F-Zero GP Legend

Game Boy Advance
F-Zero GP Legend Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The F-Zero series grows with new racing circuits, an intense storyline, and multiplayer modes. F-Zero GP Legend lets you take control of one of eight characters, including Captain Falcon, racing star Rick Wheeler, the evil lord Black Shadow, and more. Guide your character through variousThe F-Zero series grows with new racing circuits, an intense storyline, and multiplayer modes. F-Zero GP Legend lets you take control of one of eight characters, including Captain Falcon, racing star Rick Wheeler, the evil lord Black Shadow, and more. Guide your character through various Grand Prix cups, time trials, and challenges that span multiple planets. In addition to conquering single-player challenges, you can challenge up to three of your friends in multiplayer competitions. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. It might look old-skool from the screenshots, but GP Legend totally flies. Races are so tight this is guaranteed to get your heart pumping.
  2. 90
    Damn fast, damn challenging, and thoroughly addictive, F-Zero: GP Legend dominates the handheld circuit. [Oct 2004, p.90]
  3. Enough content for die hard gamers and an easy learning curve for casual gamers. [JPN Import]
  4. 80
    While the underlying gameplay of F-Zero GP Legend hasn't changed much since 1991, it's still good enough to make it one of the best racers on the GBA. Its multiple modes and bite-sized action make it ideal for the portable environment.
  5. More of the same might not necessarily be a bad thing, but we'd be lying if we said we hadn't hoped for better. [Import]
  6. Nintendo Power
    76
    Story mode's villains are so vile that you really want to run them down in races. [Nov 2004, p.129]
  7. Edge Magazine
    50
    You won't even break a sweat before you get to the Silver Cup in the Expert class, and F-Zero stalwarts will feel patronised by the ease with which this short-lived Tournament mode can be completed. [Feb 2004, p.110]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    I'd say this is one of the best racing games on the Gameboy Advance or any handheld system period, but that would only be limiting my praiseI'd say this is one of the best racing games on the Gameboy Advance or any handheld system period, but that would only be limiting my praise as this game is one of the best racing games on any system. There are 34 playable vehicles, 5 tracks, 6 modes including: story, gran prix, time trial, training, challenge and versus. The music is rock solid especially for the GBA a system in which audio was often compressed. The gameplay is what you expect from an F-Zero game, just fast, fluid racing with really tight controls. The story mode is somewhat engaging, I mean it's not high art, but it is fun if not very difficult as it follows several key racers from the anime. All in all, I can't recommend this game enough. Collapse
  2. JanV.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    I love F-ZERO and this is with F-ZERO GX the BEST!!!
  3. BlueFalcon
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    This game is true to the series. It's got all the characters and expands upon their personalities. The gameplay isn't too advanced This game is true to the series. It's got all the characters and expands upon their personalities. The gameplay isn't too advanced from the snes or previous gba f zero, but the tracks are done well enough. It's got a story mode ala the GameCube f zero. Overall this is one of my favorite gba games, but I am a big fan of the series, and this didn't really exceed my expectations. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    An excellent racer and an improvement over Maximum Velocity. I really enjoy this game and is probably my favorite racer on the GameBoyAn excellent racer and an improvement over Maximum Velocity. I really enjoy this game and is probably my favorite racer on the GameBoy Advanced. Great music, a large selection of racers and is very hard in Expert and Master mode (they are always right next to you!). A great game and highly recommend it. Expand
  5. KarlM.
    Mar 7, 2005
    8
    Picked this little baby up £2.50 (brand new) and has to be bargain of the century! Worth picking up if you can get it cheap especially Picked this little baby up £2.50 (brand new) and has to be bargain of the century! Worth picking up if you can get it cheap especially if you loved the SNES originals. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2016
    6
    F-Zero GP Legend is a solid racing game, especially on the Gameboy Advance, but there are far too many issues that keep it from being aF-Zero GP Legend is a solid racing game, especially on the Gameboy Advance, but there are far too many issues that keep it from being a perfect game.

    Each machine has different stats: Body (the amount of damage it can take), Boost (how fast the machine goes when you boost), and Grip (how well the machine turns). Each machine is supposed to have a balanced build (EG: If it has a strong Body and good Boost, it has poor Grip), so there's not one notably rigged machine.

    However, in this game, Grip is the only stat that really matters. There is almost no racetrack where having a strong boost really makes a big difference, but more than half of them have hairpin turns that, unless your Grip is rank A, you're going to be constantly bumping into walls and hazards (and off the track, depending on the stage). Never choose a machine with Grip rank B or worse, or heaven forbid, rank E.

    The second problem is the story. There are eight story paths you could take that follow different F-Zero characters (like Captain Falcon, Zoda, Jody Summers, etc.) Each of them have five races and cutscenes, explaining what they're doing and the conflicts they face (and their resolution).

    Compared to F-Zero X and older, this sounds awesome! The F-Zero universe has all these well-illustrated characters that feel like they need a story to flesh out their character arc. But not only do you get the stories of only about ten of the characters, but each of them is so poorly written and have no development in the grand scheme of things.

    Example: You're introduced to a character named Zoda, who's this weird-looking criminal that apparently died 150 years ago in an accident with another character, Rick Wheeler. This is explained in Rick's story, where he's working for the police force, still hunting him down trying to figure out why both of them are still alive.

    This is a really cool concept, but what happens in the story? You chase Zoda down, he's replaced with another character (that has no dialogue), you have to save someone else, and then you get a "to be continued" kind of dialogue.

    Do you get an explanation in Zoda's story? Not a chance!

    This Story Mode had so much promise, but when you go nowhere with it, it's just a frustrating experience.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

20
32
#32 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
28
#28 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2004