Final Fantasy IV Advance Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy II for the Super Nintendo is back on the Game Boy Advance as Final Fantasy IV Advance. This game is a faithful port of the Super Nintendo game (called Final Fantasy IV in Japan) with some graphical improvements. You can play as Cecil, a soldier who has defected from dark knighthood to rid the land of evil. Final Fantasy II was one of the first games to set the standard for the Square Enix style of RPGs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Square Enix finally gave Final Fantasy II the treatment it deserved in Final Fantasy IV Advance, and whether you've worn out two of the old carts from overuse or have never even played a 2D Final Fantasy, you should pick this one up to see what made the Final Fantasy series such a powerhouse of the role-playing genre.
  2. Whether you're a fan of Final Fantasy or RPG's, you owe it to yourself to pick this game up, especially if you haven't played it before in the other two versions.
  3. Small mistakes can't wreck such a consistently pleasurable experience as FFIV. With additional content that drastically increases the role of its large and likable cast, this is one RPG you'll have slotted into your GBA or DS for a long time coming.
  4. Square-Enix has really produced a fine piece of software here, not only because of the quality of the original title but also because of the fantastic attention to detail.
  5. While Final Fantasy IV may be an old game, the story and characters have aged well, and the new content helps to flesh out the experience even further.
  6. It's old-fashioned but don't let that put you off. This is a highly entertaining bit of history. [July 2006, p.63]
  7. 46
    Despite the fact that I'd bet that my Game Boy Advance (let alone my Gamecube or my DS) is much faster and technologically sound than my Super Nintendo, this game's slowdown and terrible enemy clock speed make this way too easy.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. JeffreyW.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    I thought that the super nintendo one was good this was even better!
  2. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This is one of those rare games that only comes around once and awhile, a game that just seems to get everything right. The characters are endearing, the storyline is great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, this is a game that you owe it to yourself to play. Expand
  3. TrixW.
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    Definately old school gaming, but just about perfect. The pacing is good. The only downside: too easy.
  4. BrandonV.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    This is the (current) definitive version of one of the best RPGs ever made, fixing several embarrassing translation flaws in the original North American SNES release. The story is deep and involving, the characters are all easy to like, and there are more than enough bonus features and extras to keep anyone busy for many weeks. Time will tell whether or not the upcoming 3-D remake for the DS will be superior to this release, but for now this one takes the crown. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    Certainly my preferred way to experience this game; It combines the classic graphics and music with new, very fun post-game content that essentially just makes this version the original with bonuses. I've played the SNES version, the PS1 version, this, and the DS version, and this is by far my favorite. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    I never played the original Final Fantasy IV, but this is an excellent port regardless. Engaging combat, solid levelling system, improved graphics, and a great storyline and character cast. A personal favourite of the few GBA games I have played and one of the best FF games in the series. Expand
  7. ZenoW.
    Dec 27, 2005
    5
    A big disappointment. Although the game has undergone some pleasing cosmetic changes, the core combat engine has been broken beyond repair. Although the story is playable, substantial bugs trivialize combat and make most battles impossible to lose. The bugs vary in severity from not being able to select certain enemies with the targetting cursor to players occasionally getting extra turns for no reason. When Reubicante, the lord of fire, accidentally shot himself with ice2 for 2000 damage and died, I finally lost my patience. Iif you seek an experience similar to the original game, do yourself a favor and play the playstation port instead. Collapse

See all 13 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?