Golden Sun Game Boy Advance
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Simply put... this game is amazing. The story, the characters, the emotion involved all stand out in this RPG. I first played this game as a child many years ago. I'm now a college graduate and I still enjoy the game to this day. The thing that I love the most about the Golden Sun series is the story involved. As you play the game, the lives of these characters unravel before yourSimply put... this game is amazing. The story, the characters, the emotion involved all stand out in this RPG. I first played this game as a child many years ago. I'm now a college graduate and I still enjoy the game to this day. The thing that I love the most about the Golden Sun series is the story involved. As you play the game, the lives of these characters unravel before your eyes. Emotion can also be involved while playing. Heartbreak from a character's loss of family to determination in hopes of a better future of the world; it's all woven within this game. Aside from the story, the gameplay is actually great! As usual with any RPG, you get random battles in dungeons and on the world maps and you progress more and more in levels and skills until you are strong enough to take on your foes without fail. There are a large amount of items and gear in the game to keep players occupied with upgrading.

    There is a collection aspect to the game involving these creatures called Djinns. These creatures boost the abilities and power of the characters in which they are attached to. They can be swapped between characters to allow for further combinations of abilities. As characters use the Djinns in battle, powerful summons can be used to take out foes once a certain number of Djinns have been used in combat. These summons are learned or found throughout the game.

    The graphics in this game are fantastic for a gameboy advance title. Everything from the environments to the battles to the summoning cutscenes are all great to look at while playing. I remember when this game was first released. I was in awe at some of the graphical effects in this game. The music in the game is some of the best I have ever heard in a portable title. I find myself just sitting in a particular battle or environment just to listen to the music and themes that play. There is a special mode that allows you to listen to all of the music in the game when you enter the arena mode at the title screen (look it up to find out how to find it). The point is that you may love the music so much that you will want to just listen to it at times.

    Overall, this game is a classic in my opinion. The quality of this game is obvious. I can only hope for a remake of this title one day with modern-style graphics. It could possibly become more appealing to those who don't like Golden Sun in its current state...
    Expand
  2. BenW.
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    A great game but you need to have lots of time and patience because once you start you won't be able to stop!
  3. AndrewC
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    That Ryan kid is an idiot, he syas it is too much like pokemon, well thats like saying every RPG is like pokemon. In fact I've never seen an RPG less like pokemon. The gameplay for this game was incredible, the puzzles were challenging, the battles didn't get boring and had a great story line. The graphics were amazing for the GBA and the Djinni summons looked amazing. I am That Ryan kid is an idiot, he syas it is too much like pokemon, well thats like saying every RPG is like pokemon. In fact I've never seen an RPG less like pokemon. The gameplay for this game was incredible, the puzzles were challenging, the battles didn't get boring and had a great story line. The graphics were amazing for the GBA and the Djinni summons looked amazing. I am really glad there is going to be a new one on DS and I'll be one of the first to buy it. Also, this game had some of the best music ever, Final Fantasy doesn't even compare to this game. Expand
  4. Keele
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Michael, you're also an idiot. I've played such spectacular games and rpgs, such as Chrono Trigger, Xenogears, most of the Final Fantasy games and many more. Even so, Golden Sun was/is brilliant. It's graphics, for it's time of release, are exceptional (I don't know what the hell you're going on about with ''CHEEZY''). It had a great Michael, you're also an idiot. I've played such spectacular games and rpgs, such as Chrono Trigger, Xenogears, most of the Final Fantasy games and many more. Even so, Golden Sun was/is brilliant. It's graphics, for it's time of release, are exceptional (I don't know what the hell you're going on about with ''CHEEZY''). It had a great captivating storyline. Good gameplay. Fun puzzles. Awesome tunes. I'm unsure that we've both played the same game, or that you've actually played the game at all. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    I have played the Tales of the World series, the Final Fantasy series and Dragon's Quest series, but none of them came close to comparison with the Golden Sun series.
    A memorable storyline and cast alongside impressive soundtracks for the period of release and a story crafted with pure perfection makes this one of the greatest Game Boy Advance games to exist. The same goes for its sequel.
  6. E}I{
    Mar 14, 2006
    5
    Golden Sun - Most Boring jRPG. Pros: Very good graphics(but many particle effects look cheesy). puzzles are nice, but I've seen most of them already. Cons: Music is too boring. Not memorable at all. Backgrounds look like they are ripped from many SNES RPGs, they lack some distinct style. Storyline is full of cliche. Stupid and predictable. Tons of text, but most of it is absolutely Golden Sun - Most Boring jRPG. Pros: Very good graphics(but many particle effects look cheesy). puzzles are nice, but I've seen most of them already. Cons: Music is too boring. Not memorable at all. Backgrounds look like they are ripped from many SNES RPGs, they lack some distinct style. Storyline is full of cliche. Stupid and predictable. Tons of text, but most of it is absolutely pointless and its quality can make any intellegent being cry. Characters are extremely generic and underdeveloped. Battle system is not balanced at all. It's too easy to greet enemies with barrage of highest level summons that cost nothing. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    1
    If there was ever a game more bland and lifeless than Golden Sun...

    Let's go back to the beginning. I saw some GS ads in a magazine or something, and thought it looked great. Mainly, I was impressed with the graphics, but I just assumed the rest of the game would have the same quality. Then I got the game. Now, it starts off with some cliche garbage I can't even remember because it was
    If there was ever a game more bland and lifeless than Golden Sun...

    Let's go back to the beginning. I saw some GS ads in a magazine or something, and thought it looked great. Mainly, I was impressed with the graphics, but I just assumed the rest of the game would have the same quality.

    Then I got the game. Now, it starts off with some cliche garbage I can't even remember because it was so uninspired. I went on for a while, going through some generic dungeons with generic "puzzles", oh and I did all this while fighting random, generic enemies.

    Now the battle? This is the worst part. It's much like Dragon Quest, without any of those "features" or "abilities". All you do is pick a spell out of maybe 5 that are practically identical anyway, repeat 5-20 times and you win. I've played a few mindless RPGs before, but this one just pushes the limits of boredom to their maximum. If you absolutely hate having fun with a burning passion, get this game.
    Expand
  8. R.Thomas
    Aug 14, 2006
    6
    Over-rated. I was expecting a game that was 1. harder 2. longer 3. just plain more interesting when i killed the big boss, which only realy took me a few trys, i was surprised that i had finnished it. Once i had, and saved the game i discovered that you cant go back and collect the things you missed, snd there was no reason for this. Overall, i'm still waiting for a decent RPG on the GBA.
  9. MichaelD
    Jan 3, 2009
    4
    OK but not great or spectacular or worthy of a 10. I feel bad for all the poor little children here who havent played spectacular games likes Chrono Trigger, or even any Final Fantasy Games. Dear people, throw that gba out the window, go buy yourself a Gamecube and a copy of Tales of Symphonia, and experience what a real rpg is like. Cheezy graphics dont make a game, especially for a OK but not great or spectacular or worthy of a 10. I feel bad for all the poor little children here who havent played spectacular games likes Chrono Trigger, or even any Final Fantasy Games. Dear people, throw that gba out the window, go buy yourself a Gamecube and a copy of Tales of Symphonia, and experience what a real rpg is like. Cheezy graphics dont make a game, especially for a system whose focus is on gameplay and storyline. Hey with all the respectable games for GBA like the strategy games Fire Emblem (not sacred stones) and Final Fantasy Tactics Advance why waste your time with this garbage? Well, at least it is better than Pokemon. Expand
  10. ZackO.
    Jul 29, 2003
    3
    I dont see wjhat is so special about this game !!! it was boring and stupid, and the rpg action was repetative. all the djinn crap was too corny and complicated, and once you get past the mogall forset, you cant go back to get things that you may have missed!!!! a total waste of cash
  11. Rathexeron
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    This is an absolutely great game, and even better when played along side with Golden Sun: The Lost Age. Definately go out and buy it if you haven't already!
  12. MikeM.
    Apr 7, 2005
    8
    Good Game-Could Be Better :D
  13. Ryan
    Nov 26, 2003
    1
    I'll give this game props for graphics, but other than that, it's pretty much just a cheap Pokemon knock-off. Don't waste your money!
  14. Whay
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    This was my first game i ever bought for GBA and also my first RPG and it rocked so bad i love this game i heard the 3rd one is going to be on GameCube.
  15. MitchellB.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Easily the best portable RPG ever, and arguably one of the best RPGs on any system, ever.
  16. PaulR.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome game, truly one of the best rpgs on any system.
  17. JoeyF.
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    The main thing you have to remember about this game is the fact that it has 2 parts. The whole game consists of 2 cartridges. So as some would say "the first one was short and stupid" clearly have not played them back to back. There's enough hidden Djinni, Artifact weapons, and Djinn combos, you have some of the same control as final fantasy 7. The integration of the 2 parties in the The main thing you have to remember about this game is the fact that it has 2 parts. The whole game consists of 2 cartridges. So as some would say "the first one was short and stupid" clearly have not played them back to back. There's enough hidden Djinni, Artifact weapons, and Djinn combos, you have some of the same control as final fantasy 7. The integration of the 2 parties in the Lost Age, and the story development was second to none. It's one of those games that make you hate the bad guys, then love them. Expand
  18. ChrisG.
    Feb 8, 2003
    9
    This is the best RPG on the GBA so far. It's a long quest mixed with wonderful characters, puzzles and great battles. The only slight downside is the story isn't at the quality of the Final Fantasy games.
  19. BasRules
    May 10, 2003
    10
    It's a perfect game. I think it is the best RPG on the the GBA so far.
  20. Sungirl
    May 11, 2003
    10
    I love this game! Too bad I still haven't finished it....
  21. AnaM.
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Golden Sun is fantastic.
  22. DerekB.
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Best game ever on gba and addicting play it again.
  23. RobinO.
    Sep 20, 2002
    10
    Best RPG for GBA sofar. I would call this a console type Puzzle RPG :)
  24. JoeM.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Ryan is a total idiot this game rocked.
  25. EFI
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    I'm spanish, and this game is the best in the world, and Golden Sun: the lost age, too is the best game!!!!
  26. KenE.
    May 4, 2004
    9
    Easily the best rpg to hit a handheld game system. The game is a true showcase title in graphics and sound. There is room for improvement though. Sometimes conversations are too lengthy and it's not possible to immediately skip the whole conversation. Also, during fight sequences your characters do not by default go to the next enemy if the one you targeted for the character to kill Easily the best rpg to hit a handheld game system. The game is a true showcase title in graphics and sound. There is room for improvement though. Sometimes conversations are too lengthy and it's not possible to immediately skip the whole conversation. Also, during fight sequences your characters do not by default go to the next enemy if the one you targeted for the character to kill is killled by another one of your party mbr's. Other than that it's a worthy title to have in your GBA collection. Expand
  27. BrianB.
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    I was getting really tired of crappy RPG's for the advance. All this changed when i picked up this game used. The rating I want to give it is a 13 out of 10 but thats not possible. And to whoever gave this a 9 the reason why it doesnt atoumatic target is for the random number generated drops.
  28. Meneil
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Golden Sun was the best game I've ever played. The graphics were beautiful. The battle system was unbelievable. The songs were addicting. The characters were unforgettable, and the storyline was phenomenal. Golden Sun I and II combined the old-style rpgs with a wonderful new twist, giving it a very unique appearance and game play. I love these two games; however, I would highly Golden Sun was the best game I've ever played. The graphics were beautiful. The battle system was unbelievable. The songs were addicting. The characters were unforgettable, and the storyline was phenomenal. Golden Sun I and II combined the old-style rpgs with a wonderful new twist, giving it a very unique appearance and game play. I love these two games; however, I would highly suggest playing I before II. Most of the storyline will be lost if someone just jumps into II without knowing the first one. If you don't have Golden Sun, go out and get it! Unless you dislike rpgs, this will be a wonderful game. ^^ Just gotta wait for the third one... Expand
  29. RulerofGames
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Zack (shown here) should get further in games before making comments. You can go back, and you'll want too. An amazing Game. "Zack O. gave it a 3: I dont see wjhat is so special about this game !!! it was boring and stupid, and the rpg action was repetative. all the djinn crap was too corny and complicated, and once you get past the mogall forset, you cant go back to get things that Zack (shown here) should get further in games before making comments. You can go back, and you'll want too. An amazing Game. "Zack O. gave it a 3: I dont see wjhat is so special about this game !!! it was boring and stupid, and the rpg action was repetative. all the djinn crap was too corny and complicated, and once you get past the mogall forset, you cant go back to get things that you may have missed!!!! a total waste of cash" Expand
  30. DARKSIDEACIDBURN
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    The best game ever...i m not joking. i ve never seen a better RPG.
  31. ClemT.
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    easily the best game ever created on the GBA console, great story line, challenging puzzles and great graphics too.
  32. MatthiasG.
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    This game is the true experience opf RPG. It embodies all of the aspects which make a gem of gameplay. The battle system adds a new twist on the typical RPG battle, without causing the player to become frustrated. The 3D graphics were ahead of their time, and made playing it that much more enjoyable, and the sound was well composed and set the ambiance for many of the game's This game is the true experience opf RPG. It embodies all of the aspects which make a gem of gameplay. The battle system adds a new twist on the typical RPG battle, without causing the player to become frustrated. The 3D graphics were ahead of their time, and made playing it that much more enjoyable, and the sound was well composed and set the ambiance for many of the game's cutscenes. It is one of the _truly_ good GBA games still on the market. Expand
  33. RaymondC.
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Great game. Great as it was long and quite easy. Good graphics and anybody that gives this gmae below 10 points mus hav difficulty playing the game so sayin it that it suks. =.=
  34. BrianM.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    I was one of the people eagerly anticipating the initial release of this game. As luck would have it, I had no money at the time. A month and seven wal-marts later (it was that hard to find), I got the game. Since then, I have beaten it at least 6 times, each time at least as good as the last. This game deserves the 10 I give it, and I don't give 10's. At all. Ever. That's I was one of the people eagerly anticipating the initial release of this game. As luck would have it, I had no money at the time. A month and seven wal-marts later (it was that hard to find), I got the game. Since then, I have beaten it at least 6 times, each time at least as good as the last. This game deserves the 10 I give it, and I don't give 10's. At all. Ever. That's how good I think this game is. Expand
  35. secretsearcher
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    It's not the absolute BEST RPG I've ever played, but it's definitely up there. The graphics are pretty impressive for a 2001 game, and the game is straightfoward, but unique enough to stay interesting from start to finish. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because of the fact that sometimes the game, in my opinion, doesn't give you enough information about It's not the absolute BEST RPG I've ever played, but it's definitely up there. The graphics are pretty impressive for a 2001 game, and the game is straightfoward, but unique enough to stay interesting from start to finish. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because of the fact that sometimes the game, in my opinion, doesn't give you enough information about what to are supposed to do. I spent forever stuck in Venus Lighthouse because I hadn't found the Carry Stone yet. But still, overall, a good RPG. I will definitely be playing the sequel. Expand
  36. BrendanP.
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    No game is better than Golden Sun, not even Tony Hawk.
  37. GeoffW.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    One of the best RPG games in the world.
  38. RaphaelR.
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    This game is so freaking awesome it is inexplainable so good....can't stop playing the summons are good final fantasy 7 & 8 and legend of legaia mixed together but it has a very good and unique gameplay.
  39. JonathanY.
    Feb 26, 2003
    10
    This game got me into RPG's; something I never thought would happen. It is very hard to put this game down!
  40. GeoffreyS.
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    Best......Game.......Ever!!!
  41. MickeyMouse
    May 23, 2003
    10
    Dunno just felt like it.
  42. GeoffreyG.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    This game is so awesome! I'm trying to get a cheat book.
  43. TravisB.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    This is the greatest RPG ever created for a Nintendo game console. It left me crying out for MORE, MORE, MORE! I'm working on getting GS2.
  44. HomerJ.
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. The graphics are amazing and the battle summons are marvellous. If you like RPG's BUY THIS GAME!!!
  45. BubbleBobble
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Looks like most people agree on this as the best rpg for gameboy advance. As do i. :) It kept me going. After finishing the first i immediatley played the losta ages. And now i am finished and lost. There has to come a sequel. And i prefer it to be pn the advance... :)
  46. MattK.
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    The most amazng game ive ever played in my life.
  47. KeithG.
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    This game, with the sequil (The Lost Age), make for one of the greatest GBA games on the market. With increasingly powerful monsters, a great storyline, and a little bit of confusion, GOLDEN SUN provides a new gaming experience for novices and experts alike.
  48. Quasar
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    The absolute greatest game ever made, having excellent graphics, music, story, characters, and gameplay. The puzzles can be incredibly hard, but they are very rewarding to complete.
  49. DylanM.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    Golden Sun is an awesome game with great graphics considering the limitations of the GBA and quite possibly the second best game for the sytem after the sequel.
  50. TylerH.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    If i could give this game higher than a 10 i would. One of THE best games I have EVER played period. This game has left a legacy on gaming and would be in the hall of fame for games if there was one. Exceptional.
  51. AndrewG.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Easily the best rpg ever created and so easy to understand. I just could'nt put it down. for a gba game its got some pretty decent graphics and the gameplay is awesome. still waiting for the 3rd installment of it, i hope they make it.
  52. CryDay
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    The best RPG for all handhelds, including the best graphics, best story and best music
  53. JohnB
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    I feel bad that Michael D can't recognize awesomeness when he see's it. Story and gameplay for this game is better than a majority of Final Fantasy games. Also, we waste time on this garbage to see people like you recommend and mention crappier games.
  54. IanW.
    Sep 29, 2002
    10
    It's been too long since I have come across such a quality RPG. Life is beautiful when you are playing a good RPG.
  55. SeanK.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    An awesome game with amazing graphics and an easy to follow storyline.
  56. Me
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    This game was awesome! The scenery and battles were beautifully designed. It had the perfect balance of every aspect. The characters ( especially Ivan ) were the best ever. I actually felt like I was a part of the adventure.
  57. xxx
    Apr 27, 2003
    10
    this game is sooo great but it is too bad that there is no golden sun 3.
  58. EDWINM.
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    I don't use my gba (game boy advance) to much, but this game is addicting. Battle scheme to plot it has you hanging. Even with the side quest. I keep going...This is a must play!!!
  59. Kelly
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    Best game ever, hope there's a #3 soon. anyone who thinks the game sucks, sucks!
  60. Shnafalgen
    Oct 19, 2005
    7
    Other then GREAT graphics and the simplicity to the conversations, the game got so boring I felt as if I were about about to pull my hair out. Everytime I got to a new part in the game their was something, just one little peice of the puzzle I was missing. It got increasingly irratating to have to go backwards once you took a step fowards. I gave this game a seven because going back made Other then GREAT graphics and the simplicity to the conversations, the game got so boring I felt as if I were about about to pull my hair out. Everytime I got to a new part in the game their was something, just one little peice of the puzzle I was missing. It got increasingly irratating to have to go backwards once you took a step fowards. I gave this game a seven because going back made me stronger but, it got old, fast. Expand
  61. B.F.Y.M.
    Dec 2, 2005
    9
    Wonderful seriously. But the ending could have been better.
  62. SarahK.
    Sep 15, 2005
    9
    It was really fun and some of the characters were cute, I thought it was challenging but fun.
  63. JamesB.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Best RPG I've ever played, and I've played the big console titles like Final Fantasy VI, X, and XII. It's unfortunate that there aren't more RPGs made like this. The Mode 7 battle system works really well, too... I would never expect to see a graphics engine of such high quality on the GBA.
  64. iNSOMANiAC
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Its very rarely I would score a game 10 but if any game deserves it, Golden sun does. As has been said by many other people it is on of the best RPGs ever created, beautifully crafted excellence. I was completely bored with turned based rpgs for many years until I turned this little beauty on. Its a mixture of the puzzles of Zelda and the fighting of final fantasy. Its the little details Its very rarely I would score a game 10 but if any game deserves it, Golden sun does. As has been said by many other people it is on of the best RPGs ever created, beautifully crafted excellence. I was completely bored with turned based rpgs for many years until I turned this little beauty on. Its a mixture of the puzzles of Zelda and the fighting of final fantasy. Its the little details that make it rise above the rest, the fact that you get random battles less in areas you've already traveled, or the huge combinations of djinn powers possible. Some of the puzzles are fiendish, but fair. The size and detail in the game is nothing short of incredible for a game on a gameboy (and im saying this in 2008 !). Nothing before matched it for sheer quality and nothing has matched it since (except of course, golden sun 2) Just buy this and number 2, and pray for Golden Sun 3 on DS. Expand
  65. RayC.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    This game is one of the ultimate rpg's it has almost everything you desire in a rpg with a few exceptions like the battle where you have no choice but lose and the extreamly long cut scenes and talking.
  66. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Awww yeah. Beat it again for the 6th time. Greatest GBA RPG ever. From the story to the spells to the environments it's great. The puzzles are kinda easy. They start getting annoying when you're trying to solve something and you run into a monster battle, but that's just being picky. When you beat the game you can use your saved data with Lost Age, so that's cool too. Be warned though,Awww yeah. Beat it again for the 6th time. Greatest GBA RPG ever. From the story to the spells to the environments it's great. The puzzles are kinda easy. They start getting annoying when you're trying to solve something and you run into a monster battle, but that's just being picky. When you beat the game you can use your saved data with Lost Age, so that's cool too. Be warned though, make sure you finish everything in the game (Crossbone Isle) before beating the final boss otherwise you won't be able to go back and finish them. Collapse
  67. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Greatest series ever created! So much fun playing and replaying this game, from the story to the music, it is magical. This game is completely flawless.
  68. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    One of the most original games I've played for the gba and the best Rpg to come out in the year 2002. (it came out in 2002 in the uk , 2001 in the us.) Go to ebay and buy it!

    Ps i'm new to metacritic and i'm just reviewing some of my favourite games7
  69. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    One of greates RPG's ever made. Misterious, Alternative and just great. I can't describe this game in words... It's just a MUST PLAY Game! Everyone should have played this game. Great Graphics too. They only **** up Golden Sun DS .
  70. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    As a handheld RPG, it works fairly well. The story is interesting, memorable characters and great fight mechanics. I would say it's one of the top ten GBA games. If you are a fan of RPGs, definitely try this out. 10/10
  71. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    This game doesn't have to hide itself in front of other RPG giants like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger. A great story, interesting characters, amazing music and presentation in general and the fighting system is very clever and strategy driven. You can choose not to grind...Which will result in a VERY hard game.

    I don't get how remakes are allowed here, that's kind of retarded IMO.
    This game doesn't have to hide itself in front of other RPG giants like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger. A great story, interesting characters, amazing music and presentation in general and the fighting system is very clever and strategy driven. You can choose not to grind...Which will result in a VERY hard game.

    I don't get how remakes are allowed here, that's kind of retarded IMO. btt.
    Great Game, the only flaw I have is it is an RPG. If you forget what the hell you were doing then you can pretty much start all over again.
    Expand
  72. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    This was the first Japanese RPG to really catch my interest. I got it on the recommendation from a friend. I almost wish I had kept it. When I returned it to him, he had told me he sold it. I was devastated.

    This game really shines in it's well-written story, interesting psynergy system, djinn system, and great music. I can never forget the opening scene to the game, and I loved
    This was the first Japanese RPG to really catch my interest. I got it on the recommendation from a friend. I almost wish I had kept it. When I returned it to him, he had told me he sold it. I was devastated.

    This game really shines in it's well-written story, interesting psynergy system, djinn system, and great music. I can never forget the opening scene to the game, and I loved the expansiveness of the world. In fact, 9 times out of 10, I was completely lost. I just jumped from location to location, doing each little side quest until I happened upon the main quest. There are a lot of side quests, so I was lost for a long time.

    That might be my only issue with the game. I'm all for a great big open world, but I also prefer to have a better bearing of what I'm doing.

    Nevertheless, it's an excellent game and one that is very memorable.
    Expand
  73. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Note: Very small spoiler concerning Djinn

    One of the greatest and all-time best rpg games I have ever played. The graphics are great for it's time and are still great to this day in my opinion. The story is great and the characters are written very well. It's one of those games that you cant put down after you start it, you want to keep playing and see where the story goes. Gameplay
    Note: Very small spoiler concerning Djinn

    One of the greatest and all-time best rpg games I have ever played. The graphics are great for it's time and are still great to this day in my opinion. The story is great and the characters are written very well. It's one of those games that you cant put down after you start it, you want to keep playing and see where the story goes.

    Gameplay wise it's simple yet wide ranged at the same time. When it comes to leveling up it's like standard rpg game-get stronger, gain new abilities-but at the same time it isnt like standard rpgs. This is a job-based rpg when it comes to the characters but it's interesting how you change your job. There are creatures in the game called Djinn that you find in the world along your travels, some you have to look for, and you equip them to your characters and by setting them to your characters they gain stat bonuses and job changes. There are 7 Djinn for each of the 4 elements, meaning there is a wide variety when it comes to picking what goes to who. Like other rpg games you collect pieces of equipment such as armor, helm, weapon, ect. Golden Sun has a large variety of different equipment of different types.

    One of the best parts of the game I would have to say is the music. The music is amazing and sounds incredible for a 32 bit system such as the GameBoy Advanced. When you play the game you can tell the developers put much time and attention into making the music great.

    Overall, Golden Sun is an amazing rpg with great gameplay, music, story, and characters. For any lover of rpg games this is a top-notch pick to add to your collection of favorites.
    Expand
  74. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    When I was around eight years old or so, my brother introduced me to the joy of Golden Sun: The Lost Age. Although I was young, and, not completely understanding of the plot because I missed out on the first game, I fell in love. It has almost been ten years since then, me finally just in recent times able to experience my first playthrough of the original Golden Sun. And without a doubt,When I was around eight years old or so, my brother introduced me to the joy of Golden Sun: The Lost Age. Although I was young, and, not completely understanding of the plot because I missed out on the first game, I fell in love. It has almost been ten years since then, me finally just in recent times able to experience my first playthrough of the original Golden Sun. And without a doubt, I can say I fell in love all over again.
    Let me start with the graphics and art choices. As an artist, I can say that I am completely blown away by the quality of the scenery that this game presented. I found myself looking forward to each new area that I visited; being thrown into a battle and getting to see the background scenery gives me a complete new feel on how to perceive where I am. The character designs are also fantastic, and very fitting to character. The art style is progressive and solid. Psynergy, summons, and special moves from artifacts are gorgeously rendered. (Though i'm sure we can all agree on the silliness that is the quake attacks). The music is nostalgic, soothing, but tense when the situation calls for it. I enjoyed it thoroughly.
    As for the story, I am easily swept into it. Though sometimes I find myself laughing at little cliché moments sprinkled here and there, it takes nothing away from the entire plot. Sometimes I find that there are parts in which I would like a bit more elaborate detail, I also realize that I have not played the sequel in ages and am planning on going through it again very soon, and, even so, one must consider that this is a Gameboy game and cannot possibly have everything that a person would expect to be in more recent-day games because there was simply not enough space to contain such depth like there is now. Also, /too/ much description could become monotonous.
    The characters are lovable and close to heart. Something that I missed out in The Lost Age was Isaac and co's friendship. It's sweet and satisfying to see how they all work together for the common goal and how their bonds grow as you go on. The only thing I would find a bit lacking is a bit of Mia's backstory, as it seemed slightly rushed so that she could join your team. Other than that, I am very happy with what their differentiating personalities bring to the game.
    Finally, we have the battle system. It is lovely an non-stressful, with an assortment of attacks always keeping the fight interesting. Djinn also add a giant play to this, with the more you collect enhancing your skills and if you so wish you can even assort them so that your classes change, depending on your battle style. New introductions of monsters constantly keep you on your toes, you only feeling satisfied with yourself when the characters have gotten strong enough to take them out with not much difficulty. Battles are never easy nor too impossible to handle when you take the time to train correctly. You never have to grind for too long unless you're short on money, so you aren't ever too slowed up during the playthrough.
    All in all, Golden Sun is a definite recommendation for any RPG lovers. Exciting, close to the heart, and memorable, it will blow players away with the cohesive details that work so well together. You'll have difficult time forgetting a game like this one.
    Expand
  75. May 22, 2014
    10
    Unmissable, the best GBA RPG by far. Used to stay overnight with my friends to play this game when it first came out, last month we did it again to remember "ye goode olde days" and it was awesome. Love this game!
  76. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    One of best RPG i´ve ever played, great story, graphic, soundtrack and combat system. I would like to see this game so much as manga adaptation. 10/10
  77. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    one of the most underestimated games and also one of the most perfect games i've ever played.
    great characters, great story, alot of smart puzzles, awesome fights, music that u can't forget, a masterpiece.
    no matter how many games i've played since 2001, it's still my all time favorite
  78. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is definitely one of my all time favorites. I played Dark Dawn first, then went back and played the first two because I liked it so much. Alex is essentially my favorite villain ever, and the ending of all three games was so emotional. Expand
  79. Nov 21, 2014
    6
    Ya, its good. But I don't think its as good as some people say it is. The story is meh, the characters are forgettable, theres almost no direction and I always had to look at a guide to figure out what the **** I'm suppose to do...They don't usually explain very well. Like they always gave me some a vague idea of where to go but that's it. So I just looked at a guide so I didn't waste aYa, its good. But I don't think its as good as some people say it is. The story is meh, the characters are forgettable, theres almost no direction and I always had to look at a guide to figure out what the **** I'm suppose to do...They don't usually explain very well. Like they always gave me some a vague idea of where to go but that's it. So I just looked at a guide so I didn't waste a hour of my time looking around all the time. the puzzles are annoying and tedious busy work, and a lot of the conversations just drag on forever and just repeating themselfs over and over when all you want to do is get on with it already so you can progress. Throughout the whole game everyone always asks Issac the most painfully obvious questions... like "Issac, should we go rescue our friends??" of course we have to rescue our bloody friends! or... "issac, should we go save the word"? ...uhg..... after awhile i just got sick of it and started picking the obviously wrong response for every stupid question, because i was fed up. But the combat is very nice and unique though and i like how you can transfer your save from the first game over to the second game Expand
  80. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    Awww yeah. Beat it again for the 6th time. Greatest GBA RPG ever. From the story to the spells to the environments it's great. The puzzles are kinda easy. They start getting annoying when you're trying to solve something and you run into a monster battle, but that's just being picky. When you beat the game you can use your saved data with Lost Age, so that's cool too. Be warned though,Awww yeah. Beat it again for the 6th time. Greatest GBA RPG ever. From the story to the spells to the environments it's great. The puzzles are kinda easy. They start getting annoying when you're trying to solve something and you run into a monster battle, but that's just being picky. When you beat the game you can use your saved data with Lost Age, so that's cool too. Be warned though, make sure you finish everything in the game (Crossbone Isle) before beating the final boss otherwise you won't be able to go back and finish them. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Hard-core RPG fans may feel the game is too derivative, to a certain extent it is, but for the rest of us Golden Sun is both a fantastic game and a nice trip down memory lane.
  2. A deep combat engine and brilliant graphics make this the best RPG available on the GBA. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  3. As one of the most critical Nintendo fans around, it's nice to see a game come out for the GBA that's original, pretty, fun, and doesn't involve any one of their stupid mascots.