Golden Sun Game Boy Advance
Golden Sun Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a dark time, an epic adventure begins as evil slowly envelops the world! The forces of darkness are pursuing the lost art of Alchemy, and as they draw ever closer to their foul purpose, mankind's future hangs in the balance. You and your companions are the last hope: armed with noble weapons, mysterious Psynergy and a host of elemental creatures, you must find a way to stem the evil tide. Your ordinary life is over, as a Golden Sun rises above you and forever broadens your horizon!

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The beautiful quest is probably the richest, most intricate RPG ever to have hit a handheld. [Nov 2001, p.144]
  2. 100
    It's the best original (nonport) GBA RPG to date, sporting stellar graphics, above-average sound, and a worthwhile experience (at least 20 hours of gameplay) that should make that next family roadtrip that much more tolerable.
  3. 'brilliant', 'fantastic' and 'a breathtaking work of genius.'
  4. If you're one of those many people who continue to pine for a Square RPG on your favourite Nintendo handheld, then rejoice because your prayers have damn near been answered with this game.
  5. Gorgeous graphics, dazzling audio, a charming storyline and overall appealing game play -- and it all fits neatly inside your pocket!
  6. The crowning glory of Golden Sun lies in its stunning graphics. Great environments, characters, and especially fight scenes.
  7. Gameplay seldom strays from long-established RPG convention, but Golden Sun incorporates some of the best elements of classics such as the Final Fantasy, Phantasy Star, and even Legend of Zelda series, in its own distinct and unified style.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 74
  2. Negative: 4 out of 74
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Awww yeah. Beat it again for the 6th time. Greatest GBA RPG ever. From the story to the spells to the environments it's great. The puzzles are kinda easy. They start getting annoying when you're trying to solve something and you run into a monster battle, but that's just being picky. When you beat the game you can use your saved data with Lost Age, so that's cool too. Be warned though, make sure you finish everything in the game (Crossbone Isle) before beating the final boss otherwise you won't be able to go back and finish them. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Simply put... this game is amazing. The story, the characters, the emotion involved all stand out in this RPG. I first played this game as a child many years ago. I'm now a college graduate and I still enjoy the game to this day. The thing that I love the most about the Golden Sun series is the story involved. As you play the game, the lives of these characters unravel before your eyes. Emotion can also be involved while playing. Heartbreak from a character's loss of family to determination in hopes of a better future of the world; it's all woven within this game. Aside from the story, the gameplay is actually great! As usual with any RPG, you get random battles in dungeons and on the world maps and you progress more and more in levels and skills until you are strong enough to take on your foes without fail. There are a large amount of items and gear in the game to keep players occupied with upgrading.

    There is a collection aspect to the game involving these creatures called Djinns. These creatures boost the abilities and power of the characters in which they are attached to. They can be swapped between characters to allow for further combinations of abilities. As characters use the Djinns in battle, powerful summons can be used to take out foes once a certain number of Djinns have been used in combat. These summons are learned or found throughout the game.

    The graphics in this game are fantastic for a gameboy advance title. Everything from the environments to the battles to the summoning cutscenes are all great to look at while playing. I remember when this game was first released. I was in awe at some of the graphical effects in this game. The music in the game is some of the best I have ever heard in a portable title. I find myself just sitting in a particular battle or environment just to listen to the music and themes that play. There is a special mode that allows you to listen to all of the music in the game when you enter the arena mode at the title screen (look it up to find out how to find it). The point is that you may love the music so much that you will want to just listen to it at times.

    Overall, this game is a classic in my opinion. The quality of this game is obvious. I can only hope for a remake of this title one day with modern-style graphics. It could possibly become more appealing to those who don't like Golden Sun in its current state...
    Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Greatest series ever created! So much fun playing and replaying this game, from the story to the music, it is magical. This game is completely flawless. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    When I was around eight years old or so, my brother introduced me to the joy of Golden Sun: The Lost Age. Although I was young, and, not completely understanding of the plot because I missed out on the first game, I fell in love. It has almost been ten years since then, me finally just in recent times able to experience my first playthrough of the original Golden Sun. And without a doubt, I can say I fell in love all over again.
    Let me start with the graphics and art choices. As an artist, I can say that I am completely blown away by the quality of the scenery that this game presented. I found myself looking forward to each new area that I visited; being thrown into a battle and getting to see the background scenery gives me a complete new feel on how to perceive where I am. The character designs are also fantastic, and very fitting to character. The art style is progressive and solid. Psynergy, summons, and special moves from artifacts are gorgeously rendered. (Though i'm sure we can all agree on the silliness that is the quake attacks). The music is nostalgic, soothing, but tense when the situation calls for it. I enjoyed it thoroughly.
    As for the story, I am easily swept into it. Though sometimes I find myself laughing at little cliché moments sprinkled here and there, it takes nothing away from the entire plot. Sometimes I find that there are parts in which I would like a bit more elaborate detail, I also realize that I have not played the sequel in ages and am planning on going through it again very soon, and, even so, one must consider that this is a Gameboy game and cannot possibly have everything that a person would expect to be in more recent-day games because there was simply not enough space to contain such depth like there is now. Also, /too/ much description could become monotonous.
    The characters are lovable and close to heart. Something that I missed out in The Lost Age was Isaac and co's friendship. It's sweet and satisfying to see how they all work together for the common goal and how their bonds grow as you go on. The only thing I would find a bit lacking is a bit of Mia's backstory, as it seemed slightly rushed so that she could join your team. Other than that, I am very happy with what their differentiating personalities bring to the game.
    Finally, we have the battle system. It is lovely an non-stressful, with an assortment of attacks always keeping the fight interesting. Djinn also add a giant play to this, with the more you collect enhancing your skills and if you so wish you can even assort them so that your classes change, depending on your battle style. New introductions of monsters constantly keep you on your toes, you only feeling satisfied with yourself when the characters have gotten strong enough to take them out with not much difficulty. Battles are never easy nor too impossible to handle when you take the time to train correctly. You never have to grind for too long unless you're short on money, so you aren't ever too slowed up during the playthrough.
    All in all, Golden Sun is a definite recommendation for any RPG lovers. Exciting, close to the heart, and memorable, it will blow players away with the cohesive details that work so well together. You'll have difficult time forgetting a game like this one.
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    I have played the Tales of the World series, the Final Fantasy series and Dragon's Quest series, but none of them came close to comparison with the Golden Sun series.
    A memorable storyline and cast alongside impressive soundtracks for the period of release and a story crafted with pure perfection makes this one of the greatest Game Boy Advance games to exist. The same goes for its sequel.
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    This was the first Japanese RPG to really catch my interest. I got it on the recommendation from a friend. I almost wish I had kept it. When I returned it to him, he had told me he sold it. I was devastated.

    This game really shines in it's well-written story, interesting psynergy system, djinn system, and great music. I can never forget the opening scene to the game, and I loved the expansiveness of the world. In fact, 9 times out of 10, I was completely lost. I just jumped from location to location, doing each little side quest until I happened upon the main quest. There are a lot of side quests, so I was lost for a long time.

    That might be my only issue with the game. I'm all for a great big open world, but I also prefer to have a better bearing of what I'm doing.

    Nevertheless, it's an excellent game and one that is very memorable.
    Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    1
    If there was ever a game more bland and lifeless than Golden Sun...

    Let's go back to the beginning. I saw some GS ads in a magazine or
    something, and thought it looked great. Mainly, I was impressed with the graphics, but I just assumed the rest of the game would have the same quality.

    Then I got the game. Now, it starts off with some cliche garbage I can't even remember because it was so uninspired. I went on for a while, going through some generic dungeons with generic "puzzles", oh and I did all this while fighting random, generic enemies.

    Now the battle? This is the worst part. It's much like Dragon Quest, without any of those "features" or "abilities". All you do is pick a spell out of maybe 5 that are practically identical anyway, repeat 5-20 times and you win. I've played a few mindless RPGs before, but this one just pushes the limits of boredom to their maximum. If you absolutely hate having fun with a burning passion, get this game.
    Expand

See all 74 User Reviews