Dragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku takes you on an incredible journey to protect the universe from the evil Frieza once and for all. Goku's son has been kidnapped and it's up to you to save him. Vegeta, Krillin, Piccolo, and King Kai are some of the characters you'll encounter along yourDragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku takes you on an incredible journey to protect the universe from the evil Frieza once and for all. Goku's son has been kidnapped and it's up to you to save him. Vegeta, Krillin, Piccolo, and King Kai are some of the characters you'll encounter along your quest. You'll need your melee and ki combat strategies to defeat your enemies. The future depends on your ability to use your ki blasts, solar flare, and kamehameha attacks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. This title's adherence to both the substance and sytle of the show are what kept me playing it - and I'm not even a fan. [May 2002, p.88]
  2. It’s like that delicious piece of cake you receive at a party; scrumptious but anything but filling. Such is this, short indeed but an enjoyable experience while it lasts.
  3. I was frustrated by its slow, aggravating gameplay, but I still enjoyed it enough to keep playing and I hated to see it end.
  4. Battling enemies is both frustrating and boring thanks to touchy hit detection and extremely repetitive fights. [June 2002, p.122]
  5. Short, easy, and lacking in imagination.
  6. It's fairly basic RPG gaming, but it's got the fine details that'll please fans of the show. [May 2002, p.142]
  7. A sucky game. There's no two ways around it. The graphics are mediocre, the gameplay is utter crap, sound and music are redundant and forgettable, and don't even get me started on the story.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome! I don't understand all the bad reviews, this game is one of the best dbz games ever and I've played all the This game is awesome! I don't understand all the bad reviews, this game is one of the best dbz games ever and I've played all the Japanese imports, Legacy of Goku is 1000 times better than those. Expand
  2. SamuelA.
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    Amazing! I'm glad to have fought off the "nah, it will disappoint me" feeling.
  3. BillyT.
    Sep 17, 2002
    9
    It was a pretty good game, despite the short gameplay.
  4. JonoE.
    Nov 16, 2002
    9
    Its 1 of the bests games out 4 the GBA.
  5. BryanM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Great game and the graphics are not that bad and what do you mean can he be anymore orange? he looked fine to me! the controls are very good Great game and the graphics are not that bad and what do you mean can he be anymore orange? he looked fine to me! the controls are very good in this game and seems like a great game over all I have not totally beatin it yet but I can say that this one is way more better then number 2. Collapse
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    I love DBZ, i played most of their games and beat them all. But,tho, this is a crap, the difficulty is freaking hard, and especially when itI love DBZ, i played most of their games and beat them all. But,tho, this is a crap, the difficulty is freaking hard, and especially when it limits you many stuff, you baely can even fly, making it even more harder to escape when you're in bad conditions. Also, the enemies are like bosses, you need to cross your fingers to kill the dam-- monster. And right in the beginning in the walk-throughout , there some snake, that arent visible to the human aye, at least in the sequels they improved a lot. It's just the beginning folks. Expand
  7. B.S.
    Jan 18, 2003
    4
    Can he be anymore orange?

See all 12 User Reviews