Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls Game Boy Advance

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    Two near perfect games roled into one on only one Game Boy Advance cartridge much better then having to buy them both seperatly on the Playstation Portable or IOS.
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    8
    If you haven't played Final Fantasy 1, this is your best chance as this is the best version out there. With a improved appealing appearance and design, incredible music, fantastic gameplay battle system and a whole new bunch of extras never seen before, this is the game you must get. Whether you are a old FF fan who played Dawn of Souls/Origins/Original or haven't played FF1 or a new fan,If you haven't played Final Fantasy 1, this is your best chance as this is the best version out there. With a improved appealing appearance and design, incredible music, fantastic gameplay battle system and a whole new bunch of extras never seen before, this is the game you must get. Whether you are a old FF fan who played Dawn of Souls/Origins/Original or haven't played FF1 or a new fan, this game is worth every single coin. Final Fantasy 2 Dawn of Souls is truly worth the experience. If you are a huge fan of the Final Fantasy series, this game should be played by all fans, if you are a RPG fan in general but not a huge Final Fantasy fan, take this game with caution as it is actually best suited for those who have a lot of time and patience to grind. Collapse
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    After some time, I decided to try out the FF games in order, so I got the first two, and I must say, I'm impressed. FF1 had some excellent RPG gameplay, while a little hard for a newcomer like me. And for its time, was truly revolutionary. Sure the plot wasn't the best, but this was done at a time when Square was about to be bankrupt, so that's forgivable. FF2, which was done after theAfter some time, I decided to try out the FF games in order, so I got the first two, and I must say, I'm impressed. FF1 had some excellent RPG gameplay, while a little hard for a newcomer like me. And for its time, was truly revolutionary. Sure the plot wasn't the best, but this was done at a time when Square was about to be bankrupt, so that's forgivable. FF2, which was done after the first Final Fantasy was a success, ended up being an even better game. Excellent plot, more excellent gameplay, and a much more balanced difficulty. I'm proud to say that I am now a Final Fantasy fan. Overall Score: 9.5, which rounds up to 10. Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    Being a non-FF gamer, I feel like i would have enjoyed the original game similar to this one (with the exception of the "Soul' expansions). The "level-up" mechanics of the 2nd game were very unique and interesting to work with. And the 1st game utilizes the variety of classes, while keeping the plot untouched (and fairly good plot at that). And not as much unnecessary grinding, compared toBeing a non-FF gamer, I feel like i would have enjoyed the original game similar to this one (with the exception of the "Soul' expansions). The "level-up" mechanics of the 2nd game were very unique and interesting to work with. And the 1st game utilizes the variety of classes, while keeping the plot untouched (and fairly good plot at that). And not as much unnecessary grinding, compared to the other games. Expand
  5. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is beast. I mean, you get TWO graphically enhanced versions of the first TWO Final Fantasy games? Just be prepared for a challenge; Final Fantasy is no walk in the park.
  6. May 23, 2011
    9
    Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls are unfortunately, a bit dated. However, it's nice to revisit the two RPGs that started it all. Pros: Re-polished visuals, soundtrack, and features; simple, but refreshing gameplay; fantastic value. Cons: After playing tons of RPGs since the FF origins, Dawn of Souls feels a bit dated.
  7. May 1, 2011
    9
    Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls isn't the best looking port on a GBA, however, it is an excellent reboot of the two games that started it all. Pros: The GBA is far more common than the NES; excellent for quick-play value; fantastic remixed visuals and soundtrack; it's a pure, old-school turn based RPG. Cons: A lot of modern gamers will find it to be outdated.
  8. KrisK.
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    Two games in one plus a spin-off of the second game= TONS of play time. I highly reccomend it.
  9. DavidS.
    Dec 7, 2005
    8
    An excellent game, with great music, but the excessive random battles can be a headache. Square has done us a favor to us by reviving this classic with the ability to save anywhere.
  10. AnnS.
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    Wonderful fun. A perfect introduction for those new to the Final Fantasy games.
  11. AustinW.
    Jan 26, 2005
    7
    TOO many monsters.
  12. D-izzlejony
    Jan 4, 2005
    8
    The places to go are sort ove difficult to find some times.
  13. KevinW.
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    this game suks big time, it was easier than the old pokemon games, nentendo has robed us of 25.99$
  14. TtotheDubbaD.
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    Incredible amount of fine-tuned gameplay (80+ hours), purely addictive and light years better than the over-rated golden sun games, which are derivative and uninspired. You MUST buy this if you like RPGs and own a GBA (and it looks incredible on the DS screen)
  15. DanielG.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    Final Fantasy Dawn of Souls is an excellent game. They've upgraded the graphics and sound tweaked the game so that all the annoying flaws are absent, like when you'd select an enemy to attack and then someone else would finish them off and you would attack nothing. How long has it been since Nintendo actually had a traditional Final Fantasy game on their systems, even if it is a Final Fantasy Dawn of Souls is an excellent game. They've upgraded the graphics and sound tweaked the game so that all the annoying flaws are absent, like when you'd select an enemy to attack and then someone else would finish them off and you would attack nothing. How long has it been since Nintendo actually had a traditional Final Fantasy game on their systems, even if it is a remake. It's one of the best RPGs of all time and like the Bible of console rpging. If you've never played it, heck even if you have, go school yourself on the games that started it all. I know I'm crossing my fingers for more Final Fantasy gaming where it belongs, on the NINTENDO! Expand
  16. Oct 10, 2012
    0
    If you haven't played Final Fantasy 1, this is your best chance as this is the best version out there. With a improved appealing appearance and design, incredible music, fantastic gameplay battle system and a whole new bunch of extras never seen before, this is the game you must get. Whether you are a old FF fan who played Dawn of Souls/Origins/Original or haven't played FF1 or a new fan,If you haven't played Final Fantasy 1, this is your best chance as this is the best version out there. With a improved appealing appearance and design, incredible music, fantastic gameplay battle system and a whole new bunch of extras never seen before, this is the game you must get. Whether you are a old FF fan who played Dawn of Souls/Origins/Original or haven't played FF1 or a new fan, this game is worth every single coin. Final Fantasy 2 Dawn of Souls is truly worth the experience. If you are a huge fan of the Final Fantasy series, this game should be played by all fans, if you are a RPG fan in general but not a huge Final Fantasy fan, take this game with caution as it is actually best suited for those who have a lot of time and patience to grind. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    88
    9 / 9 / 9 / 8 - 35 platinum [Vol 814; 23 July 2004]
  2. It's refreshing to look back on the genesis of the world's most popular RPG.
  3. An essential RPG purchase on the GBA. Yes the games are dated by todays standards, however, the high quality updates to the music and visuals go a long way to remedying this, and even with relatively simplistic gameplay, Final Fantasy 1 and 2 are vintage turn based RPGs at their very best.