Final Fantasy VI Advance Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This title are more than a simple port of the SNES classic — every aspect of the games has been reviewed and enhanced. Additionally, a host of brand-new elements has been seamlessly merged with the original game, providing unexpected surprises for longtime fans. With new dungeons, new job classes, and other exciting features, both old-school players and newcomers can enjoy this genre-defining FINAL FANTASY title in a portable format. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    Final Fantasy VI Advance not only set the bar for RPG's in the 16-bit era, it sets a standard that few games reach in the modern era of gaming. This game won't win any beauty pageants, but easily makes up with any shortcomings with story and customizations.
  2. This game alone should extend the life of the system for a while longer.
  3. Having one of the greatest RPGs ever made in your pocket is simply too awesome not to recommend.
  4. 90
    The game that changed a series, and this GBA remake is near perfect. We went close to giving it a higher score, but if you like RPGs at all you really should buy this game.
  5. The best of the three GBA re-issues, Final Fantasy VI Advance is a timeless dollop of role-playing adventure gaming.
  6. Final Fantasy VI is one of the best RPGs ever made, and this version doesn't sacrifice any of its inherent awesomeness. From the huge cast of characters and their special moves to the memorable scenes like the opera house event, it is all intact and as good as you remember.
  7. One of the Game Boy Advance's last role-playing games, Final Fantasy VI Advance also proves one of its best.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    The 1st FF game I've ever got, and hands down, the best one I've played. I fell in love with all of the characters in this game, very well developed. And the plot is also heart-warming, as you experience all of the main characters side-stories. I would want to play the original game on the SNES to see the brilliance of Final Fantasy VI back then. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Going with both the GBA and the SNES version, Final Fantasy 6 is, in my opinion, the finest Final Fantasy adventure ever. Memorable, human like characters (Kefka is an amazing villain and a wonderfully evil human being), compelling and emotional story, amazing soundtrack and timeless gameplay. All the Final Fantasy games onwards after 6 wouldn't be as good(or bad) as they are if they didn't have the important aspects 6 has laid out on the series as well as other RPG's. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Final Fantasy VI- the best game ever made, period. Each character has better character development than the entire cast of pretty much all games coming out today- not a big deal? Well, how about swallowing the fact that this game also has more characters than pretty much any other game- a whopping 14 playables, plus a few briefly playable. Best video game villain ever. Listen to the soundtrack- every single track fits the spot it plays like a glove, with the most powerful emotional scenes in a game matched by an equally masterful score. Oh, not only that- it would take you longer to listen to the music alone than to beat the newest Call of Duty.. scratch that, the newest two CoDs.

    The simple sprites get the job done, and still display emotion better than most JRPG characters these days.

    This game is awesome- I could live another eighty years and still never see a game this good again.
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This is it. This is without a doubt my favorite RPG of all time. The economics of the item management system are pure brilliance. The relics/espers system is both complex and elegant. It's a true joy developing your characters and equipping them as your strategy requires. The gorgeous graphics, great storyline and incredible soundtrack are all icing on the cake. What makes this game endure all these years later is the beauty of its gameplay. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    The greatest of all Final Fantasy games, FF6 is a wondrous experience filled with memorable characters, a thrilling story and some of the best music in video games. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Review written Friday February 1 of 2013.

    Final Fantasy VI is the best RPG of all time. It is not only the jewel of the genre itself, but an unique masterpiece as a videogame, standing high as one of the best videogames of the human history. The game is a narrative to take it as an experience that any other videogame could tell you. The combination of all these factors make Final Fantasy VI something more than a very creative videogame, it makes it a life experience, and of course, a must have in any RPG collection. Final Fantasy VI is, by far, the best entry in the dying series.

    Final Fantasy VI has a majestic character development, taking emotions from all flavors to the game. From people who seeks revenge, like Cyan, or people who was enslaved by the Empire like Celes, the game makes us think what part of life are we living. But the most iconic character I could pick, is the main protagonist, the young Terra Branford. Amano did a perfect job when designing her, she is the icon of the game. Terra is a very fragile, feminine, but strong woman. She is the hybrid of an Esper and a human, making her a unique being. The design for the antagonist, one of the most iconic antagonist in the entire industry, Kefka, was also brilliant. Kefka is an evil clown who deserves power for himself, even costing the life of many other innocent people, something we don't see everyday in this new antagonists.

    The gameplay describes Final Fantasy as its total. We play different characters, and the personal skills of each of them, makes the game more creative and unique. Maybe people believes turn-based RPG's aren't the future, but they're totally wrong. Final Fantasy VI's gameplay didn't only stands as a base for turn-based RPG's but makes a revolution of these.

    Final Fantasy VI is blessed by Nobuo Uematsu, who, in my opinion, composed the best videogame soundtrack of all time. The music is, maybe, the most iconic thing of this game. The title theme, "Terra's Theme", is the best piece of music I've heard in my life, composed for a videogame. Many feelings and emotions throughout the game make us believe we are part of the game, something we could want at the time, because this game is for hardcore RPG gamers. In brief, Final Fantasy VI is the best RPG of all time. If you haven't tried it out yet, no need to wait more. The game was released in 1994, next year it will get its own 20th anniversary. We hope a remake for it, as itself stands as the most valuable game of the series, and maybe the only one that could compete as the best game of all time.
    Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    I don't have many favorite FF games but this one is pretty good. Memorable soundtrack, solid and deep gameplay, interesting cast of characters and great plotlines combined together and you have a great RPG. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?