F-Zero GP Legend Game Boy Advance

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. It might look old-skool from the screenshots, but GP Legend totally flies. Races are so tight this is guaranteed to get your heart pumping.
  2. I would be remiss to close this review without mentioning the fantastic music of F-Zero GP Legend. You like classic F-Zero Tunes? They are all here, except Death Wind. Like some of F-Zero X’s music? Some of that is here too. Want to hear new stuff? You’re golden. It is still a pleasure to listen to F-Zero’s music.
  3. This is just about the racing cream of the GBA crop. Fast, flowing and more absorbing than industrial sponges, owning a GBA and not having this in your collection should bring with it a custodial sentence.
  4. 90
    Damn fast, damn challenging, and thoroughly addictive, F-Zero: GP Legend dominates the handheld circuit. [Oct 2004, p.90]
  5. F-zero GP Legend, despite its awkward bumper car-style physics and shortcomings in AI difficulty, is an entertaining game for anyone looking for a portable racer.
  6. Play Magazine
    83
    They took out the throttle warble (bah!) but the Zero's still a hero. [Nov 2004, p.89]
  7. Enough content for die hard gamers and an easy learning curve for casual gamers. [JPN Import]
  8. Just gushing with tons of gameplay options. The game offeres more than what you'd expect from the series.
  9. The graphics are extraordinarily fast, accurate, and clear for a GBA game.
  10. There is some upgrading to this version of the series but I cannot help but get a feeling of Déjà vu.
  11. GMR Magazine
    80
    Offers racing thrills that compete with those in full-sized games. [Dec 2004, p.125]
  12. The mixture of task and race-based challenges, refined controls and delicately poised difficulty level are adequate compensation.
  13. 80
    At its core it's fast and challenging racer that's still fun as heck...and it's a welcome addition to the F-Zero series.
  14. Gameplay and hovercraft control remain unchanged. Fortunately, time has been kind to this old gameplay standard, and it is as much fun to play today as it ever was.
  15. The most striking thing about GP Legend is the courses.
  16. More of the same might not necessarily be a bad thing, but we'd be lying if we said we hadn't hoped for better. [Import]
  17. With great sound, great graphics and gameplay that has stood the test of time, F-Zero GP Legends is going to appeal to almost everyone. Well everyone who doesn't already own "F-Zero Maximum Velocity."
  18. It's fast, action-packed, and exciting, and has no significant flaws aside from its lack of originality and crazy plot.
  19. 80
    While the underlying gameplay of F-Zero GP Legend hasn't changed much since 1991, it's still good enough to make it one of the best racers on the GBA. Its multiple modes and bite-sized action make it ideal for the portable environment.
  20. Cheat Code Central
    80
    GP Legends will go a long way in providing hours of racing entertainment for the F-Zero buff. It's easy to get into and allows a lot of racing growth as your experience increases.
  21. Aside from the multiplayer (which is a hoot), there’s not a whole lot that’s new.
  22. Nintendo Power
    76
    Story mode's villains are so vile that you really want to run them down in races. [Nov 2004, p.129]
  23. Weekly Famitsu
    73
    7 / 7 / 7 / 8 - 29 [Vol 781]
  24. Make no mistake, even though GP Legend can be a tough nut to crack, the consistency of the track design and handling means this high difficulty level invites rather than discourages another go. [June 2004, p.118]
  25. AceGamez
    70
    While there is plenty of polish to F-Zero: GP Legend and you do get a good feeling of speed, there isn't that much that's new.
  26. While it may not be the greatest GBA game ever, F-Zero GP Legend is a solid and often fun driving game that fans of the franchise will gladly embrace.
  27. Game Informer
    65
    This game has but one feather in its cap: its difficulty. [Nov 2004, p.170]
  28. 60
    Perhaps the worst aspect of this mode is that the difficulty level seems unexpectedly bipolar. Each challenge is either trivial or unreasonably hard.
  29. Feels like a by-the-numbers sequel.
  30. 55
    Racing games have come so far since 1991 -- even on GBA -- I simply can't muster up an ounce of enthusiasm for such an archaic creation, regardless of how nicely it's been polished up. There's no question that GP Legend is well-crafted, but it's intensely boring.
  31. Edge Magazine
    50
    You won't even break a sweat before you get to the Silver Cup in the Expert class, and F-Zero stalwarts will feel patronised by the ease with which this short-lived Tournament mode can be completed. [Feb 2004, p.110]

Awards & Rankings

#33 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    I'd say this is one of the best racing games on the Gameboy Advance or any handheld system period, but that would only be limiting my praiseI'd say this is one of the best racing games on the Gameboy Advance or any handheld system period, but that would only be limiting my praise as this game is one of the best racing games on any system. There are 34 playable vehicles, 5 tracks, 6 modes including: story, gran prix, time trial, training, challenge and versus. The music is rock solid especially for the GBA a system in which audio was often compressed. The gameplay is what you expect from an F-Zero game, just fast, fluid racing with really tight controls. The story mode is somewhat engaging, I mean it's not high art, but it is fun if not very difficult as it follows several key racers from the anime. All in all, I can't recommend this game enough. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    An excellent racer and an improvement over Maximum Velocity. I really enjoy this game and is probably my favorite racer on the GameBoyAn excellent racer and an improvement over Maximum Velocity. I really enjoy this game and is probably my favorite racer on the GameBoy Advanced. Great music, a large selection of racers and is very hard in Expert and Master mode (they are always right next to you!). A great game and highly recommend it. Full Review »
  3. JanV.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    I love F-ZERO and this is with F-ZERO GX the BEST!!!