Final Fantasy VI Advance Game Boy Advance

Final Fantasy VI Advance Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This title are more than a simple port of the SNES classic — every aspect of the games has been reviewed and enhanced. Additionally, a host of brand-new elements has been seamlessly merged with the original game, providing unexpected surprises for longtime fans. With new dungeons, newThis title are more than a simple port of the SNES classic — every aspect of the games has been reviewed and enhanced. Additionally, a host of brand-new elements has been seamlessly merged with the original game, providing unexpected surprises for longtime fans. With new dungeons, new job classes, and other exciting features, both old-school players and newcomers can enjoy this genre-defining FINAL FANTASY title in a portable format. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    Final Fantasy VI Advance not only set the bar for RPG's in the 16-bit era, it sets a standard that few games reach in the modern era of gaming. This game won't win any beauty pageants, but easily makes up with any shortcomings with story and customizations.
  2. This game alone should extend the life of the system for a while longer.
  3. Having one of the greatest RPGs ever made in your pocket is simply too awesome not to recommend.
  4. 90
    The game that changed a series, and this GBA remake is near perfect. We went close to giving it a higher score, but if you like RPGs at all you really should buy this game.
  5. The best of the three GBA re-issues, Final Fantasy VI Advance is a timeless dollop of role-playing adventure gaming.
  6. Final Fantasy VI is one of the best RPGs ever made, and this version doesn't sacrifice any of its inherent awesomeness. From the huge cast of characters and their special moves to the memorable scenes like the opera house event, it is all intact and as good as you remember.
  7. One of the Game Boy Advance's last role-playing games, Final Fantasy VI Advance also proves one of its best.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. NeoMr.Smith
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    perfect
  2. ChrisP.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    I had never played this classic SNES rpg before until the GBA version. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy games and one of my favorite I had never played this classic SNES rpg before until the GBA version. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy games and one of my favorite games of all time. I must play for all true rpg fans! Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers. Final Fantasy VI- the best game ever made, period. Each character has better character development than the entire cast of pretty much all games coming out today- not a big deal? Well, how about swallowing the fact that this game also has more characters than pretty much any other game- a whopping 14 playables, plus a few briefly playable. Best video game villain ever. Listen to the soundtrack- every single track fits the spot it plays like a glove, with the most powerful emotional scenes in a game matched by an equally masterful score. Oh, not only that- it would take you longer to listen to the music alone than to beat the newest Call of Duty.. scratch that, the newest two CoDs.

    The simple sprites get the job done, and still display emotion better than most JRPG characters these days.

    This game is awesome- I could live another eighty years and still never see a game this good again.
    Collapse
  4. JohnJ
    May 8, 2009
    10
    The best title of Final Fantasy saga, with incredible sprite animation and with the longest and emmotive history of all the Final Fantasy games.
  5. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    This is it... In my opinion, the ultimate RPG. Everything about this game truley is perfect, flawless. Story is simply perfect, the battleThis is it... In my opinion, the ultimate RPG. Everything about this game truley is perfect, flawless. Story is simply perfect, the battle mechanics are perfect, the music is perfect. Haha but really there are obviously negatives in the game, but in my opinon, this is the perfect RPG Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The Final Fantasy -series is one of the most well-known RPG's ever, and this game is definitely in the Top 3 of Final Fantasy games, heck,The Final Fantasy -series is one of the most well-known RPG's ever, and this game is definitely in the Top 3 of Final Fantasy games, heck, wouldn't be surprised if not the best. The story is truly captivating, the characters are one of the best we've ever seen, and the gameplay is pure fun. And the soundtrack, man, THE SOUNDTRACK! Dancing Mad is definitely one of the best video game songs of all time, and the villain himself is just so terrifying that he's awesome. If you're ever gonna call yourself a gamer, make sure you've played this masterpiece first. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2015
    0
    I don't dislike the game THIS much. It's actually a 5/10, but MAN, this game is so overrated! It really, really isn't that good... 9-10?! comeI don't dislike the game THIS much. It's actually a 5/10, but MAN, this game is so overrated! It really, really isn't that good... 9-10?! come on...! Nostalgia isn't the only evaluator for a games quality... actually, to me nostalgia shouldn't be even considered valid at all! Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2007