Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones, you must help protect the nation of Renais from the invading Grado Empire. Plan your strategy, choose your units, and then lead your soldiers in to battle. The more experience your soldiers gain, the more you can upgrade their abilities. This time, yourIn Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones, you must help protect the nation of Renais from the invading Grado Empire. Plan your strategy, choose your units, and then lead your soldiers in to battle. The more experience your soldiers gain, the more you can upgrade their abilities. This time, your soldiers can gain experience by fighting new monsters in the Tower of Valni. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. An ideal handheld game. It's simple to pick up, the quest is long and worthwhile, and there's plenty of replay value.
  2. It is challenging, with enough depth of both gameplay and story to please existing fans, while multiple difficulty settings will keep the title accessible to most everyone.
  3. 90
    A great little game that instantly sucks you into a deep fantasy world of conflict and combat. The learning curve is average for an RPG game, but the rewards are well worth the study time.
  4. A hallmark tactical RPG that is sure to please fans of the series and those who like the genre. [JPN Import]
  5. 85
    It's still a great strategy experience, but because the game has already wowed us in the original 2004 release its lost some of its luster.
  6. 80
    The successful parsing of battle, dialogue, and set-up sessions in Sacred Stones demonstrates again that the GBA might not be a Revolution, but it's something I sure would revisit time after time.
  7. Over-levelling all too easily threatens to undermine Fire Emblem's unique place in the genre. It's a problem easily side-stepped by both choosing an appropriate difficulty level and tempering your levelling, but nevertheless the option is unwelcome. [Aug 2005, p.90]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. CoryF.
    May 26, 2005
    10
    This is way better then the first!
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. I was a bit skeptical at first, but when I finally got to play it through the 3DS Ambassador Program, I was floored. This gameAmazing game. I was a bit skeptical at first, but when I finally got to play it through the 3DS Ambassador Program, I was floored. This game is addictive as hell! The replay value is definitely strong in this one. Collapse
  3. Stevenho
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    This is the bestest game I ever played. It has all the thing that I liked.
  4. ShogunM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Incredible game with tons of replay value and and amazingly cool characters. Just as good as the fire emblem seven. For True die-hard fans of Incredible game with tons of replay value and and amazingly cool characters. Just as good as the fire emblem seven. For True die-hard fans of the series this is a must have and for others its just a great game. Expand
  5. May 24, 2014
    10
    My favorite game in the entire series. Fun gameplay that improves on previous entries. Memorable characters that you will find yourselfMy favorite game in the entire series. Fun gameplay that improves on previous entries. Memorable characters that you will find yourself restarting the game for, so as not to lose them. An opportunity to strengthen characters at the Tower of Valni which helps if you're struggling. And lastly, fantastic replayablility seeing as you can have a completely different team that you focus on in each play through. Its easy to pick up and play even for newcomers to the series, I would strongly recommend it Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    The Tower of Valni!

    If there was one beef I had with the first Fire Emblem on GBA in America, it was the leveling of my characters. The
    The Tower of Valni!

    If there was one beef I had with the first Fire Emblem on GBA in America, it was the leveling of my characters. The Tower of Valni addressed this in such a wonderful way. No matter which characters you took with you in the main chapters to battle, the Tower of Valni made it possible to max each character's level before continuing to a challenging chapter. Also new to the series are the skirmish battles around the world map, which weren't necessary to advance in the story, but good for leveling characted and testing out new strategies.

    -The gameplay is as addictive as ever. Nothing new added to the series here as you can still plot out your moves and see the odds of success before each battle. You can also see your enemies range of movement during each turn giving a great advantage over deployment. Characters can encourage one another on the battlefield by using the talk command between two compatible characters. However, I did not take advantage of this feature as much and it's definitely not necessary, just a useful tool at times and if you're looking for extra dialogue.

    -The Story is very memorable, although the dialogue can get to be a bit tedious at times and you may find yourself wanting to skip ahead. It won't take you on any kind of emotional roller coaster of sorts.

    -The cast of characters are plentiful. Which is necessary as character permadeath is still here, and if you lose one of your favorite characters in battle, it can be a devastating thing to experience. Sacred Stones balances this well as many times, you will get caught off-guard by enemy reinforcements, and if you've spent over 45 minutes on one chapter, getting close to the end and one of your characters die; you have a choice to press forward or start that chapter all over again. It's sometimes a hard choice to make.

    -The amount of content is incredible, not only will the Tower of Valni make you invest hours upon hours of gameplay, all the while improving your troops, but the skirmishes and the after game content is incredible, not to mention the two paths that can be chosen in the middle of the game. If you want to go back and experience the other main characters separate path, you have that option to play it all over again.

    This is a classic in the Fire Emblem series and not much can be said in the way for areas of improvement. If you're a strategy RPG fan and a fan of a good story, definitely play this game.
    Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jan 5, 2007
    7
    An alright game, however, the Tower of Valni simply makes this game no challenge.

See all 43 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

3
3
#3 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2005
6
#6 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2005