graphics are ok, the backdrops look good but the characters themselves look kind of akward, but still the graphics arent bad. the music is a mixed bag as well, as there are some decent songs, and some not so decent songs. the game has a very simple tournament style of play, which i didnt mind. unlocking things in the store require z points, which was one enjoyable aspect in regards to replayability. but the controls are where this game take a nosedive. seriously, this games controls remind me of games like shaq fu, not as bad as that game, but still extremely clunky, and at alot of times unresponsive. i wouldnt reccomend this game to any fight fan, and only to dbz fans who are just curious, and arent neccessarily looking for an amazing game, rather a piece of dragon ball z merchandise. one of the worst fighting games ive played, this one is really just a bad taste in the dragon ball z video game series meal. Expand
  3. C.B.
    Mar 6, 2004
    6
    The gameplay, i will admit, is kind of a button-masher, but i think that it is a fairly good game once u get past the masher aspect and the repetition.
  4. JhonnyV.
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    I don't want's all the jabering..It's a good game!
  5. GlenE.
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    AWESOME
  6. BrendanC.
    Jan 12, 2004
    5
    FACE IT GUYS.... this game is the BEST and the worst it could ever be... 5!
  7. BryanM
    Dec 4, 2007
    2
    they tryed to hard to make this game good with the graphics but this is a GBA not a Ds. so because of that the gameplay was slow. also I hurd this was orginally on the super Falcon in japan. so we are getting a game that is already way to old.
  8. SkirmantasD.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Cool game it's hard but funny Cool game ;] Play with me i am sexy Boy !
  9. BrandonJ.
    Dec 22, 2003
    1
    What a piece of junk ATari better just pay japanese developers directly and let them make the game.
  10. KunoL.
    Dec 27, 2003
    0
    I love DBZ but this game sucks. They should have just ported the snes dbz classics. They are much better. This game doesnt even come close to besting the other fighters on this system. And who their right mind thought it would look good pre-rendered? Sprites please.
  11. PeteZ.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    Kicks Ass. 'Nuff Said.
  12. A.W.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    This game is the bomb this game doesnt suck.
  13. ZackG.
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    This game rocks the house bitches.
  14. BenjaminH.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    This Game is one of the best dbz games for GBA.
  15. GB
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    could have been better could have been much worse, crude animations and some moves were senseless it should have had supersaiyan transformations outside of super move animations, loved the music

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
Metascore
40

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 18 out of 23
  1. Not a bad fighting game. The game looks pretty nice with cool familiar backdrop levels and the characters look like the cartoon characters. It just seems clunky to play at times.
  2. The entire Ki Blast process is made meaningless, because regular fighting moves do more damage, specifically throws.
  3. 65
    It has its ups and downs, but the special moves look absolutely gorgeous and very much like they do in the cartoon series, and the in-flight fighting is an experience not to be missed on a hand-held.